Family ID: 1905894

Children: 1 Children, 0 - 1 year old

City: Des Moines / Big City | More ⇩

Name Gracie

State Iowa

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2021 - Feb 2022

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 28 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
18
Profile added to the favorite list of 18 candidates in the last 3 weeks
99
Profile Visited by 99 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear future au pair,

We are looking forward to welcoming you into our little family. That is Gracie, Louis and little Lukas. Gracie and Louis are 32 years old and have been married for 3 years. Lukas was born in May 2021. Since Gracie and I are working full time, and our maternity and paternity leave is unfortunately pretty short, we were looking for possibilities to find the best care for our son.

We know a lot about au pairs and the whole process, because some people very close to us were also au pairs! Gracie's best childhood friend was an au pair in Germany (small village outside of Köln) in a gap year between high school and univerity. Louis' younger sister Laura was also an au pair a few years ago in Boston, Massachusetts. She enjoyed her time with her host family so much that she extended her stay past 1 year!

We don't like the thought of giving him into a daycare center or a part time nanny as it feels so unpersonal. Instead we would like to welcome you as part of our family, so Lukas can walk his first steps and speak his first words at home where his family is. We would like you to play a role in his development and we think this will be a very formative experience for you and your future. Those are some experiences you can look forward to with Lukas.

On top of that you will be able to experience the real American way of life first hand and we think that Des Moines is a wonderful place for you to do that! I think with me being from Germany, I have a great understanding of how life is different here and can show you the fun things that I appreciate the most about America. We are sure we will be making some unforgettable memories ranging from fun days at our house, small daytrips to a fun Lakehouse vacation.

Being here for a full year, you will have the chance to live in all seasons that Iowa has to offer. Snow in the winter and hot days in the summer are a given. From ice-skating to swimming time at a pool, a lot is possible!

Being here for a year will also give you the chance to have a real Thanksgiving Dinner, see the Iowa State fair, go trick or treating at Halloween and having a beautiful holiday season at christmas time. It is truly magical with all the decorations.

I hope this letter will give you a little glimpse into what you can look forward to being here. Both of us have younger sisters, and we hope to also treat you as such. We sure are excited to meet you and answer all the questions you might have.

Kind regards,
Gracie, Louis and Lukas
More ⇩

Job Description

Describe the household duties related to the children your au pair will perform and how often they need to be done. Household duties related to Lukas would include: Help to prepare meals for him, set/clear the table for his meals and cleanup the meal preparation. Help to keep his living/play areas tidy Taking care of Lukas' laundry. Keeping his room and bathroom clean We keep the house neat and expect you to do the same. Please make sure that anything you or Lukas use is cleaned up before you are off duty. (for example: dishes done, floor swept, toys and clothes put away). With all that said, we don’t expect you to be a maid and we do have a professional house cleaning service that comes once a month.

Describe what role your au pair might play in your children's school schedule or educational development. It is very important to us that you would help stimulate and engage with him so he can learn. He already likes to play a lot and we're hoping that you could play and do learning activities with him!

Describe the types of play or free-time activities you would like your au pair to engage in (or avoid) with your children. As Lukas is in his first year of life, the requirements of play vary a lot. We have suggestions on what kind of play are appropriate for him and we would also like to get some ideas from you of what you would like to engage him in. We would like to avoid any type of screen time with Lukas.

Describe the relationship you'd like your children to have with your au pair. A big sister like relationship would be wonderful to have. But we do want to stress that we see you as the primary caregiver for Lukas while we are not around and are looking forward to a responsible au pair who always has his safety in mind.

How would you like your au pair to handle challenging behavior from the children? There are many different soothing techniques for infants and we hope you have first experience with them. We will also be always a phone call away if you don't find a solution or if you or Lukas are having a challenging day.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, German

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Designer / Manager

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 4 Months old boy

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 1200 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2021

Latest Starting Date Feb 2022

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Austrian, German, Swiss, American - USA

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Describe your home (size, number of rooms etc). We would love to send you photos of our home or show you around in a video call! Our house has 176 square meters on the main level, and 176 square meters in the basement level. We have completely remodeled our home, including most recently the kitchen, so everything is new and modern inside. Gracie is an interior designer so the modern, happy feeling of the house and the furniture is very important to us! We have a beautiful large backyard that is almost like a park. We have a 2 car attached garage for our cars. In the basement, we have a new washer and dryer and a play room for Lukas/workout room. We have a treadmill and exercise bike (with Peloton classes) if you like to stay active and fit. We try to keep things tidy and organized and want you to have a pleasant environment to live in. There is plenty of space in our house and you can feel comfortable hanging out with us as a family, or spending time on your own!

Describe your au pair's private bedroom (size, furnishings, location in home). Our au pair's space is in the lower level of our home. We renovated it last year so it is completely new and nobody has ever lived in there yet. The room is very spacious with about 65 square meters. It has built in closets, a queen size bed, sitting area, TV, desk, Refrigerator and Microwave. You will also have access to your own private bathroom that has been completely renovated as well.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »