Family ID: 2304027

Need assistance and support in:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Cohasset / Town | More ⇩

Name Wiley

State Massachusetts

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2022 - Oct 2022

Time of stay: 10-24 Months

Last action: 10 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
42
Profile Visited by 42 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
NA
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello Potential Care Giver,

We are looking for a supportive and independent care giver to accompany our wonderful mother as a live-in companion. She is a tremendous intelligent, kind, and thoughtful woman who values her independence, but also increasingly needs help with simple things as she ages (cooking, remembering to take medication, conversation, driving to grocery store). I could not say enough in terms of the positives of her as a person, but I am her son and vary bias.

While she is extremely capable physically, the difficulty of this job will be navigating how she responds to her mental decline as she simply cannot remember with the ability that she used to. So while she is self-sufficient in terms of eating/drinking, dressing, and physical tasks, she may need to be reminded about taking medication, turning off the stove, etc. This job would include light household work (cooking, light cleaning - a cleaner comes weekly, and laundry), and trips to the grocery store (with my mother).
More ⇩

Job Description

We live in a smaller town with lots of families that is on the ocean, so summers are wonderful and winters are beautiful and not as cold. The town has a French bakery, a couple places to get coffee, two grocery stores, and a couple restaurants/bars. There is a farmers market on Thursdays on the town "Common" (green space) with live music and views of old buildings and churches.

Boston - the closest major city - is about a 45 minute car or train ride (both available) and many who live in the town commute to work there. It has almost any food desired as the Universities drive diversity and a major international airport with flights to North America, Asia, and Europe.

We expect the applicant to be both helpful but not pushy. The difficulty in this job will be supporting our mother without seeming pushy or demanding, as she is trying to figure out (and at times not happy about) becoming older. The tasks would involve (1) reminders to take mediation (2) cooking (3) laundry (4) driving and (5) general conversation.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Age group of elderly/senior 55+

Does elderly/senior live alone? Yes, single female

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Nurse

People living in the house 1

Age and gender of elderly/senior 82 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money of Live-in Help for Seniors 2000 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2022

Latest Starting Date Oct 2022

Looking for Live-in Help for Seniors

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-40

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You would have access to your own bedroom (double bed) with en-suite shower. The house has wifi and cable TV, clothes washer/dryer, dishwasher/disposal. The house is in a quiet location, set back from the road, though you can hear nature from animals that play in the yard (birds, deer, rabbit, etc.)

It is about a 10-15 minute walk into town with small cafes (3 minute drive), grocery stores are a 5-10 minute drive. There are lots of places to run and ride a bike for exercise (Saturday mornings the roads feel like a running race).

We have family living right next door (my mom's sister-in-law and brother-in-law) and daughter lives in town (5 minute drive).
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »