Family ID: 2534385

Need assistance and support in:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Iver / Town | More ⇩

Name António

State Buckinghamshire

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Feb 2023 - Apr 2023

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 20 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
14
Profile added to the favorite list of 14 candidates in the last 3 weeks
144
Profile Visited by 144 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
50%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair,

Welcome to this profile and hopefully soon to our Family!

I am António and I look after my elderly Mother, Anabela (69yo), in addition to my full time job.

In August 2021 my Mother had a stroke that left her with some memory loss and physical issues. This meant she cannot live on her own and I decided to take her in to live with me (as for the great Mother she's always been, she doesn't deserve to end up in a care home).

I would like to continue to offer my Mother the conditions she's had so far, however, it's getting a little complicated with combining my normal job and my Mother's care, for which we would very much welcome an additional pair of safe hands.

My Mother is still relatively independent and is mostly in need of company, some good conversation and someone who prepares or heats up food when it's time to eat.

London (city centre) is about 60 minutes away, as Iver is on the Elizabeth Line (tube)!
More ⇩

Job Description

The main focus is keeping my Mother company and ensuring that she gets her meals and medicines at the appropriate times, whenever I am not in the house. So far my employer has been very kind in allowing me to work from home full time, but there's an upcoming requirement to work two to three days in the office.

General help in the household (hoovering/cleaning/maybe washing of clothes) would be welcome, too. The house is of good size for three people (but it's just the two of us at the moment), however, between my regular full time job and taking care of my Mother, I do not manage to get to everything that should be dealt with. As my Mother just needs to have the feeling that there's someone in the house, close-by to help if needed, this could be done on the days that I am not around, freeing up the rest of the week for the Au Pair.

There could be an element of needing the Au Pair for a few hours while I try and see friends for maybe a dinner - my social life has been non-existent since Covid, followed by my Mother's stroke and looking after her ever since.

Once a month there could be a need for a weekend of keeping my Mother company 'around the clock'. But this will depend on many factors and what the Au Pair may be prepared to do in good agreement and once we all get to know each other better.

Note: except for my bedroom and bathroom, all parts of the house have Ring cameras, for the purposes of monitoring my Mother when I am in my work room or out for groceries shopping. However, in the future it will serve to monitor all interaction in the house. The prospect candidate would need to be comfortable with this. No cameras are in what's proposed to be the accommodation for the Au Pair, see Accommodation description below.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Age group of elderly/senior 55+

Does elderly/senior live alone? No, it's a couple or more people in the household

Nationality Portuguese

Languages spoken at home Dutch, English, Portuguese, Spanish

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Retired / Management

People living in the house 2

Age and gender of elderly/senior 69 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Home share with elderly (per month) 600 GBP

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2023

Latest Starting Date Apr 2023

Looking for Home share with elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities Dutch, Portuguese, Angolan, Brazilian, Cape Verdean, Mozambican, Spanish

Language Skills
 Portuguese, Minimum Beginner (A1)
- or -
 Spanish, Minimum Beginner (A1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? -

Required Age 18-75

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Mother/elderly person: Anabela. Used to be a very active person in terms of work, however, her health always played some tricks in and with her life, with lastly a stroke. She can be very funny still when she's confident of the company she's in. She's got a very sweet character and absolutely still tries to do her part (even if physically it's not always possible for her anymore) in life.

Son/owner of the house: António (41yo). I work full time and since August 2021 take care of my Mother full time as well. I have a good sense of humour (I hope), even if sometimes a tad on the 'dark side'. I 'take life as it comes' and like to work in terms of 'practical solutions'.
More ⇩

Accommodation

The property has a main house, where my Mother and I live, and also a 'granny annex' in the garden. The Au Pair's accommodation would be in the Annex. The Annex is 4.21m x 7.96m (33m2), has a bedroom (double bed) with wardrobe, a wet room (shower/toilet/basin), a kitchenette (fridge/washing machine/electric hob) with open plan mini living/dining room) and is heated electrically (under floor heating). It's completely self contained. Again: no cameras in this part of the property.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »