Family ID: 3161687

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Cranbrook / Village | More ⇩

Name Rachel

State Kent

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jul 2024 - Aug 2024

Time of stay: 6-12 Months

Last action: 6 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Added as favorite 0 time in the last 3 weeks
102
Profile Visited by 102 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello and welcome to our family! From late-August 2024 we are looking for a live-in Au Pair to assist with the care of our very happy, chatty and adventurous four-year-old (in July) daughter, Maeve. For the past two years my partner and I have shared the responsibility of running a boarding house in a boarding school in Kent (south-east England) and balanced the care of Maeve between us. Maeve starts school in September at the local village primary school and my partner is relocating to North England whilst I stay at our current school to run the boarding house here, with Maeve.
The Au Pair will need to live with Maeve, me and our very loving springer spaniel dog, Orla in our 3-bed apartment in the boarding house. I will need some help in getting Maeve ready for school on some mornings and taking her to school on some days. The Au Pair will need to be able to drive. I will then also need for the Au Pair to collect Maeve from school (on some days) and helping/leading with the evening and bedtime routine (including preparing occasional meals, though there is the option to eat in the school) and then being available (but of course can sleep, study, work etc) overnight in case I need to respond to anything in the boarding house (I am on duty from 07.30-22.00hrs Weds – Sunday and 07.30 – 18.00hrs on Mondays).

I have 4 weekends off duty each term (two of these are from 13.00 Fri until 18.00 Sun and the other two are from 13.00 Sat until 07.30 Mon), as well as the school holidays and during these times the Au Pair would be welcome to stay in the accommodation but will not need to look after Maeve though if the Au Pair is living in the accommodation, we may ask for an occasional evening/overnight care for Maeve. It would be helpful for our Au Pair to assist with some light housework and walking the dog on some occasions but this wouldn't be anything onerous, more just a matter of keeping the accommodation tidy and clean.

Living and working in the boarding house means that I am able to still spend time with Maeve but whilst I am on duty I am mandated to have another adult responsible for Maeve in the event that I need to respond to someone in the boarding house. I am off duty from 18.00 Monday until 08.00 Weds each week and the Au Pair would not be expected to work during these hours. The weekends that I am on duty, I have time off on both Saturday and Sunday and again, the Au Pair would not be required to work these hours. The time with Maeve equates to 36 hours each week (plus needing to be in the accommodation in the evenings/overnight) though I will be around for some of these hours each day.

With Maeve at school between 08.45 and 15.20 Monday-Friday, this position could suit someone who works during the day (between the school hours), or is studying. Maeve goes to bed around 19.00 each night and so whilst the Au Pair will be needed to be in the accommodation overnight, it is really just to ensure that there is an adult present whilst I am on duty in the boarding house.

We appreciate that this quite an unusual set-up but hopefully the hours offer plenty of scope for other opportunities alongside the Au Pair role. Living and working in a boarding house and school is a lot of fun and the bonus is the school holidays – perfect for travelling! There might also be the opportunity for additional work at the school if the Au Pair is interested.

We are about 15mins from the nearest train stations (Staplehurst and Headcorn)by car and then just an hour into London. Tunbridge Wells, Maidstone and the coast are all within close distance as well as a number of smaller local towns.

A full DBS check will be required for this role and the au pair will need to hold a full driving license and eligible to drive in the UK.

If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me. I really look forward to hearing from you.

Best Wishes,
Rachel
More ⇩

Job Description

The above letter should outline all of the job specifics. Please do ask if there is anything else I can answer.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Teacher

People living in the house 2

Children's/people's age and gender 3 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 600 GBP

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 6-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jul 2024

Latest Starting Date Aug 2024

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Mastery (C2)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 20-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The Au Pair will have their own room. It is a shared bathroom. There is wifi and an additional space that can be used as an office/study space for an au pair.
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »