Family ID: 1455134

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Chengdu / Big City | More ⇩

Name Janell

State Sichuan

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Dec 2019 - Feb 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 4 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
7
Profile added to the favorite list of 7 candidates in the last 3 weeks
68
Profile Visited by 68 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
12%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello! We are an American family from Texas living in Chengdu, China. We have been living in China for most of the time since G was six months old.

I'm Janell. I homeschool our two boys and manage our household. All this work is beginning to be quite hard for me to manage by myself and I haven't been able to find suitable childcare here in Chengdu. I'm looking for someone who can be like a part of our family for a little while and help me take care of my boys, and also be my friend. I like video games and books, drawing and doing cross stitch. I also enjoy cooking and baking, especially cakes, but I rarely have the time to enjoy it anymore.

C is my husband. He works during the day and is super dad starting from when he gets home in the evening. He is funny and kind hearted, and loves working in China. In about a year he (and we) will be transferring to Moldova.

G is our five year old son. He is learning how to read and do math, likes building train tracks and playing with cars, loves playing pretend and hide and seek. He also likes to play Zelda and watch Shaun the sheep. Sometimes he teases his brother too much and makes him cry, but they usually make up quickly. He wants me to tell you that he is very fun to play with.

A is our two year old son. He would sit and listen to you read books to him for the entire day if he had the chance. Other than that he loves jumping on our trampoline, dressing up, playing with toys, and watching just dance. He has a loud voice and uses it often, he is getting to be very good at communicating what he needs.

We like to read books and play board/card games and video games together. A is learning how to play Uno so we play that a lot. We also like to explore the city when the air quality is good (it can often be quite polluted here in Chengdu.) On days that we can't go out, we play just dance and watch movies together.

We live a twenty minute walk away from the city center. Five minute walk from the nearest metro station and three minute walk from the nearest bus stop.
More ⇩

Job Description

We're looking for someone who loves to play with kids, willing to live-in and be like a part of our family.

I homeschool our two sons because they are best friends and I don't want to send them to school until they can go together, this wouldn't be until after we leave Chengdu.


Ideally I would like to have you babysit the kids Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings from 8am to 12pm. No cleaning, cooking, or other responsibilities, just play with my kids and love them, and feed them a snack from the cupboard. You are certainly welcome to cook something if you wish but I won't request it. Some days you might have to change the two year old's diaper or wipe his butt, he's currently learning how to use the toilet so he's using less and less diapers. They usually play nicely together but can also get out of hand so you also need to be willing to referee and enforce a time out when necessary.

On Tuesdays and Thursdays I would like to have a language tutor in the afternoon for about two hours. Right now I don't have one because I don't have childcare. The time would need to start around 2pm or end by 5pm. The same as before, just play with and be friends with the kids.

At least one evening a week, hopefully more, my husband and I will want to go out together for 2-4 hours. Sometimes we might ask you to put the kids to bed, or sometimes we might leave after they are asleep and ask you to keep an ear out for them. Thursday or Friday nights would be best for us but really any day works.

Sometimes I might ask you for extra help, for example in an emergency, if I'm ill, or if I need to run errands but the air quality is too poor for me to bring the kids. Sometimes I might want to take the kids on an outing and need another set of hands. There are lots of things in and around Chengdu that you can't see anywhere else, like the panda research center and various historical sites and parks, including day trips to sites around the surrounding cities. I love to do those things but rarely try anymore because it is so hard by myself with two energetic boys. If you're interested in things like this we could definitely have fun exploring together.



Romanian speaker strongly preferred. We will be transferring to Moldova in about a year and a half, so I am studying Romanian now so that I can have an easier adjustment when we arrive. I won't expect you to teach me or my kids, but I would sometimes like to practice by using Romanian around the house.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 20-35

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of Religion Important

Occupation Teacher

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender Boy, five years old
Boy, two years old

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Earliest Starting Date Dec 2019

Latest Starting Date Feb 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Moldovan, Romanian

Required Language Skills No preferences

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 1000 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 20-28

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses No

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We can only offer a live-in arrangement at this time. In this arrangement you would have your own private bedroom, walk-in closet, and bathroom in an apartment attached to the apartment our family lives in. The living room and kitchen area of this second apartment is full of things we use daily so we would need these spaces to be common areas. But we do not often spend time in there. There is a locking door in between the apartments and we would be open to discuss with you if you wanted to use that common area privately for a short amount of time. We do have wifi in our home you can use for free, but since this is China there are sometimes issues with the VPN.

Because our family is in China with a special visa, we are allowed to hire our own domestic employees without requiring the use of an agency. This is great for you because instead of paying high agency fees, we can afford to pay you more per month. We are prepared to sponsor you on a proper work visa (Z), though it will be necessary for you to pass a background check first. If you're interested, please get in touch!
More ⇩
Au Pair in China: details about the program

Read More »
Visa: regulations for an Au Pair in China

Read More »
Information about the requirements for an Au Pair in China

Read More »