Family ID: 1665347

Children: 1 Children, 6 - 10 years old

City: Eskifjordur / Town | More ⇩

Name Bára

State

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Nov 2020 - Dec 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 4 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
11
Profile added to the favorite list of 11 candidates in the last 3 weeks
105
Profile Visited by 105 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
22%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear au pair.
Hi, my name is Bára, i am 28 years old since the 17.07. I work shifts in an aluminum factory. Normaly i work five 8 hour shifts and have 5 days off. I like the outside alot and i do alot of fishing over the summer. I like family times, talking, beeing there when my family needs me, nice walks in the evening or over the day, and spending time with my folks. My parents and younger syster live 2 minutes away from us. I have 3 siblings, my older brother‘s name is Georg he is 33 years old and lives in Bayreuth in Germany (but no i dont speak german), my younger brother lives in a town 35 – 40 min away and his name is Víðir and he is 25 years old. My youngest syster her name is Sunneva and she is turning 18 this year, she is here alot and we are very close. I cant say that i have alot of hobby‘s but i like fishing and we do that alot over the summer time, most of the time we cant take my daugther with us and then she would stay home with you. Usually we dont go far away but it can happen. When we go for a fishing tour we are 3 or 4 days away. I also love horses and just animals. I recently became an owner of 2 fols, but i wont pick them up until September – Oktober. And my most impotant thing is my family.
My fiance‘s name is Valdimar, he is turning 39 on the 18.09. He has 3 boys from his last relationship and they visit us every other weekend and a little bit more over the summer. But just to make that clear you dont have to take care of them, he always has day‘s off at work when the boys are here. The oldest one is turning 17 this year and his name is Guðni Már, the middle son is turning 15 and his name is Einar Örn and the youngest one is turning 9 and his name is Birgir Hrafn. Valdimar also likes to fish alot, he has the same work as me and in the summer he is also working as a fishing guide in a beautyful river that is about an hour away. He has a fantastic humor and is also very open minded. He loves to travel, and we have made a tradition to travel somwhere once or twice a year where we go just the two of us.
If you want to experience winter, this is the right place for you. Ower the winter we have both very beautyful weather, snow everywhere, bright sky but cold outside. We also have winter storms where you almost cant see the next house, one thing about the winter that can be difficoult and that is the darkness, it gets dark early, but that can also be very nice and much easyer to fall a sleep at night 12. I can say endless things about our beautyful town, but i think i should talk a little more about by daughter and the schedule.
My daugher‘s name is Bentína Marín, we usuallu just use her first name, but most of the time i call her mouse. She is 8 year‘s old since 03.04. Last year we started analytical process because she had realy bad moodswings and was very difficoult to handle. In february we got the resoults and she has arrention deficit and hyperactivity. She got medication for that and she is a complete different kid today, she is calm over the day but ofcourse she has energy and need activity. There has been some changes with the medication because of a hard time getting on contact with her doctor so now we are in the middle of changing her doctor so she is not taking her madication now because the doctor wants to do it all over again. She is very loveble girl, loves hugs, cuddles and has a realy good heart. She means realy well. She is an animal lover, she loves cats,dogs,sheeps,horses and probably every animal you can find. She enjoys playing with her friends both inside and outside. She has a bike and loves to use it over the summer. But even though she is so lovely i can also say that she is stubborn, probaly just like every other child. But she knows when she does something wrong and she apologize. She realy likes going to the swimingpool and play around, but you have to keep a good eye on her because she is not 100% on the swiming. She likes watching youtube, but mostly she watch something like 5 min craft or something with slimes, pranks or makeup. She likes to colour photos and play with barbie. She is not in much contact with her dad, he bearly calls but she is planing to visit him in the summer. She doesnt like school very much or that is what she says, but when she is asked how was school, she always had fun, but she tries to make fake sickness so she doesnt have to go, but it is very easy to see through her when she tries it. One thing that you have to remeber when it comes to Bentína is that she will try to see how far she can go, she does not behave nicely when she is trying to go as far as she can with you, but if you hold your ground and show her that you are in control and not her it wont be a problem
We have an au pair with us now and they get along very well, she is going home now in august. Bentína speaks english very well and no problem with the comunication.

We have 2 cars so you would always have access to one car, unless he needs some fixing or oil change or something like that but, 99% you would have access to it. It is manual Skoda octavia scout. Very good car and easy to drive.

About your schedual, I realy dont have a strickt one.
Most importand thing is ofcourse my baby girl, taking care of her while we work. We are working 8 hour shifts, we work 2 night shift from 00 – 08, then we work 2 everning shift from 16 – 00 and then you would have to prepare dinner, and in the end we take 2 day shifts and they are from 08 – 16. And then we haave 5 days off.
You would have to get her to school every morning when we are working and pick her up when the school is finished the school starts at 08, she has to be there around 07:50. The school is very close to our home, takes around 10 min to walk there but you can also drive. Her school is finished at 13:00. The girl who is staying with us now usually go there around 12:50 just to be there when she comes out of school.
When we have our days off you also have your days off unless something special comes up then we just talk about it. But over the summer when we go fishing we can only do that when we have our days off so that would be something we would just talk about when that happens.
About the things to do at home, vacuming maby once a week, and put glas,plates and so on in the dish washer, there is not much more than that i would like you to do. We want to keep the place clean, but sometimes that can be difficoult when you have a full house but just the small things helps alot.
We have rules but not many.
- Bentína is not allowed to eat in the livingroom, just the kitchen. (But she is allowed to eat dinner there on Fridays because we have pizza on Fridays and then she watch a movie while she eats)
- Bentína is not allowed to be jumping on the sofa.
- We dont want toys all around the apartment, they are supose to stay in her room.
- She is supose to come home at 18:00 if she goes outside to play.
- She is not allowed to play close to the sea unless there is an adult with her.
I dont think we have much more rules than this. Atleast not any i remember right now.

We live in a small town with the name Eskifjörður, our apartment is not very big but you would ofcours have our own room. I would say our every day life is very calm and easy, we go outside for walks or for a dreive, we work and we sleep. Over the summer we try to do as much as we can for the kids to have fun. Bentína is alot outside playing now but mostly because the summer is close and we have good weather. We are not much for partying or something like that, ofcours if there is something happening we are open to it but i dont do much of it. If we are not working in the everning we usualy pick a good movie to watch together, but when there is a school the next day we wait with the movie until Bentína is in bed. Sometimes we get an idea about going somwhere or doing somthing with short notice, but you are always welcome to come with us if we are going to a summerhouse or traveling to other places in Iceland.

I hope you like the letter, but if it does not anwere all you questions you are free to ask at any time, we are very open people and very understanding
More ⇩

Job Description

The job offered is mostly taking care of Bentína while we are working. Get her to school every morning while we are working and picking her up. Sometimes you would have to cook dinner for her but that only happens 2 times while we are working.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Icelandic

Languages spoken at home English, Icelandic

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Work in aliminium factory / Work in aliminium factory

People living in the house 3 every day, but 5-6 every other weekend

Children's/people's age and gender She is 8 years old and her name is Bentína

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Accepts Smokers - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Nov 2020

Latest Starting Date Dec 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 10-50

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 361 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Ticket home

Required Age 18-23

Accepts Smokers Yes

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Au pair would have her own bedroom and everything else sheared with the family. free house and food ofcours.
Au Pair in Iceland: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: requirements and the process

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: salary, holidays and more

Read More »