Family ID: 1098142

Children:: 1 Children:, 1 - 5 years old

City: Jonesborough / Countryside More ⇩

Name Linda

State Tennessee

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jun 2019 - Dec 2019

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 11 Jun 2019

4 35 0%

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us! If you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair,

We are the family. We live in a rural area of Eastern Tennessee in the U.S.A. We are in our mid 30's with a daughter who is just shy of 2 years old. We are hoping to find an Au Pair who is easy to be around and willing to try different things, to grow as a person through new experiences. We would love to include you in our activities and travels when appropriate because you would be part of our family. You are someone who should feel comfortable and be themselves. You are someone we are trusting to earn the affection of our daughter while you teach her.

We live in the countryside. We can literally see SHEEP and CATTLE as we write this. The sound of birds chirping; not cars, wake us in the morning. Things are peaceful and a bit slower around here. I was raised in Houston, TX and this is a welcome change. Luckily, we are only an hour away from Asheville, North Carolina and 1.5 hours away from Knoxville, Tennessee. There is a local scene for comedy, drinks and performances but for larger forms of entertainment you would drive to Asheville using a family vehicle after we show you the route. Our area is known for its Moonshine and morning fog in the mountains. They call it the Smokey Mountains for a reason :)

In terms of expectations, we are looking for you to teach our toddler age appropriate concepts such as shapes, colors, numbers, and animals through activities. Beyond that, we want you to accompany and keep our daughter safe as she explores the house and enjoys life like a toddler should. We hope the Au Pair will adjust their techniques to what works for our daughter. We expect our daughter to be encouraged to explore and remain inquisitive instead of being discouraged and forced to be afraid of unfamiliar things.

We value education, fitness and creativity as a family. We have 3 bachelors and a M.D. We also value self-improvement and discovery. Whatever your reasons for becoming an Au Pair, we hope you would take this opportunity to seek some sort of improvement and return home more than just a year older. Some never get such an opportunity.

As a family and extended family, we are culturally diverse, just like the U.S.A. We have family members from the Philippines, Laos, Vietnam, Ireland, West/Central Africa. All Americans. There are redheads, afros, straight black hair and curly blonds. We spend time with all of these family members a few times during the year. We have several different faiths and lack thereof. We accept all people and judge them on the content of their character. A good person is a good person.

We are naturally inquisitive. We would love to learn about your culture, food, and traditions. My husband in particular loves to hear about all things different than himself. We even hope to learn to cook dishes from your culture as well as discover the music. So, we hope you feel comfortable sharing it with us. We have several cultures that we could share with you.

We also love music. You will usually here salsa, bachata, merengue, reggae, old school R&B, all things ‘80s and a few contemporary pop songs in our house. Being from Houston, I would compete in talent shows and always salsa dance. My husband only has a good two step and head bob but luckily my daughter is taking more after me :)

Thank you for reading this and if you are a person who understands what we are asking above and willing to enjoy yourself while guiding our daughter in the direction we mentioned then we hope to hear from you. We look forward to having you as part of our family. If we are not the family for you then we still wish you the best of luck and remember that tomorrow is always a new day, so embrace it and enjoy it.


-Linda and Chance
More ⇩

Job Description

We are seeking an Au Pair to teach our toddler age appropriate concepts such as shapes, colors, numbers, and animals through activities. Beyond that, we want you to accompany and keep our daughter safe as she explores the house and enjoys life like a toddler should. We want you to feel as you are part of our family and join us in relaxing or on vacation. We would like to be your extended family and would love to learn about your culture as well.

The U.S. State Department requires an Au Pair to be between 18 and 26 years old and be "infant Qualified" to work with children under 2 years of age. So we must find someone that has the extra infant qualification. We have met some amazing people here but they unfortunately could not achieve the U.S. requirements.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Buddhist

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Physician

People living in the house 3

Children's/People's age and gender 1.5 year old female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jun 2019

Latest Starting Date Dec 2019

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

Required Education Level No preferences

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money (per month) 800 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 24-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us! If you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Large room with California king bed, 2 closets, desk, computer/laptop, TV, internet, unattached bathroom. Room is on top floor of 3 level home. Home gym set up in garage area. Outside pool and deck.

USA

Many Au Pairs choose the USA to experience the American way of life. Find out about a fast, safe and legal J-1 Visa program and the requirements in the USA.

Read More

Au Pair in USA: J1-visa information

Find out the requirements for the J-1 visa for Au Pairs going to the USA. Read more about the process and the documents needed for the application.

Read More

How to become an Au Pair in the USA

Read about the Au Pair requirements in the USA: profile, language requirements, skills and step by step guide for starting your experience in America.

Read More

AuPair.com

Tel: +49 221 310 61 840
Office hours: Mo-Fr 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM CET
USA: (800) 641-3527 - 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST
Fax: +49 (0) 221 921 3049
Email: info@aupair.com
Contact us