Family ID: 2058912

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Hyde Park / Big City | More ⇩

Name Charlye Rach

State Massachusetts

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Jul 2023 - Sep 2023

Time of stay: 6-24 Months

Last action: 19 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 76 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 819 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello! We can't wait to meet you!

We live some of the year in the lovely city of Boston. We are right next to a train station and a park. In 15 mins you can be in downtown Boston or at BlueHills ski slopes and any number of city centers + shopping areas. When in the USA, we often visit my family in the Catskills New York and when it's warm we spend a few weeks in a summer home in Bar harbor Maine.

The other part of the year we live in a beautiful, safe and bustling area in the best part of Medellín Colombia. It is a tropical paradise, that has the nickname "the city of eternal spring" because it is always around 70f/22c degrees, it is the greenest metropolis you will ever find and sits at the bottom of a bowl shaped valley so the views are incredible. The best part however is the people, the locals are incredibly kind. Medellín has a very friendly, warm culture, something that is hard to find in big, developed cities. It is also home to the best hospitals in South American and one of the more innovative, entrepreneurial and creative cities around.

We are looking to bring some one into our family and on our travels to help our son acquire Mandarin or upkeep German. We have chosen to have au pairs because we want Zebi to have one-on
-one time with the languages and bond with the speaker. When Zebi is not around, we would be more than happy to help the au pair learn and practice either language we speak at home; English and German, or the language spoken in Medellín - Spanish.

We live a very calm and happy life and enjoy a healthy lifestyle. We hope our au pair will also be happy sharing our home and family with us and enjoy the uniqueness of our situation:)
More ⇩

Job Description

Zebi is a delight:) At his age childcare is centered around play mostly, and that is what we ask of his caretakers. Play, dance, create, eat, listen to music, read, etc and just enjoy being a family.

We are looking for someone creative, talkative, flexible and loving to spend time speaking only in Mandarin or German with Zebi. Their job is to expose him to the language via playing, reading, and doing activities and general daily life tasks together as well as to enable us to work productively from home, attend our own activities, and to enjoy a date night here and there:)

Besides just being a companion to Zebi, we will want help finding toys, books and learning tools to use to keep things relevant and fun in your native language. We also do outings (parks, museums, etc) and excursions in the city with Zebi and would want our au pair to join us. They could even suggest things they are interested in to add to the roster!

Our main objective in any situation is to have our Au pairs communicate excessively with Zebi and to only communicate with him in their native language even around people who don't understand it. He has been exposed to each language since birth so he is learning them like any other child learns their first language, with consistent, abundant, loving exposure in the form of play, care and daily life. We do ask the au pairs to learn a bit about and to practice Montessori and gentle parenting methods as this is our approach and we want consistency in these areas.

Au pair should expect to have 20-30 hours a week and to act as a contributing, respectful and involved member of the household outside of 'working' hours. Some of those hours you will be on your own with Zebi but many will be with other adults around, like his father and I, or his grandparents. Helping with feeding, cleaning up, normal hygiene and day to day things are of course also part of the role.

Lastly, we want our au-pairs to have their own interests and enjoy their time when they aren't helping with Zebi, and we want them to feel fulfilled and happy in our home. We are understanding, kind and flexible and expect the same in return. This is a relationship that should be equally rewarding and beneficial for everyone.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, German, Spanish

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Self employed / Self employed

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 2 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 1000 USD

Salary of Nanny 1000 USD

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 6-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jul 2023

Latest Starting Date Sep 2023

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Chinese, German, Singaporean, Taiwanese

Language Skills
 Chinese, Minimum Native Language

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Possibly

Required Age 20-50

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

We are an active family but also like to hang out at home and play board games, watch comedies, or swim in the pool. We met dancing as we were once professional dancers and now we just do it for fun. We now work for ourselves in the real estate industry, which we can do for the most part from anywhere. This is how we can travel like we do and bring our au-pair/s with us. We also help to get any visas needed.

We are a multilingual, multicultural family. Zebi's father is Dominican and his family speaks Spanish with Zebi, while I speak German with him as I learned it while living abroad as a teen. My family speaks English with him and he has always either attended a Mandarin speaking school or had a Mandarin speaking au-pair so this is a language he speaks and understands as well. Why so many languages? Why not!? It has been nothing but a fun and fascinating journey, to be honest:)

We are not your common family but we think this is to the benefit of those that share our home with us. We prioritize happiness and enjoy an incredible amount of flexibility in how we achieve that, which we also extend to our au pairs.
More ⇩


Aupairs have their own room and bathroom inside our house.

They have access to our laundry area and we are open to letting them borrow the car as well if needed, although we do live a block away from a train station and in Medellín the public transport is wildly cheap and abundant.

Our fridge is your fridge, when we eat together you are always invited to join, when we order in you are always asked what you want, you are part of the family. Truly.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »
We use cookies to offer you the best possible website experience. This includes cookies which are necessary for the operation of the website, cookies which are used solely for anonymous statistical purposes or to get better website settings. You are free to decide which categories you would like to allow. For further information see our Privacy policy Accept all Confirm selection