Family ID: 1518414

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

City: Fairfax / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Michael

State Virginia

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Feb 2020 - Dec 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action:

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
32
Profile added to the favorite list of 32 candidates in the last 3 weeks
323
Profile Visited by 323 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear future au pair,
My wife, Claudia, and I wish to adopt children from Colombia sometime in the near future. The adoption process can take a year or more and as of October 2020, we haven't gotten started. Clau is from Cali, Colombia, and I am from Annandale, Virginia (10 miles from Washington, DC) where my mother still lives. We live 20 miles outside of Washington in Fairfax County, near the city of Fairfax. I am a government consultant and Clau currently works for a Belgian furniture company. We would like an au pair from Colombia who is interested in helping our future children adapt to American culture while providing a connection to their home country, but we are open to other Spanish-speakers who will share their culture. Bonus if you are from Cali, Palmira, or Buga, because we visit family there once a year and it would be nice to stay in touch. When we are not all doing things together as a family, you will explore the Washington, DC area together with our kids and teach each other English. Since my wife and I both work, we would like our au pair to assist us in taking care of our kids when we are at work, which includes doing light housework and helping out with meals.
More ⇩

Job Description

As of October 2020, we are still one year or more from needing an au pair. We have not even begun the adoption process, which I have heard can take 7 months to 2 years. I am the dreamer and like to imagine how it could be.
We do not know if you will be taking care of pre-school or school age children. toddlers, children, adolescents or young teenagers. Girls, boys, or both. Siblings or two unrelated kids dreaming of a family.
We do not know. You will be au pair #1 for us. This is all very new to us.
That is also why our response rate is 0%. Since we are still over a year from needing an au pair, we have not purchased a membership and we cannot reply to your emails.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Spanish

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Important

Employment Consultant

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender Thinking of adopting 1-2 girls, somewhere between 3-16

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2020

Latest Starting Date Dec 2021

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old, 15+ years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Colombian

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money (per month) 800 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 18-30

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our current address in Fairfax is the area where we wish to live. We currently live in an apartment, but would hope to buy a house or townhouse nearby.
We expect to provide our au pair with her own private bedroom, but she might have to share a bathroom with the kids.
You would have use of a car; most likely a used mini-SUV.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »