Family ID: 3112218

Children: 2 Children, 6 - 10 years old

City: Cambridge / Town | More ⇩

Name Sarah

State Cambridgeshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2024 - Oct 2024

Time of stay: 5-9 Months

Last action: 5 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
19
Added as favorite 19 time in the last 3 weeks
118
Profile Visited by 118 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
75%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We live in the beautiful village of Grantchester (now known from the TV series) which is 15mins by bicycle from the city centre of Cambridge. We do all our commuting by bike (including a Bakfiets). The neighbourhood is an area known for its natural beauty -- as well as its four pubs and tearoom.

We usually take the children to school between 8am and 9am, and come home around 6pm. The children go to school in Newnham, on the edge of Cambridge, just on the other side of the meadows between Cambridge and Grantchester.

We are very close to and well integrated to Cambridge -- a dynamic, young city with lots of opportunities for people in their twenties. With both of us working at the University we are also keen to see that the au pair has a chance to develop him- or herself while in our home.
More ⇩

Job Description

The main task will be collecting the kids from school, around 3pm, taking them home (10min cycle ride over Grantchester Meadows), and looking after them until we come home around 6pm. We value people who take initiatives, including for activities with the children. While English is the common language at home, we would love the children to continue to be exposed to foreign languages, and especially welcome at this moment in their lives Dutch, French and Italian.

We also hope that the au pair could help with light housework, such as prepare a daily meal (we can share recipes, etc, but are also open to new culinary vegetarian adventures), tidy up, empty bins or sort out some laundry. In other words, we expect that the au pair will live like another adult in the house, i.e. sees what needs doing and does it. We do have a regular cleaner who takes care of all the main cleaning tasks.

When one of us is away for work, it would be great if the au pair could give some assistance in dropping off children in the morning and putting the children to bed.

Occasionally, when one of the children is ill (very rare!) we would ask the au pair also to spend some time between 9am and 3pm with them.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Dutch

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion

Importance of religion

Employment Researcher / Researcher

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 9 Year male
8 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 500 GBP

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 5-9 Months

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2024

Latest Starting Date Oct 2024

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Canadian, Dutch, French, Italian

Language Skills
 French, Minimum Native Language
- or -
 Italian, Minimum Native Language

Education Level Secondary school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? -

Required Age 18-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have a detached house with a garden. Our house has five bedrooms, with one available for the au pair. The au pair shares a bathroom with the children (who are gone most of the day and sleep most of the night, so there is plenty of time to have the bathroom to oneself). We have a fast wifi connection.
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »