Family ID: 2186688

Children: 4 Children, 0 - 1 year old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

City: Kopavogur / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Jonas

State

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jul 2022 - Sep 2022

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 1 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
6
Profile added to the favorite list of 6 candidates in the last 3 weeks
120
Profile Visited by 120 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
7%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Come happy and blessed (nice to meet you),

We are an energetic family of six living in a nice large house in the capital area of Reykjavik, looking for assistance taking care of our beautiful three boys who have all started school and our one year old princess. We have traveled alot and lived e.g. in New Zealand with our thee boys when we took them on a world around tour. This autumn both parents will start working full time again and we need assistance with keeping up the household, picking up the kids and taking care of our young princess.

We would love to show you around Iceland and travel to our second home with you which is next to the volcano Mt Hekla were you would have your own small cabin. We are also very interested in getting to know you and bring your culture and hobbies into our daily lives as part of our family for your adventure and work in Iceland. We would love a push towards more daily activities and are custom as a family to work together towards a happy and fun future. :)
More ⇩

Job Description

Magnea works on shifts and hence this depends on her schedule while Jonas works a regular desk office hours. On average during weekdays she needs 12-19 days within a six week interval assistance. During parts of those days we would be talking about taking care of Sara for the whole day while Jonas is at work. But such arrangement requires a great experience with children!

Besides this here is our daily routine:

Daily (monday-friday):
From 7:30-9:30 (2 hours) your responsibilty would be to make sure the children eat breakfast, take lunch with them and assist the boys to school before 8:10. When back home to clean after breakfast, clean the kitchen and house, take care of laundry. Vacuum etc but no heavy work. About an hour per day would be enough for such home cleaning activities.

From 15:30-19:30 (4 hours) your responsibily is to pick up Kari from school on the way back either walking or by bike april-november and during winter sometimes go by car (maybe he will just walk himself). Drive Atli sometimes to the trompet lesson twice a week when we can't. Prepare and cook dinner and clean after dinner when we can't or need assistance. Making sure the house is in order before the shift ends. Sometimes Jonas and Magnea assist and sometimes not depending on the situation. They may have to go to an exercise or some activity or work longer. Some days would be free or partly free if Magnea is not working. Jonas might also have to travel for a few days and then you would have to cover the home duties those days Magnea is working.

Between 9:30-15:30 and again 18:30-7:30 you would have the upper floor of the house for yourself with your own bathroom, small kitchen and a private room. The living room upstairs would be available for the kids after school and during weekends at daytime. Your private room upstairs however would always be private.

During weekends we would occasionally need assistance and some evenings in the week. This would be compensated by omitting duties during daytime those days that Magnea is not working which is often. Somehow find a balance there between. But hopefully we would find nice activities for everyone and hence not consider it as work but a fun adventure together if you would like to participate.

Some weekends and holidays (every 2-3 weeks) we go to our second home in the countryside. If you would accompany us to the country side you would have your own small cabin. It is a beautiful area with a stream running through, 5 hectars. Close to the volcano Mt. Hekla. We have a
jacuzzi there also, a sauna and are renting out one cabin there on airbnb. Very popular by tourists from all around the world. Your duties there would be to take care of the laundry, clean the houses and be with the children. But again here we would find a balance. We simply have many chores and just need more hands to do the job! :)

We also own an offroad camper trailer and a tent. If you would go with us on a camping trip you would have your own tent. We all like to travel and would very much enjoy showing you around Iceland. So we would definately show you around Iceland and parts that tourists never reach since we have a big truck on 33 inch weels to go into the highlands.

We own two cars. A Toyota Land Cruiser (2018) which is a seven seater and a Mitsubishi Outlander (2017). When going to the countryside we would most likely go together in the Cruiser.

Jonas will enlarge the cabin 2022-2023 by 40 sqm and hence Magnea is likely to need some assistance in the countryside sometime 2022-2023.

If we have an experienced candidate we could consider you to have free days but when both parents would be working you would have Sara for the whole day in addition to other responsibility. This setup requires great care and knowledge+experience so we can trust you with our precious princess and the boys.

So the above description is summing up what we are hoping for and need. We would however consider what you can and can't do and find an agreement that both are happy with so to make this fun and nice for all. We have plenty of room and stuff. We simply need someone enjoyable to experience our adventures with us and share the work load. :)
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Icelandic

Languages spoken at home Icelandic

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Engineer / Geologist

People living in the house 6

Children's/people's age and gender 8 Month female
6 Year male
9 Year male
11 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money of Au Pair 120 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jul 2022

Latest Starting Date Sep 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 4

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 19-25

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses No

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You would off hours have your own appartment, 55sqm or so with your private bathroom or the whole second floor of the house.

We own a beautiful large house (255 sqm) in the capital area of Reykjavik (30 minutes by bus to city center). The house has a beautiful garden and views over lake Ellidavatn and Heidmork Forrest (1200 sqm land) with a nice football field and a jacuzzi. We have a seperate appartment on the second floor with a seperate bathroom and small kitchen with a fridge, microven, 50 inch flat screen TV and a sofa with a Playstation 4 connected to Netflix and Disney+. Your private room would have its own TV, mirror, large double bed, wardrobes and a small sofa.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Iceland: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: requirements and the process

Read More »
Au Pair in Iceland: salary, holidays and more

Read More »