Family ID: 2006462

Children: 3 Children, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

City: Egilsstöðum / Village | More ⇩

Name Thura

State

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: May 2023 - Jun 2023

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 3 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
29
Profile Visited by 29 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We moved from the capital and to Egilsstaðir the summer of 2020, it´s a lovely small town in East-Iceland, where the population is about 2.500 people. We live about 400m from the center and you can walk anywhere you want in this town. We have electric scooters that we use a lot during summers.
It is the biggest town in East-Iceland and is the service center for this part of the country. It is truly a beautiful town which has everything a
person needs; food markets, nice restaurants, and all kinds of activities to brighten the day. If you like swimming pools then Iceland is your paradise as we have so much natural hot water in the ground that we can not stop swimming. Even during the darkest winters storms, we lay in the hot tubs and chat. We also have natural hot springs all over the country.

If you are a nature lover, this place is something for you.

We will pay for a SIM card for your phone.

If you choose to come live with our family, we promise you it will not be boring! Both of us parents are colorful characters, we love seizing the
day, watch some comedy, eating cheese and having a glass of red wine at the end of the day. Our children are really lovable and playful, and we
know they will take you with open arms as well.
More ⇩

Job Description

Expected work hours are 5 hours pr. day. Weekly allowance is 15.700 ISK. Overtime is 650 ISK pr/hour. Please do not hesitate to let us know if your work goes over 5 hours per day, so that we can pay you accordingly.
Driving license is necessary.

To give you an idea of the rhythm of the family life, dinner is at 6pm, the two younger children go to bed around 9pm but Sóla the oldest, around
10pm on weekdays. Most of the work goes into taking care of Heiða and Fróði as Sóla mostly roams free, but needs a friend and a big sister in you as well as
a good role model.
If you occasionally help with the homework, we would feel very lucky.
We want to help our children become stable and kind people in the future, so our parenting philosophy is to allow their feelings to flow and
rather take time explaining and listen to their concerns instead of telling them to stop crying or putting them in detention.
Of course, we are far
from perfect, but this is the kind of parents we wish to be, and we to have to practice every day. Our son needs a lot of love and hugs and he
loves to cuddle. Fróði has an exceptionally sharp mind but has had difficulties taming his temper, that is why patience and a calm attitude is of
essence.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Icelandic

Languages spoken at home English, Icelandic

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion

Employment Lawyer / Manager

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender Girl 12, boy 8, girl 5.

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 120 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date May 2023

Latest Starting Date Jun 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 20-25

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

We are a family of five; Þura (36) works in the airport tower at Egilsstaðir, Hlynur (34) is a lawyer, Sólgerður (Sóla) is a 13 year old karate champion, Fróði is a 9 year old energetic super boy and Heiða is a 6 year old chancellor who happens to love chocolate. Sóla is a happy, fun
loving, well behaved and very social girl who loves karate and all sorts of art, especially drawing and painting. Fróði is an energetic 9 year old boy,
who happens to have ADHD, but is just lovable and sweet. He love to study the animal kingdom and of course Lego. Our youngest, Heiða, loves her doll Abba, going out on her bike and making things out of clay. We have a really fat cat named Ottó and a dog named Brák :)
We have had 3 au pairs, one from Germany one from Mexico and the other from Iran is still with us and her year is over in the end of june.
More ⇩

Accommodation

We live in a beautiful old red house, that looks like it´s from a farytale. It has a porch that is really nice to hang out in during the summers.
Your room will of course be lockable and with as much privacy as possible.
Au Pair in Iceland: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: requirements and the process

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: salary, holidays and more

Read More »