Family ID: 1857476

Children: 3 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Edmonton / Big City | More ⇩

Name Marie

State Alberta

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Oct 2021 - Nov 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 9 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
5
Profile added to the favorite list of 5 candidates in the last 3 weeks
88
Profile Visited by 88 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
54%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello Au Pairs!

We are excited to introduce our adventurous, outdoorsy, family of three young boys and hope you consider joining us for a fun year of growing and learning together in beautiful Alberta, Canada! We reside in southwest Edmonton, a city of over one million, in the mature neighborhood of Brookside. Our home is located steps away from nature, including a network of scenic, North Saskatchewan river valley hiking/running, biking trails, and Snow Valley ski club. Edmonton has all urban amenities and is known most for its vibrant arts scene and numerous summer music and food festivals. However, Edmonton also has a "small town" feel, with access to many outdoor activities and a few hour drive from Jasper National Park - for mountain enthusiasts!

We are looking for a dedicated, energetic and warm individual that is passionate about children and wants to become a loving member of our family "village" for 1 year - ideally October 2021 - November 2022 (while our current nanny is on maternity leave).

In exchange for your childcare commitment during the week (I work Monday to Wednesday 10 hour days, so that would be the majority of the 'nanny' responsibility time), you will consistently have Friday-Sunday off to do whatever excursions/domestic traveling, etc that you want. While we do require you to drive with our 3 children for some (short) distances around our community (i.e. school, grocery store, occasional activities), we will also provide you with a new, well-maintained car that is yours for the weekends - with no km limit - to go and explore all Western Canada has to offer...hiking in the Rockies, skiing all winter, back country camping, you name it!

Our home is 'average' in size, by Canadian standards with a large front and back yard. You would have your own, private bedroom (2 windows) with sitting area, closet, and full bathroom located in our basement. And of course you would have shared access to the rest of the home and garage 24/7! In addition, we have a family membership for the large, new community recreation center that is 5 minutes from our home - your name would be included in this membership and you would have unlimited access to the gym, pools, programs, etc at this public Edmonton City facility.

We are hoping for an Au Pair that's first language is English. Although we love the idea of exposing our kids to a second language, our 5 year old (middle boy) as a mild speech/language delay and has worked SO hard to catch up with speech therapy, that we feel someone who can work with him and role model in clear English would be ideal.

I hope this gives you a little insight into Edmonton and what our family can offer you on this year abroad!

Warmly;

Marie & Derek McCoy

(busy nurse mom of 3 active boys and busy Dad engineer running his own hydrology company).
More ⇩

Job Description

Now here's the specifics:

1) Our bright 6 year old is also a Type 1 Diabetic (T1D); this is an autoimmune disease and he was diagnosed 1.5 years ago (completely different than type 2 diabetes - the most common kind). He has a continuous blood glucose monitor (CGM) and an insulin pump. He will be in full time grade 2 next year (he has no other physical or developmental special needs). BUT an expectation/learning curve will be me teaching you how to carb count, give his insulin via his phone/pump, and monitor his blood sugars. I will totally support you with all of this, and his current system is as safe as it gets. He's a wonderful, resilient, intelligent boy and will teach you and be patient. If there happens to be an Au Pair out there with T1D themselves....we are your match! We GET it - and would also do ANYTHING to support your health and wellbeing.

2) Expectation will be general care for the kids on Monday - Wednesday from 0700-1730; including some driving. Typical fall schedule looks like this:

0700-0830 - help Derek make breakfast and get Xavier and Cohen to school (Derek will drop off).
0830-1120 - light housework/play and activities with Alex (2).
1135 - pick up Cohen from Kinder
1200 - 1300 - make lunch, put Alex down for a nap
1300-1500 - play with Cohen/ do his speech/language activites
1520 - Take Cohen and Alex to pick up Xavier from school (school is only 700m away from our home).
1700 - start supper preparations as outlined on weekly menu.
1730 - eat with us - rest of the evening is yours!

My biggest priority is that the kids are safe, have fun, and build a loving/respectful relationship with you! I don't want/need a housekeeper....we all pitch in for that and I have my friend that deep cleans every 2 weeks for me anyway! Lol!

If this sounds doable to you! We'd love to hear from you!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes
Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Canadian

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Protestant

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Nurse / Engineer

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender Male - age 6 (turning 7 in October) - Grade 2, Sept 2021.
Male - age 5 - Kindergarten Sept 2021.
Male - age 2

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money (per month) 1200 CAD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Earliest Starting Date Oct 2021

Latest Starting Date Nov 2021

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Australian, British, English, Irish, New Zealander, Scottish, South-African

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 20-34

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

As mentioned above, our Au Pair will have their own bright bedroom with sitting area and full bathroom (sink, toilet and shower) in our fresh, fully-finished basement. During the week they will have access to my SUV (Toyota Highlander) to drive the children as needed. From Thursday/Friday until Sunday, you will have unlimited access to a smaller car for their own transportation/ traveling needs. Both vehicles are stored in a heated garage.
More ⇩
Become an Au Pair in Canada: program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Canada: insurance and contract

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Canada: the requirements and process

Read More »