Family ID: 2004146

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Fremont - Silicon Valley / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Mia

State California

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Mar 2022 - Sep 2022

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 7 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
63
Profile added to the favorite list of 63 candidates in the last 3 weeks
785
Profile Visited by 785 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
88%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello dear future au pair! Welcome to Fremont, the 4th largest city in the San Francisco Bay Area. We are sure one of your goals of coming to the US is to experience a different country, so let us first briefly guide you through what this part of the US can offer.

Fremont is geographically central to many places among the Bay Area’s 8 counties. This coastal metropolitan area is generally in Mediterranean climate, and being in the middle Fremont is slightly warmer but not as warm as other inland cities. Fremont has been prized for having the highest patent holder rate per capita and several times the best city to raise a family in Silicon Valley.

While you can explore the Bay Area's highly diverse and open culture, there is a decent Asian community here. It's easy to get Chinese, Taiwanese, Vietnamese, Korean, Indian, Afghani, and other Asian food. And at the foothills of many historic ranchos, you will never miss tasty Latin American dishes. Along the coast you can find more cooking of European roots, such as the iconic Cioppino stew and sourdough bread. And no one can miss the product of cultural diversity, integration and innovation - our famous fusion delicacies. I won't say Bay Area is the place for the pickiest connoisseurs but the variety of dining experiences is endless.

Our Fremont home is right next to a spacious community park, within walking distance to the bus stop, a short ride to BART Station for the train to San Francisco and other major parts of the Bay Area. World famous Stanford, Berkeley (both offer extension programs), plus many local higher-ed institutions such as Ohlone College, Unitek, CSU, Polytec, Mission College, Univ of Silicon Valley, are within reach. And there are already established au pairs social groups, and various sport clubs such as local volleyball and soccer meetups.

Prior to the arrival of our baby we were Airbnb Superhosts, so we had some experience co-living with guests of various cultural backgrounds. As former newcomers to this gigantic country, we still remember the excitement and challenges we faced over the years here. And the host mom still remembers how she got to know what is au pair as one of her ESL classmates was an au pair from France. Hope by this exchange opportunity we can help you find the experience you are looking for here.
More ⇩

Job Description

IQ (infant qualified) is required by law. Duty-wise, about up to 70% of combined work of care for the baby #1 who is turning 1-year old and household chores. We do have a strict NO smoking rule, no smoking inside nor outside. The main goals of baby care will be on safety, hygiene, positive interactions, and creative play. Plus helping the host mom on baby lifting if she must obey weight restrictions. We do need some help on dusting, vacuuming, mopping, but our own laundry and bathroom won't be your duty. We are planning to break work day on-duty hours into 3-3-1 intervals, so that the au pair can take a break to refresh themselves and do personal things in between. And that makes a weekly total of 35 on-duty hours, plus 5 ad-hoc hours, that will be a total of 35-40 working hours a week. We won't overwork you, we want to build a fair and close relationship. We can discuss further in our meetings.

Host mom does almost all the cooking, so you won't be cooking for us, you will mainly prepare the food for yourself. However, we can always cook or bake together for fun.

Sometimes we may have some fun work together like wall painting, shopping, setting up smart devices with us. We do love to visit nearby attractions, so you will participate in the research and we can plan for fun trips together. If you are old enough, we may plan a trip to Napa Valley.

Fremont is quite flat and developed, and the city has recently added brand new bike lanes around our neighborhood, so we will provide a bike (and of course safety accessories) for your own errands. One of our Airbnb guests was a travelling nurse and she actually biked to the hospital downtown. We can arrange for car driving but it will depend on if you can get the California driver's license and if we can add you to the insurance. We will provide a wireless plan, for your convenience and easy communication among us.

Total cost to hire a local nanny vs. an au pair is actually comparable, majorly due to program fees and living cost. We are not looking for a mere substitute for nanny or cleaning services. We hope to embrace you in the family, you eat quality produce like us, you enjoy local trips like us. We hope you can bring in what you value the most of yourself, and be the big sister or brother to our baby, like we used to be. We can share our experiences as seasoned immigrants to the US, our work, our passion and hobbies, our thoughts on reading, etc. Most recently we were reading on psychology and a bit on sociology and philosophy, which truly benefited us a lot.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home Chinese, English

Religion Buddhist

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Director / Unemployed

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender Male 1-year old

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 900 USD

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Mar 2022

Latest Starting Date Sep 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level University

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 20-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

This is a typical mid-century style 3 bed 2 bath single family house in a residential neighborhood. You will have a private bedroom, and a semi-private bathroom at the hallway (otherwise only used for baby bathing and rarely by other daytime visitors).

Please understand living costs are extremely high in the Bay Area, and we have to save for a modest home here instead of an American McMansion somewhere else. We are here for the unique culture and opportunities that the Bay Area and Silicon Valley can offer, one of the top places that attract global talents.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »