Family ID: 2589386

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Chamonix-Mont Blanc / Village | More ⇩

Name Marion

State Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Apr 2023 - Sep 2023

Time of stay: 5-12 Months

Last action: 7 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 4 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 111 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair


We are Marion, Balthazar and Aura. Aura is our daughter. She's going to be a year old in March - time flies!

If you're a caring person and that you get energy from being surrounded by nature, we would love you to join our family for a few months.

We moved to Chamonix from Paris a few months ago. Chamonix is a small town in the middle of the highest mountain range in Europe. It's very international and attracts skiers, mountaineers, climbers and trail runners year-round. It's considered the world capital of mountaineering, and we can see the Mont Blanc (Europe's highest peak) from our doorstep. Chamonix is quaint and historical but also buzzing with sports events, festivals, and cultural events. We live about 20min farther up the valley from Chamonix, in a small village called le Planet (there are about 15 houses here). It feels like it's in the middle of nature, but it's also only a 3min drive or 20 min walk to Argentière, the nearest "center" - with a bakery, supermarket, a few restaurants and bars, and the famous Les Grands Montets mountains & ski resort.

We both love the outdoors and we wanted to move to a place where we could spend entire weekends exploring nature, so that's what we do most weekends. Balthazar grew up climbing trees in the French countryside, and Marion spent a few years in the US as a child (Texas and Arizona) then some more time in California more recently.

We both have remote jobs (we work with people all over the world, from our computers). Balthazar created a small company that he runs from home, and Marion runs the legal department for a big French start-up called Alan (health insurance).

Our house is a historical mountain chalet with a lot of character. We love to host friends and family there, so we keep a spare room for our guests. You would be fully independent, as you would be living in a studio in Argentière, about a 3min drive or 20min walk from our house. Argentière is a 20min bus or train ride to Chamonix-center. You would be free to do what you please with your free time, and of course we would do our best to connect you with interesting people and whatever activities you would like to explore. We'd also support you as much as needed and always make sure you are safe. We really want to help you enjoy your time in France and make the best of our beautiful surroundings.

As Marion grew up in the US, Marion is fully bilingual. We speak French at home, but we would really like you to speak English with Aura. If learning French is one of your goals, we're happy to help you and speak French with you!

We also have family in Paris, Marseille and London, and would love to give you the opportunity to join us when we go there every so often.

Please reach out only if you are very excited by this opportunity and let us know why!
More ⇩

Job Description

You would look after Aura full time, from about 10am (after her first nap) to 6:30pm on weekdays, while we're working. We would provide an independent studio for you to live in, and a salary. We'd also appreciate some occasional help on weekends. We're super flexible and will always try to accommodate what you need. We really want something that works for you too.

A usual day includes playing with Aura, going for a walk if the weather's nice, putting something together for lunch for Aura + us adults, and just looking after Aura's safety. It's nothing too complicated and we can guide you with a ton of ideas when you get here. We're always at home to help out if anything goes wrong.

Aura's "quarters" and the kitchen are on the ground floor, and we'll be out of the way working in the 1st/2nd floors of the house.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets No

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality French

Languages spoken at home English, French, Dutch

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Attorney / Entrepreneur

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 1 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 100 EUR

Salary of Nanny 1000 EUR

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 5-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Apr 2023

Latest Starting Date Sep 2023

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, British, English, Australian, Canadian, Finnish, Irish, Norwegian, Swedish

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Native Language
- or -
 English, Minimum Upper intermediate (B2)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Marion is 33 years old. Grew up in the US and France. Speaks English and French. Loves running, yoga, cooking nutritious food for friends and family, and being awake before sunrise. She was a lawyer for a few years and has worked as an in-house lawyer in the tech world for 5 years now.

Balthazar is 35 years old. He grew up in the French countryside to a Dutch mother and a French father. He loves a good adventure. His goal this year is to climb l'Aiguille Verte, the very high mountain we can see from our house. He was a start-up advisor and investor for 7 years and created his own company last year.

We are also very connected to the city - we lived in London, New York, Paris, San Francisco, and enjoyed those times a lot too. We love food, will go out of our way to eat delicious meals, from fancy restaurants to a good burrito. We also enjoy art and museums, as well as classical music, opera and ballet.

Aura is a lively, adventurous child (from what we can tell so far!). She loves eating with her hands, climbing on chairs, and seeing dogs. Her first word was "Wow"!

We really value opening Aura's horizons and letting her explore the world. We'd value any ideas you can bring to our house: picnics in the open fields, daily hikes around the house, or cooking a family recipe you enjoy.

Aura's grand parents live in Paris and Marseille, and they come to visit us regularly.
More ⇩


You would live in a studio located in Argentière, just 3 mins drive/a 20 min (beautiful) walk away from our house.
The studio is 25m2, and has a small kitchen/living room with a fold out sofa, a double bed in a separate nook, and a shower room with a laundry machine. We'll provide everything you need to live comfortably (duvet, bed linen, kitchenware). There will be wifi.

Argentière is a "small" center compared to Chamonix, but it has all the amenities you'll need: you will be 100m from the best bakery in the area, and a 5min walk from a full supermarket (Super U). The studio is also a 2 min walk across the river to the Grands Montets, which is Chamonix's most famous ski resort. We will provide a season ski pass if you commit to staying for long enough.
More ⇩
Program information for an Au Pair in France

Read More »
Au Pair in France: visa regulations

Read More »
Important: contract and insurance as Au Pair in France

Read More »