Family ID: 1769680

Children: 2 Children, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

City: Cobham / Town | More ⇩

Name Gráinne

State Surrey

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2021 - Jan 2022

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 16 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
3
Profile added to the favorite list of 3 candidates in the last 3 weeks
28
Profile Visited by 28 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are based in a lovely part of England – a little village called Stoke d’Abernon which is between the larger villages of Oxshott and Cobham. We are close to Oxshott village. The train station which is a 10-12 minute walk away is direct to London Waterloo, with most of our neighbours commuting to London or working from home. We have a great community around us of families and friends, some of whom have au-pairs.

People are from different nationalities and are bringing-up their children to understand different cultures and heritages. This was a key reason for us to move to this area about ten years ago. It is also a safe area. We are surrounded by nature and have fields across the road from us and woodlands and a small lake nearby which all have walking and running paths, and horse trails.

Our part of Surrey is popular for cycling with the ‘Surrey 100’ annual race going through the village in August and 100s of cyclists passing through every day. Horse-riding is popular with local riding clubs nearby (horses go by our house several times a day!). Lots of sports clubs are nearby including Oxshott Village Sports Club.

We are members of the National Trust and Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) and often take the kids to great parks at the weekends. Wisley RHS is a favourite.

Cobham village has restaurants, pubs, shops and supermarkets. It is a pretty village and is busy all week. Oxshott village is smaller but closer to walk to, with pubs, restaurants, a popular cafe and a few shops. There is a shop on our road within a few minutes walk. Doctors, Dentists, Chemists, Pubs and Restaurants are all within walking distance.

Both Heathrow and Gatwick are less than 30 minutes away by car or about 1hour by train. In addition there is very easy access to the Bus/Coach network via London Victoria, and the Train network via direct trains to Guildford and London Waterloo.

Guildford and Kingston are our two nearest bigger towns. London is easy to get to by train. Sandown Racecourse and Epsom Racecourse are also close-by – both have many concerts during the year.

English language schools are nearby. We have had 5 aupairs over the years, and most have attended a weekly class.

Our family home is detached with 5 bedrooms. We have a big back garden with two sets of garden furniture (table for 8 people and also wicker sofas for 4 people), trees and flowers and also a front drive.

There is a bicycle store with a bicycle (and helmets!) you can use, and sports equipment for Tennis, Squash etc. Locally there are tennis courts which are free to use and can be booked with a phone app.

If it helps, we can supply a UK sim card for your phone, and fast track opening of a digital bank account. We have found the bank account to be very useful for Au Pairs to save money when booking travel and events in the UK.
More ⇩

Job Description

Routine during the school week

Gavin often stays home until Dara is picked-up for school at 7:30am each morning.

7:00 - The kids are woken up and get themselves dressed. Gavin keeps an eye to make sure they are up in time.

7:15 - Downstairs for breakfast, usually cereals and milk. School bags are packed with a lunch box and water bottle. Teeth cleaned after breakfast.

7:30 – Taxi picks up Dara from the house. Dara. His school is 25 miles away, so a minibus comes to collect him.

8:00 – Help Aisling to get ready for school (she can do her own hair, may need a reminder to brush her teeth, and loves to chat in the morning!)

8:20 – Walk Aisling to School (0.6 miles)

8:30 - 8:40 – School opens for her class during this time.

Afternoon routine

15:05 – Pick up Aisling from school.

16:00/16:15 – Dara will arrive home by taxi. Dara and Aisling like a small afternoon snack when they come in from school. We have a playroom that the children often use, and we also like them to get fresh air in the back garden. We have a trampoline, tree house and lots of space in the back garden to play games. They can also do some of their homework before dinner.

17:30 - Dara and Aisling usually have their evening dinner around 5:15pm/5:30pm. Keep the kitchen clean each day as this is good practice for the children to see. After that, they can complete their homework. Both are self-sufficient at doing their homework. Our rule is that dinner and homework must be completed before they go on their devices.

19:00 – Grainne returns home, usually between 6:45pm and 7:00pm each evening. If Gráinne will be late, Gavin can often comes home at this time instead. Aisling usually goes to bed at about 8:00/8:30pm and Dara goes to bed at 9/9:30pm.

Non-school days:

During half terms, and full term breaks the days are more relaxed, with the kids usually waking and going to bed an hour later than school days. During the days there is emphasis on helping the kids play happily, going for bike rides walks in the woods or to the parks nearby. Dara is old enough to meet his friends in the park for an hour by himself and always comes home at the agreed time. Aisling will often have playdates with friends who live nearby.

On the very rare occasions that they are ill and can’t go to school, you will be required to look after them during the daytime. If it happens, Aisling will need picking up early if she falls ill at school, or Dara will be returned home early by his taxi. One of us will plan to return home when they are ill. Thankfully, they are both very healthy children.

We would like you to work for 30 hours per week. Weekends will be free unless you would like to baby-sit one evening for us (we would pay extra). Please feel free to join us for activities over the weekend – it is really up to you. We would ask that you be available for school holidays over half-term and over Easter holidays. We would usually ask you to condense the 5-day week into 3 longer days, and either Gavin or Gráinne will take two days’ holidays. This means that you can usually have a 4-day weekend when it is half-term from school, without using your annual holidays.

We are a non-smoking family. We speak English only (Gráinne’s Irish and French are rusty!). We don’t have any particular religious needs or requirements. Gráinne is Catholic, so the children are being raised Catholic. If you have any religious needs, please let us know.

We have a pet Bengal cat called Benny who is great fun and the children take care of his food and litter tray. Benny is nearly 4 years old. We have a cleaner who comes every second Monday for about 2 hours (usually 2 cleaners together).

We have a small piano and guitar in the house, if you would like to play them.

Being part of our Family

You would be very welcome to join us at mealtimes. If it suits, you could eat with our children during the week.

Gavin and I tend to eat later at about 8:00pm or 8:30pm and not always the same foods!

This is really about what your preference is.

If there are particular foods that you like, we can make sure to have them for you.

You are welcome to be part of our family at the weekends, or to relax and meet-up with friends. We know other families on our road who have au pairs and they share a WhattsApp group. It is really about you being comfortable living with us and deciding what suits you on a particular weekend.

We have a lovely au pair Roser who is from Spain. It has been a very unusual time with Covid, but thankfully the UK vaccination programme is going very well. I know Roser would be happy to speak with you to help you with any questions you may have.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Irish

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Bank employee / Designer

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 9 year old girl, 13 year old boy (mostly self-sufficient)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 150 GBP

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2021

Latest Starting Date Jan 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level Secondary school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You would have your own room and we have attached photos to show you – there are three windows so this is a lovely, bright airy room and is newly decorated, including a smart TV with Wifi which can play Netflix, Prime and download digital channels from your home country. High speed unlimited WiFi. You will share a large modern bathroom (has a bath and a shower) with the children.

We have a double bed with underbed storage, dressing table, wardrobe, chest of drawers and a small chest of drawers. You are not next to the children's bedrooms.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »