Family ID: 1827960

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Bishop / Village | More ⇩

Name Fitz

State California

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2021 - Dec 2021

Time of stay: 7-9 months

Last action: 8 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
12
Profile added to the favorite list of 12 candidates in the last 3 weeks
92
Profile Visited by 92 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
12%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello. My name is Fitz and my father and sister are in need of a caretaker. They want to welcome you to Bishop California. Bishop is a small town with a lot of spirit. People travel from all over the world for fishing, hiking, mountain climbing, and skiing. Lots of people know each other here and you will meet friendly and outgoing people quickly. Bishop is in a high desert valley at a height of 1,265 meters and is surrounded by the Sierra mountains with many peaks above 4,000 meters. Our home is just a couple blocks from the main street in town and most things are within walking or biking distance. We also have car transportation available.
More ⇩

Job Description

The job is fairly simple: be around to monitor Harvey so that he does not wander off into the desert or eat foods that are not properly prepared (example: foods that are frozen), etc. A simple walk to the park or a morning spent in a coffee shop doing a crossword puzzle is generally plenty of excitement for him, but he is always enthusiastic for adventure. He can dress himself, go to the bathroom, and move without assistance. He needs reminders to take medicine, change clothes that have gotten dirty, and other small things.

Harvey suffers from significant mental decline (dementia) and has trouble remembering recent events or conversations. He has been a civil service worker, an editor for encyclopedias, and a science teacher. He lived and worked in Germany and Italy for several years while serving in the military and went through rigorous language training. He can still remember some German and Italian words and phrases but is not fluent. He loves crossword puzzles (which he is very good at), taking walks, bird watching, and doing light yard work. He can be stubborn and very critical at random times, and an ideal caretaker should not be easily offended. Staying relaxed and not trying to force things would be helpful. He was once very intelligent and can still impress you with how much he knows.

Helping with housework, getting groceries, cooking would all be expected but more as part of the family, and not an exclusive duty of the caretaker. Primarily a major concern is boredom. Bishop is a small town so there are limited activities Harvey can participate in. Harvey doesn't require a lot of care, but he is prone to wandering so can't be left alone for long periods of time if possible. We will work hard of course to give weekends off for any caretaker, and other periods of time away from Harvey to explore and enjoy California.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 45-60

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Doctor

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 86

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money (per month) 950 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 7-9 months

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2021

Latest Starting Date Dec 2021

Looking for Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 18-75

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The second floor of the house will essentially be yours. The room is accessed by spiral staircase with no door. It is a very open design with screens to partition space and gain some privacy There is also a bathroom on the second floor with sink, shower, toilet that will be yours alone. A private entrance is available that leads to a back balcony. Current furnishings are modest but improvements can be made. This is a small house as far as US houses go but your living area measures approximately ?x? meters. There is wi-fi available at all times in the house, and at most businesses in the area. English as a second language courses are probably not available in the county, but online courses can hopefully be found that fulfill any requirements.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »