Family ID: 2296833

Children: 3 Children, 11 - 14 years old

City: Broomfield / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Rhonda

State Colorado

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2022 - Sep 2023

Time of stay: 12-18 Months

Last action: 12 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
3
Profile added to the favorite list of 3 candidates in the last 3 weeks
31
Profile Visited by 31 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello from The Family!

We are a family of five- a married couple with three boys. Twins, Alex and Ian who just turned 12, and Lucas, 10, who will be 11 in July. We are a laid back easy going family that likes to be active outdoors and would rather read and hike, than stay home and watch TV.

Our three boys are very active and are engaged in a summer study program. Our Au Pair will spend part of everyday helping them with their studies. They are very close in age so there is a uniformity in their work. They are independent, respectful fun, and curious. They are older and somewhat self-reliant. They require supervision, and awareness and someone who really is interested in who they are.

We are very experienced as a host family for six Au Pairs and are looking for someone who WANTS to be with US. Someone who feels comfortable in seeing themselves as part of our family unit. We live in a suburb of Denver Colorado, and the weather here is great all but 3 months out of the year. There are so many things to do here and public transportation is near and easy. We are not completely against our au pair driving, however in the past we did have an Au Pair that totaled our car. So, we will take that as it comes. Making sure that when you are not on the clock and have access to interests, further education, and activities are important to us, and we add those needs to our family routine. As part of the interview process we will be referencing this letter.

We do have and love animals. We have 2 cats, 2 dogs, birds, and a tortoise.

We want you to know what we've learned from past experiences with au pairs. Ultimately, we realize that you are not coming to live with us for a year or two only because you love children. You are coming, because something is driving you for a new experience, and because you want to come to the United States. We get it. We appreciate that. In return, we are looking for someone who likes us and appreciates a warm relationship with us and wants to spend time with us occasionally, but doesn’t feel like they have to all the time, and if you do want to be with us often- great! You are always welcome. We support you having a life outside of our family. We want you to thrive. Our boys are getting older. They are becoming teenagers and they can be challenging. They are good, kind and responsible, but they are also at the age of pushing boundaries. Basically, we are looking for a "boy mom" personality type. You will do well if you have the emotional maturity to understand the boundaries between your job, and requirements, and also understanding that if we hire you, we want to be in a close and kind relationship with you in genuineness and caring. If you grew up with sisters only, or are an only child, if you consider yourself to be "spoiled", you should carefully consider what our environment is like. This is not to warn you off or to discourage you in any way- we are excited about you!. This is our way of being as transparent and as open as possible. It's important to us to convey realistic and consistent expectations.

We are looking for someone who has excellent cleanliness habits, bathes and wears deodorant every day, whether you think you need it or not, and has good hygiene.

Duties include cooking breakfast and dinner 4- 5 days a week and cleaning the kitchen thoroughly after each use in preparing meals for the boys. Laundry, and cleaning boys’ areas, including bathroom and bedrooms, and kid common areas including dusting and vacuuming of those specific areas. We are not looking for a housekeeper, but we are looking for someone who can supervise the boys cleaning up after themselves and owning the responsibility if they don't. We are not looking for anyone to clean up after us, to cook or to cater to us in any way. Because we typically work very long hours. The boys are at an age where they should be doing most of the work under supervision, but if they don't, the work still needs to be done. Helping with schoolwork and supervising chores, this is all part of the job. Hours are as the schedule we provided reads. 2 hours in the morning, and off midday until kids are home from school. Most weekends are off as well.

Again, we work very long hours, and this is why we need an au pair. I work from home, and Chris works long hours away. I am available immediately if there is a need, but we need someone who has a strong enough personality who feels enabled to function as if I am not home. I do travel for work occasionally, and you may be the only adult at home at times. It is essential that you build a strong relationship with the boys, so during these times of my absence, things go calmly, safely and well.

We enjoy a wide variety of foods and can be adventurous. We don’t have any fish in our diet, and we are not vegetarian. We cook a lot of Italian dishes, Mediterranean, and Mexican dishes, that is, when we are home to cook. I try to make a full Sunday meal twice a month, and we eat out occasionally. Because cooking and meal planning is a fairly large part of the job, you should have good cooking skills, and be clean and tidy with clean cooking habits.

Privacy, space and personal boundaries are VERY important to us. We respect your privacy and personal space and we will protect it. We are nice, kind, and a little touchy feely, but are also very mindful to instill a sense of schedule and respect for you, and what the expectations are of our kids to honor that.

We are somewhat spiritual, but not devout. We have experience with Au Pairs who are deeply religious, and those who are not at all. We do not always align with strict traditional values and feel that personal choice, and personal freedoms are more important than religious dogma. We would not be a good match for someone who was not somewhat similar. I grew up Catholic, and I occasionally attend Mass. We observe Christmas, Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day, Easter Birthdays, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and New Year’s. We are dedicated to observing your holidays as well and want to accommodate you if they are not listed here.

We are health conscious, and feel we could always be better, and are preferring someone who prefers to be fit and healthy, with excellent personal care habits.

We are a drug and smoke free home and have zero tolerance for users of either. Please do not apply if either of these are in your daily routine.

We will absolutely not hire an au pair that has cold sores. Sorry. We know that is odd, but we have seen the spread of it with other families with au pairs.

We are interested in YOU. We want to know about you and where you come from. We also want to be supportive to and of you. Your interests are important to us.

We cannot wait to meet you, and to have you join our family!

Chris, and Rhonda
Ian, Alex, and Lucas
More ⇩

Job Description

Duties of an Au Pair.
Cooking and supervising kids and their areas.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Not important

Employment CEO / Director

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 12 Year male
12 Year male
11 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money of Au Pair 200 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-18 Months

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2022

Latest Starting Date Sep 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 19-23

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Au Pair will have own spacious room and private bathroom.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »