Family ID: 1881368

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Haywards Heath / Town | More ⇩

Name Phoebe

State West Sussex

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2021 - Oct 2021

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 7 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
12
Profile added to the favorite list of 12 candidates in the last 3 weeks
115
Profile Visited by 115 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
74%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello future au pair! We are a lively family of 4 with our two boys, Rufus (5) and Hamish (3), looking for an au pair to join us in Lindfield, a village in West Sussex near Brighton for the full school year until July 2022.

We’re looking for someone outgoing, sociable, active, confident and caring with our children. A basic level of English is fine, as long as you commit to attending language classes during your stay.

We are a first time host family, so if you have lived away from home and/or abroad before, then we want to hear from you – we need someone reliable, resourceful and independent who can be flexible with us as well as your own development. We have travelled a lot and lived abroad before so know that being away from home can be challenging, but very rewarding at the same time – we’d love to share that journey with you.

We look forward to meeting you!
More ⇩

Job Description

We need help mainly with school / preschool drop off and pick up and school holiday care for the boys. I am returning to work (4 days a week) after a career break and Guy already works full time. We both work from home on a regular basis.

Schedule:

Monday - Friday: up at 7am, make the children breakfast at 7.30am, get them dressed, make Hamish’s packed lunch & walk them both to school by 8.40am/ preschool by 9am.
9.30am-2.30pm – light housework (see below) when required, otherwise free time
2.30pm – leave (walk) to pick up both children - this takes 1 hour round trip as car parking is not easy
3.30-5pm – back home to play / homework / cook tea
5pm – children’s tea
6pm – reading / playing
6.45pm – bathtime
7.30pm – bedtime (one parent is expecting to be home by 7.30pm every night but we may require babysitting beyond that time occasionally)

Tasks
Housework:
Children’s laundry (washing machine/dryer)– this needs doing every couple of days.
Washing up, and fill & empty dishwasher after children’s and your own meals.
Tidying toys & making the children’s beds.
Receiving home delivery of groceries.

We have a regular cleaner so no other cleaning will be required. You are expected to leave your own room tidy enough for the cleaner to access it when needed.

Babysitting – occasional – this will be mostly at weekends, we will pay you extra for this on arrangement with you.

Holiday care: you will be looking after the children during school holidays (except when you have holiday arranged with us e.g. at Christmas / Easter). The school holidays are usually 1 week in October, 2 weeks at Christmas, 1 week in February, 2 weeks in April and 6 weeks in July/August.

Outdoor activities & fresh air on a daily basis are essential for the boys, this may be walking to/from school, playground visits, walks / bicycles / scooters, or time spent in the garden at home. There is also the local leisure centre for swimming, soft play and other activities.

Pocket Money
We offer £85-£100 per week pocket money depending on experience and length of your stay. For stays longer than 6 months we offer £120 per week. Expenses relating to childcare e.g. activities, snacks etc. will be reimbursed.

In addition we cover:
Language classes – up to £35 per month, classes are available within walking distance of our house.

Travel – we will pay up to £40 per month towards travel expenses e.g. a rail pass.

Free WiFI internet, and access to TV channels including Netflix, Prime, Disney plus, Sky Movies & Sports. Access to a printer is also available.

Paid holiday: you will be entitled to 1 week of paid holiday every 3 months, or 2 days every month. Ideally this should be taken during school holidays when we are likely to take our own annual leave; we will need at least 2 weeks’ notice for any holiday days.

Other things to know:

Meals – when/if either of us are at home for an evening meal, we expect to cook & share the meal with our au pair. After the evening meal, we need our own time together so you are free to relax as you wish. As the children will be sleeping after 7.30pm, and your room is adjoining theirs, please no loud music or phone calls after 8pm.

We have no food or other allergies, and no pets. We are happy to accommodate a vegetarian au pair although we all eat meat regularly and expect the children’s meals to be nutritious and balanced. Our children are not fussy eaters but may need encouragement to try new things!

You will have full access to our kitchen (includes gas hob, oven, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge/freezer) to make your own meals, e.g. at weekends, if you prefer.

Weekends – these are your own free time to relax / explore the local area, but you are welcome to join us for occasional family outings / meals. We expect you to be home by 11pm every night unless you are away by prior arrangement with us, giving at least 24 hours’ notice, on an occasional basis. Only you be allowed access to our house, we do not accept social visitors overnight or otherwise.

Car – we do not require you to have a driving licence as the school/preschool drop off and pick up will be on foot - there is very limited parking at both venues so driving is not recommended! However, if you do drive, access to a car will be available for taking the children out during school holidays where necessary. The car will not be available for personal use. We will need advance notice if you need to use the car, to add you to our insurance policy.

Swimming – you must know how to swim as we have a swimming pool (open May-September). Personal use of the pool in your free time is fine.

TV – children’s TV is limited to early mornings (before breakfast) and 1 hour after school; we don’t allow TV after their evening meal.

Au pair insurance: you must arrange your own insurance for your stay, to cover health, travel, & accident liability. We will need to see details of this before you arrive.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Lawyer / Consultant

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 5 year old boy
3 year old boy

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 340 GBP

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2021

Latest Starting Date Oct 2021

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Argentinean, Australian, Canadian, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, German, Hungarian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Slovak, Slovenian, Swedish

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level Secondary school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes - share

Required Age 22-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Both Guy and I work from home 50% of the time, so during the day it’s likely one of us would be at home. When we’re not working at home, we’re in the office in London which is about 1 hour away on the train.

Rufus and Hamish will both be at school/preschool 5 days a week.

Our house: we live in a spacious 5 bedroom house with a large garden, swimming pool, slide, outdoor equipment and games. Our au pair will have their own separate bedroom with a double bed, TV, desk, & wardrobe. They will share access to a separate bathroom with the children (Guy & I have our own). The bathroom has a walk in shower and separate bath.
The children share their bedroom, as we use the other bedrooms as home offices / guest room.

Our region
Lindfield is a large busy village with a lovely high street containing cafes, shops, a post office, playgrounds and pubs/restaurants. Our house is a 15 minute walk from Lindfield village centre.

Our house is also a 12 min walk from Haywards Heath railway station, which is on the main line to Brighton (20 minutes) / London (50 minutes) / Gatwick Airport (10 minutes).

You can also walk (25 mins) into the local town Haywards Heath, which has a bigger selection of shops, restaurants and bars, and a leisure centre with gym and swimming pool.

Around Lindfield, there are lots of local walks in the beautiful countryside. We are near the South Downs and Ashdown Forest (accessible by car) as well as the beach at Brighton / Lancing / Shoreham which you can access by train from Haywards Heath station.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »