Family ID: 1950947

Children: 1 Children, 15+ years old

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Bathing & Dressing

City: East Amherst / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Trent

State New York

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Oct 2021 - Jun 2022

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 4 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
20
Profile added to the favorite list of 20 candidates in the last 3 weeks
183
Profile Visited by 183 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Good day,
My wife has a condition known as ALS. She has deteriorated to the point of being completely immobile and can no longer speak and be understood by most people. Her prognosis is bad but her spirits are good. She currently lives with me and our younger son who is 20 years old. However, I work full time and he attends school and has a job outside of school. That leaves my wife home alone a majority of daylight hours during the week. I take her to her parents once or twice a week during the day but I feel bad doing it because they are in their 70s and can not physically help her at all. She is 5'-1 (155cm) and 115# (52kg). She spends much of the day online with an eye-gaze assistive device- but as I said, spends it alone. I am looking for someone, could be a live-in person, as a companion to her in the time she has left and to do light housework since basic things get neglected with my work schedule and my sons school/work schedule; cleaning, dusting, etc. ALS is fatal and she is completing her 3rd year with it. The average lifespan from diagnosis is 3-5 years but a few rare cases live for 10, 20, or more years. While I am hopeful, I highly doubt that will be the case with her given her decline. I need a person with a big heart, capable of simply being a friend, taking her to the bathroom (you must be able to trasnsfer 115# from wheelchair to toilet and back), and to cook meals during the work week so I can spend that time with her when I get home, instead of in the kitchen. FYI, I do not always FULLY lift her- you can usually pivot her from one to the other. You will have the freedom to do whatever you wish from 8pm to 8am during the week and whatever you want to do on the weekends is your time.
More ⇩

Job Description

As I stated above, the primary job is simply companionship. That said, I would like the potential applicant to also be willing to perform light household chores such as cleaning, vacuuming, and dusting; maybe throw a load of laundry in the washer/dryer once in a while- things that get neglected with my wife in her condition. My son and I are not slobs by any stretch but we are guys which means those things are never at the top of our things to do list. :) The only other things I would ask, also listed above, is to take her to the bathroom when necessary- usually only once between when I leave for work and return home- and to cook dinner during the weekdays so I can spend those extra hours with her instead of in the kitchen.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Business owner / Retired

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 52

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 1700 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Oct 2021

Latest Starting Date Jun 2022

Looking for Au Pair and Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age 15+ years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Bathing & Dressing

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 25-45

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have your own bedroom that was originally that of my 23 year old son. There is a full bath next to it in the hall for your use.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »