Family ID: 1715880

Children: 2 Children, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

City: Edina / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Elinor

State Minnesota

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2021 - Aug 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 13 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
63
Profile Visited by 63 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair!

We look forward to meeting you. We are the Murar family and are a Slovak American family living in a suburb of Minneapolis. My name is Elinor and I am an American. My husband's name is Jozef (Joe) and he is originally from Slovakia. He moved to America when he was 10 years old, now almost 25 years ago. We have a 2 year old son and are expecting the arrival of son #2 in May 2021. We want both of our kids to be able to speak Slovak so they can communicate with their grandparents, uncles, aunts, and other family members back in Slovakia.

We live in Edina, Minnesota, which is the first suburb outside of Minneapolis. We are approximately 15 minutes from downtown by car and about 15 minutes from the airport as well. Minneapolis is a city with about 3 million people and plenty of culture, sports, food, theaters, and entertainment. It has a large airport with nonstop flights to most everywhere in the United States.

Our first son is named Jozef as well (Jozinko) and he turns two years old this January. He is a very active and curious toddler who loves running around, exploring any new activity, climbing, jumping, reading, drawing, and playing with anything and everything. He is very energetic and has been a lot of fun to be with. We have now had 2 au pairs who have taken care of him. The first one, Dominika, was with us for his first year, and the second au pair, Veronika, is with us currently. They enjoy each other's company quite a bit. We are expecting a our second child in May 2021 as well..

Both Jozef and I work 5 days a week. I work as a lawyer and I work from a home office so am home most of the time. Occasionally I have to travel for work for 1-2 days. I used to travel 1-2x per month, but given the recent pandemic, travel has been quite limited. Jozef works as a doctor and his schedule is usually more predictable, usually from 7/8am to 4-6pm depending on the day. Fridays he is usually free in the afternoon. Our parents live within 10-15 minutes away and are always available if extra help is needed. Your typical day would likely be from 8am to 5-6pm depending on the day. It may have to be flexible based on the day and the travel schedule. Weekends are generally completely free and yours. You can spend time with us at home or you can do your own thing. We do like to travel to Colorado in the winter to go skiing and to Florida to go to the sea several times per year and you would be welcome to join us for any of those trips. Of course you could also do your own travel and exploration.

Our ideal au pair is someone who would love our sons as if he were her own. We want her to care for them, play with them, and teach them. We are quite open and easy going and I'm sure we could make things work to everyone's satisfaction and benefit.

We look forward to meeting you soon. Don't hesitate to message us with any questions.

Elinor, Joe, Jozinko, and baby number 2
More ⇩

Job Description

Job includes taking care of the new baby after maternity leave is over (August) and taking care of 2 year old Jozinko as well. New baby duties will including feeding, changing diapers, putting to sleep, reading to him, singing to him, etc. We want both of our kids to be able to speak Slovak so speaking to them in Slovak is important to us. We just want them to be happy, safe, loved, and to enjoy every day and learn as much as possible
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Slovak

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Doctor / Lawyer

People living in the house 3 (will be 4 in may)

Children's/people's age and gender 3 month old boy starting in Aug and 2 year old boy starting right away

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2021

Latest Starting Date Aug 2021

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Preferred Nationalities Slovak

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money (per month) 800 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have your own room, bathroom, as well as a car available at any point. Plenty of privacy.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »