Family ID: 2598659

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Edithvale / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Samantha (Sam)

State Victoria

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Mar 2023 - Jun 2023

Time of stay: 6-12 Months

Last action: 1 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 42 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 416 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hi! I'm Sam and a single mum to two amazing kids. We are looking for an extra set of hands to free up a bit of my time so that I can enjoy my time with Jack and Georgia a bit more!
We live in Edithvale which is a small, beachside suburb which is around 30km from the city. We live a 15 minute walk from the nearest train station and the main shops/restaurants and a 20 minute walk from the beach. There are a few nice cafes, restaurants and bars and some basic shops. We are also only 2 train stops from Mordialloc which has quite a few more shops restaurants and bars and a large grocery store. I would provide you with a train travel card for the time that you are staying with us and if you are able to drive, I'm happy to let you use my car on occasions when I am not using it. :)
More ⇩

Job Description

The job would be slightly flexible, however it would be great if you could watch Jack and Georgia:
- Monday, Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 7:00am (when I need to leave for work) -8:30/9:00 when you could walk them to school (around a 10 minute walk) for school drop off.
- Monday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings picking them up from school at 3:30 and bringing them home until I get home from work (anywhere from 5:00 and 6:00). They are allowed on their ipads from 4:00 so in this time it would be great if you could do some basic kid-dinner prep, put away any of their laundry or empty the dishwasher. Other than that, or if none of that needs to be done, it can just be time to relax while they're occupied! (obviously would still count towards your hours though)

I work Monday-Thursday so Friday-Sunday is a bit more flexible. They are at their dad's house every Wednesday night, so from the time you drop them at school on a Wednesday morning until you pick them up on a Thursday afternoon would always just be your own time.
Every second weekend they are also at their dad's, so from the time I get home on a Thursday until dropping them off on Monday morning would be your time as well (I might occasionally ask if you can babysit on a Thursday night but wouldn't be too often and would always give plenty of advanced notice)

Additional hours might include:
- an hour or so in the evening (or during the day on the weekend) 2 or 3 times a week while I go for a run
- an occasional day at home with them if one of them is unwell (only mild illnesses, if they are really sick and need proper taking care of, I would take the day off work...). Generally if they're too unwell for school but not overly sick they are happy to just be on their ipads for the day as this is a novelty for them!! This could be negotiated and would obviously mean that other days that week you wouldn't need to do anything to make up for the extra hours on the one day)
- An occasional evening babysitting (with advanced notice and less hours the rest of the week to make up for this)
- Occasionally coming with us when we go out on the weekends as an extra set of hands (happy to plan these things in advance and you to come along to the things that interest you the most and you would like to see as well!)
- Possibly coming away with us when we go away for weekends away, again as an extra set of hands, but with plenty of down time to yourself as well to explore and do your own thing!

I'm pretty flexible with a lot of the stuff - even the mornings and afternoons, if you have something planned on one of the days when you take them/pick them up from school, and let me know in advance, I'm happy to work with your plans as well and can book them into the before/after school program, as they are used to going to that at the moment anyways.

I'm originally from Canada and have no family here, and their dad isn't all that helpful, so I'm really just looking for an extra set of hands to make life a bit easier!
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality Canadian

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Teacher

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 7 Year male
5 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 800 AUD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Mar 2023

Latest Starting Date Jun 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 100-200

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? No

Required Age 18-28

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Jack and Georgia are great kids! Jack loves LEGO, Minecraft, building things (he's really great at following instructions and putting things together!) animals, art (he's great at drawing) and most of all airplanes which is his current special interest. He will talk to you about airplanes and air crash investigations for hours if you let him!!! Jack was diagnosed with Level 1 autism (so the 'high functioning' end of the spectrum) when he was 3, but has been doing amazing with early intervention supports. He still has meltdowns on occasion, especially when there is a lot going on or we're in a new environment, however he generally reserves those for me and is happy and easy going while he is at school or when anyone babysits him. He's super polite and eager to please.

Georgia loves animals and 'based-on-real-life-animal-story-movies' which is her current special interest! She especially loves seals/sealions and dolphins and was super excited to go swimming with seals in the ocean a few weeks ago! She also loves music and dancing. Her favourite things to play with are her barbies. She has had a lot of separation anxiety which is improving a lot, and is also undergoing an autism diagnosis at the moment to see if it's just anxiety or if it's all the high functioning end of autism like her brother. She is super loyal though and once she gets used to someone and warms up to them, she will talk their ear off and be super comfortable around them. She has a great sense of humour once she feels comfortable around someone.

They both love playing board games, going to the beach, being outside and exploring in nature.

We also have 2 pet cats who are very friendly and the kids love.

I am originally from Canada but have been living in Australia for 12 years now and both kids were born here. I am a teacher, currently teaching Prep (first year of school over here) at an autistic school. I love music, so I do have music playing in my house most of the time! I love country and 90s rock (very different from each other!) but enjoy most types of music so open to you putting the music that you like on as well :) I play the piano and have a keyboard in my bedroom and am currently learning the guitar, so you would have to hear me practising sometimes!! I love the beach and scuba diving, reading, being outside, exploring new places and traveling!
More ⇩


You would have your own bedroom - currently it is my daughter's bedroom but she has been sharing a bunk bed with her brother for a year now and it's just become a playroom. I plan on taking her little bed apart to store in the garage and redoing the room for whoever comes to stay as our au pair. I have my own ensuite bathroom, so you would share a bathroom with Jack and Georgia.
There is wifi and you could have access to one of our two ipads in the evening once the kids are in bed if you would like. There is also a TV in the main room with netflix, stan, disney plus, amazon prime (which I don't really watch that often myself!) so you would be welcome to watch anything out in the main room, or watch it in your own room on an ipad.
We have a nice little backyard with a table you can sit out at in the evenings as well.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Australia: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Australia: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in Australia: requirements and the process

Read More »