Family ID: 1984237

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Boulder / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Stephan

State Colorado

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2022 - Apr 2022

Time of stay: 24-24 Months

Last action: 16 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
3
Profile added to the favorite list of 3 candidates in the last 3 weeks
47
Profile Visited by 47 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
8%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We have had the same au pair for four years, and she is now moving on to a professional career and living with her new husband. We have been so grateful to have her, and she now is and always will be a member of our family. We are excited to find our next adopted family member.

That relationship has been so successful because Vivi was a bit older (25 when she came to us), really loves children (and loves ours like a second mother, which Nikola and Henrik sometimes call her), has a big and positive personality, has worked hard to teach them Spanish and we have worked hard to teach her English, because we have been happy to pay for her English and professional education, and because for us an au pair is part of our family, not an employee. We believe that you being happy and thriving will support you in supporting our kids being happy and thriving.

We aspire to raise our kids with very high emotional intelligence, and so we expect to have a lot of conversation with you about how we feel it is best to handle challenges with the kids. We are also okay with you not being perfect at it, so long as the kids know you love them. We hope your experience being our co-parent will inspire you in your future parenting of your own children.

If you don’t know how to drive we will teach you or get you classes.

Boulder is a beautiful place, full of gorgeous nature and culture, with even more social and cultural opportunities nearby in Denver. Our home is one of the oldest and most historically significant homes in Boulder. We live next to the university district, within walking distance of downtown, a decently authentic Chinese restaurant, and also great hiking.

One set of grandparents (Stephan’s parents) lives in Boulder. They love cultural exchange and have been like adopted grandparents to Vivi.

We are honestly one of the best families for an au pair to end up with. The best way to know us is for you to speak with Vivi and ask her any question you like.
More ⇩

Job Description

We would like our children to start learning Chinese. If you come to us with very bad English that is okay; Vivi came that way to us, and Stephan speaks pretty good Chinese. If you teach and speak to our kids almost entirely in Chinese, we parents will enjoy teaching you English. We live a short walk from the International English Center in our town and will pay for you to take as many classes as you want. We would like to find an au pair who is committed to staying two years, and will do what we can to support you staying longer than that if you want. It is important to us that you get to visit your family during Chinese New Year if you want to do that, and we will buy your plane ticket for you, assuming international travel conditions are permitting.

For childcare responsibilities, we will need you about 90 minutes in the mornings (7:30-9:00) to help get the kids to school, and then in the afternoons from 2:30-6:00. You will take the kids for scheduled activities (Muai Thai, probably some sports) and unscheduled activities (such as the library and skate park).

One night per week we will need you until 11:00pm, and once the kids are comfortable with you you, overnight sometimes. We will on occasion (at most once every three months) want you to take care of them for a weekend. We hope to take you on trips with us—to New York for sure, and hopefully internationally. We would really appreciate if you can help us keep the house clean about half an hour a day—mostly the kitchen and the kids’ stuff, and teach the kids to help with cleaning. If the kids are sick or there are pandemic lockdowns (we hope no longer), we expect caring for them to come before your studies, but will also strive to find a way to support your needs as well if and when that happens. We will all enjoy it if you cook dinner sometimes.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Spanish

Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Analyst / Entrepreneur

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender two boys, ages 3 and 6

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 2000 USD

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 24-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2022

Latest Starting Date Apr 2022

Looking for Au Pair and Granny Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Chinese, Taiwanese

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level University

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 23-65

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have a separate tiny home to live in. Vivi tells us all the au pairs in Boulder have been jealous of her house. We will happily share our cars with you as much as possible. You will be welcome to have dinner with us or separately as you prefer (though at the beginning at least we hope you will eat with us often so we can get to know you, and it will be good for your English as well), and have the social life you wish. We are here to support you (we know moving overseas is a huge change), and our assumption and expectation is that you are a responsible adult.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »