Family ID: 2609634

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Halle / Big City | More ⇩

Name Mai

State Saxony-Anhalt

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Jul 2023 - Sep 2023

Time of stay: 6-12 Months

Last action: 50 minutes ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 5 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 288 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Are you interested in au pairing with a diverse family in a beautiful old city in Germany? Your role will be to take care of Lucas (3 years old), so that Mom can take care of Nadine (1 year old). Dad works full-time while Mom is at home. We are looking for an au pair because we don't have family nearby who can help us with the kids. We speak English at home.

We hope to have a warm relationship which also respects your privacy. The au pair relationship is about balancing family warmth with professional respect.

We live in Halle, a medium-sized city (250,000 people) with an economy based around a university, airport, and the chemical industry. The cityhas beautiful architecture and a large university. The Halle/Leipzig region has many students and artists. Halle has relatively good weather which is dry in the summer and not too cold in the winter. People here are more patient than in the big tourist centres. Halle is small enough to be walkable but it's also big enough that you rarely need to leave. We both grew up in much larger cities and feel comfortable here.
More ⇩

Job Description

The main responsibility will be getting Lucas from the daycare and watching him Monday to Friday evenings. You will pick him up from daycare in the afternoon and mind him and Nadine while Mom gets dinner prepared and served. Afterwards play some more while we tidy the house, and then help Lucas get prepared for bed. On weekends you would watch Lucas while the parents run errands and take care of the household. Dad travels for work so we would ask you to help more when he is away, in exchange for time off when he is in town. If you like grocery shopping or cooking, you could do this some of the time instead.

We have a cleaner who takes care of the bathrooms, kitchen and floors once a week.

As we have small children, we want an au pair who has some experience with small children.

Mom and Dad are triply vaccinated against Covid-19, and everyone in the family has been infected at least once. We prefer an au pair who is vaccinated.

We can only host an au pair from an EU/EFTA country.

Workweek 30 hours per week, at least 1 day off per week, 4 weeks holiday per year employment
Travel costs
Total pocket money of 450€/month
Cost of monthly train ticket to your language course
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Japanese

Languages spoken at home English, German, Japanese

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Engineer / Housewife

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 2 Year male
10 Month female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 450 EUR

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jul 2023

Latest Starting Date Sep 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 10-50

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Andorran, Austrian, Belgian, Bulgarian, Croatian, Cypriots, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, Greek, Hungarian, Icelandic, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Luxembourgian, Martiniquais, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Swiss

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)
- or -
 German, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Mom (Mai) is Japanese and is staying home with the children. She speaks Japanese as her first language and with the children, English well and German somewhat well. Dad (Thomas) is an American who works at a chemical company. He speaks English as his first language and with the children, and German well. His job is intensive and requires travel. Mom and Dad speak English with each other. We are searching for an au pair who will enjoy and feel comfortable in this environment. We have both lived outside of our home countries and we know well how challenging it is. We are married and have been living in Europe for the last ten years; we are permanent residents of Germany, and have travelled extensively.

Mom's hobbies: classical music, cooking, going for walks
Dad’s hobbies: fencing, cycling, going for walks, history and culture
More ⇩


We live in a 105 m2 flat which occupies the entire second floor of an historic building (1900). We can offer a 15 m2 room with a balcony exclusively for your use, as well as a full bathroom. The location, building, and neighbors are all superb.

Across the street from our home is the Stadtpark, which has space for basketball, beach volleyball, a small soccer field, and a large playground. In addition, we are a 10 minute bike or tram ride to the river, which has a large park. A bicycle is available for your use.

We live in the historic city center of Halle and you can reach everything in the town by walking or biking. If you want to visit somewhere larger, we are walking distance to the train station with trains to Leipzig in 23 minutes and Berlin in 75 minutes. Leipzig is hot: "cooler than Berlin and trendier than Munich". We have a family car, but driving won't be necessary. Language schools are available in Halle or Leipzig.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Germany - program information

Read More »
Visa regulations for the Au Pair program in Germany

Read More »
Au Pair in Germany: requirements for EU and Non-EU citizens

Read More »