Family ID: 1742716

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Communay / Village | More ⇩

Name Tanja

State Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Sep 2023 - Oct 2023

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 1 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 82 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Not Applicable

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We live about 25 min by car / 35 min by public transport outside of Lyon in a small town called Communay. It's a lovely small town with a growing young family community, weekly markets, playgrounds, library and small shops etc. We live in the heart of the village and everything is accessible by foot. You can make your way to Lyon by bus and train connections. We have language schools 10 min away in Saint Symphorien or in Lyon. Our previous and current au-pair attends a language school in Lyon 2 days per week, where many au-pairs go and she gets there by public transport.
More ⇩

Job Description

We are looking for an additional hand to support the family and babysit occasionally.

* Bring the girls to school and nounou / pick them up.
* Bring the 7yrs old to her social activities / pick her up.
* Evening family support: give a hand by playing with the kids after school while I cook, preparing the table, bedtime routines etc... The kids go to bed at 7.30 and 8.30pm. We mostly have dinner with them together and clean the table either together or in turns. (Our current au-pair has 2 evenings off.)
* Morning support: 3 times in the week (assuming you're at school twice per week). We will prepare the breakfast for the girls though. We'd need you to be present from either 7.30 or 8am on wards to give a hand before the girls head out around 8.15.
* Wednesdays: we either stay here and I'd like you to come to the market and playground with us, play with the girls etc or we may head out to see friends. In the afternoon the big one has dance.
* Baby sitting for the occasional evenings: for the moment it's about once per week. I counted that in the weekly 30hrs.
* Weekends: we often (but not always) like to ask you to be with us on Saturdays, but Sundays are free to plan for you. Our current au-pair has 2 days "fixed" that are free to plan: Tuesdays and Sundays. Having said that, we are often flexible and if she has plans with friends on saturdays, she will go and then in turn help a bit more on Sunday. Our and your plans may change - that's normal :)
* House maintenance and cleaning as a normal part of living together: washing dishes, motivating the kids to clean up their toys, picking up after yourself, cleaning your room and the sous-terrain area once per week.The upstairs area and our rooms will be cleaned by us and a cleaning lady. But we like to ask you to help with the daily clean up's, like toys, kitchen etc.
* When the weather is nice, we'd like you to help in the garden as well.

At the beginning and when you don't have a social network yet, you may automatically stay more with us on the weekend and get to know us and you may head out more as your group of friends grows. You will be always welcome to spend time with us, also on your "day off". Ideally you'll become a bigger sibling to the girls. There is a strong network of au-pairs in Lyon. I'm sure they can add you to their chats.

With our current (and previous) au-pair we have a really good relationship and it's just so organic to have her with us. I do pay attention for her to have breaks or do her homework when I feel she's been supporting us for some hours and she automatically helps out when she sees the girls need a play partner or helps cleaning the kitchen. She became part of the family.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets No

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality German

Languages spoken at home English, French, German

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Entrepreneur / Entrepreneur

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 6 Year female
2 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 360 EUR

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2023

Latest Starting Date Oct 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Austrian, German, English

Language Skills
 German, Minimum Advanced (C1)
- or -
 English, Minimum Upper intermediate (B2)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

We are an international family of 4. We are a German - French couple, who met each other in Hong Kong, where we lived for 9 years and where our first daughter (6, soon 7 yrs) was born. Our second daughter just turned 2 yrs old and was born in France.

At home we speak English when we're all together, while respectively we teach the children German / French when we are alone with them. Our first daughter already speaks all 3 languages and the aim would be to support the language progress for both girls.

Our parenting style is friendly and understanding, yet rules and routines are important to us. We don't have a TV, but good WIFI and a projector for movie nights :) The girls do use the "tablette" from time to time.

At the same time we educate them to understand life and to be able to act and think independently. Our first daughter is very well behaved, a bit shy, suuuper creative, a lot of fun and has a big heart. Our youngest one is very smiley, active, friendly and she will just make you laugh constantly. Given her age, she is going to a nounou 4 days per week while the bigger one is at school.

Social wise, it's a mix: we like to have fun with the kids, let them see friends at their or our place. We do enjoy to host people at ours and be social, but then we also have weekends during which we don't do much, except for family time and some sport or outdoor fun.

We, as parents, are hopefully equally as fun as our daughters and whilst in business we are organized, ambitious, nicely strict, our personal side is very down to earth, calm at times, a bit playful and very friendly. We are both entrepreneurs with passion for our projects and a big heart for our family.

Our house is newly renovated. We have an indoor pool, an indoor hammam - so ideally you should be able to swim.
Otherwise we like to do sport (Cyril = football and tennis, Tanja = yoga, dance) and we LOVE good, yet healthy food. I cook daily (I'm a nutritionist). We love to be outdoors in our garden or take the kid(s) out for short trips and travel.

We have our own company in real estate, Cyril is co-founder of another business in Lyon and we are both working sometimes from home, sometimes outside.
More ⇩


Our house has 3 stories: a sous-terrain, a ground floor and a tiny first floor. Your room is on a different floor than ours to warrant your privacy: in the sous-terrain with small windows. You will have access to shower and toilet on your level (as well as the pool with terrace) and we sleep on the ground floor above you. But of course you're welcome anytime upstairs.

We will use the said bathroom facilities on the rare occasion when we use the pool, but otherwise this will be "all yours". Hence you are in charge of cleaning this area ;)

*130 m2 on the ground floor (incl 1 additional room on the 1st floor with our office and second guest room)
*300 m2 sous-sol with pool (inc kitchen next to pool), hammam, sports corner, cinema room and your room
*2 outdoor areas: 1 big garden in the front of the house with direct access from the ktichen and living room and a 50m2 terrace in front of the pool
* big parking space for multiple cars
More ⇩
Program information for an Au Pair in France

Read More »
Au Pair in France: visa regulations

Read More »
Important: contract and insurance as Au Pair in France

Read More »