Family ID: 1275734

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Gijon / Town | More ⇩

Name Melissa

State Asturias

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2020 - Feb 2020

Time of stay: 7-9 months

Last action: 9 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
27
Profile Visited by 27 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear future au pair:
Thank you for taking the time to visit our family's profile. We are a young family which thinks languages and travel are very important. I (mom) am Canadian and speak English with the kids and Carlos (dad) is Spanish. We met while we were living in Germany and that's why we want German to be the 3rd language introduced to our children. They don't watch very much TV but we try to put the show in German for them if possible.

We live in a medium-sized, coastal town in the north of Spain and love going for walks along the shoreline when the weather is nice. Although we don't practise any water sports, there are lots available in the area such as windsurfing, surfing, paddle boarding and kayaking. (When Carlos was around 16 years old he was a windsurf instructor.) Of course just going to the beach and relaxing is always nice too!
We're excited to show you around our city and take you to all our favourite restaurants. I would also be more than happy to share things with you about my country, Canada. We look forward to hearing more about you!
More ⇩

Job Description

We are looking for someone to be a big sister to our two little ones and an extension of our family. As well as providing a cultural experience for you, we are looking for childcare support. We think having an au pair is a unique opportunity to not only provide our kids with a new experience but also to provide you with the chance to experience our city and the Spanish language and culture. We got our first au pair this past summer and it has been a very positive experience.
Carlos's schedule is unpredictable and isn't the same every day (one week he might be working from home all week and the next he might be away travelling). We would always do our best to make sure that you could attend your language lessons.
My teaching schedule is fixed and not very flexible which means that your working hours will be the same as mine (afternoons and evenings).
We would need you to pick up Adriana from the bus stop and give the kids their afternoon snack. Adriana has an after school activity on Tuesdays and Thursdays where she needs to be dropped off. Most days we would need you to give the kids their baths and dinner.

Light house duties would include:
-tidying up after the activities you do with the kids (putting toys/crafts/baking supplies away)
-doing your own laundry IF you don't want it included in the family's regular laundry
-washing up the dishes after a meal or snack you have with the kids
-warming up the dinner for the kids (in general we would have meals already planned and it would just require heating but in some cases we might ask you to fry an egg or a piece of meat so it's fresh)
-chopping up fruit for snack time (Ruben is still quite young and therefore requires that some fruit be cut into smaller pieces)
-keeping your room clean and tidy
- put "Connie" (our robotic vacuum cleaner) to work. If one day you notice that the floor in the kids' room is a bit dirty, you could play with the kids in the living room and put the vacuum cleaner on in their room.

We are a really open minded and fun-loving family. We have been known to do spontaneous things such as book a trip to Canada two days before leaving or pack up and say "ok, today we're going to have a picnic lunch in the mountains".
I worked as an au pair for a year in Germany so I have had the au pair experience and I know how exciting and beneficial it can be. I will take my experience and use it to help make your stay with us as pleasant as possible!


Thanks for taking the time to look at our profile.
Please contact us if you have any questions!
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Spanish

Languages spoken at home English, Spanish

Religion No Religion

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Teacher

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender Girl - 4 years old
Boy - 2.5 years old

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2020

Latest Starting Date Feb 2020

Duration of Stay 7-9 months

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Austrian, German, Liechtensteinian, Swiss

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money (per month) 280 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? No

Required Age 18-25

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our flat is on the fifteenth floor of the building with wonderful views of the sea. In fact, our spare room which would be yours while you stay here, has one of the best views in the house! The room is approximately 10m2 and has one good sized window. We have two bathrooms that you would share with the family. The children share the largest bedroom of the house and Carlos and I are in the 3rd bedroom. We have a nice, eat-in kitchen and a good sized living room with a balcony which we use often in the summer.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Spain: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Spain: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in Spain: requirements and the process

Read More »