Family ID: 2290600

Children: 2 Children, 6 - 10 years old

Need Tutor for: Sport

Can engage the kids in: Homework Assistance, Art & Craft

City: Leonardtown / Town | More ⇩

Name Sarah

State

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Oct 2022 - Jan 2023

Time of stay: 12-24 Months

Last action: 1 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
156
Profile Visited by 156 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hi!

We need a native Mandarin speaking au pair and prefer limited English skills. A2 level is okay if you can write enough to pass for the J1 visa. My daughter speaks Mandarin, but won't use it if you speak too much English. If you speak English at the B1 or B2 level, it is better not to let her know your English is so good. We can only host Mandarin speakers from Taiwan or Singapore.

My daughter and I have lived many places in the world. We previously hosted a Taiwanese live-in tutor while living in South Korea. When she came to us, her English level was A1. It was not a problem. My daughter speaks some Mandarin and I speak basic Korean. The tutor and I spoke Korean in the beginning, but English later. Her English improved even though she only spoke Mandarin or Korean around my daughter.

We live in a town about 1.5 hours from Washington DC. You can walk or bike to all the places in town. We live in a large 5-bedroom house that has two sisters and their 4 children (2 9-year old girls and boys 13 & 17). The community pool is only a few houses away and we also paddleboard at the wharf in town. We enjoy cooking and being outside. My daughter loves to do arts & crafts and read, her cousins like to play video games. In the winter, we like to ski. My husband lives in the city. So we can visit the city on weekends. We often travel within the United States.

I am very friendly and outgoing. I lived outside the United States for more than half of my adult life, most of that in Asia. I learned a lot about the various Asian cultures and we often shop at the Asian market for foods we enjoyed while living in Asia. Mostly you will spend time with me, my sister is more private and introverted. My daughter is also very outgoing and friendly. She started to learn Mandarin when she was 2 years old. We lived in Hawaii until she was almost 6 years old, so she has a happy personality. She thinks Hawaii is "home" and her "best friend in the world" still lives there, so we try to take her there often.

I am writing simple English because we can accept someone with simple English skills. But, I have two MA degrees and a JD, and my sister is working on her MA. I have taught English to university students in Asia so I can help you improve your English. When we talk, I will find a Mandarin speaker to help us communicate well. It is important to be sure we are compatible.

I am traveling now so I don't have any current pictures available. All the pictures on the computer are from when my daughter was much younger. I added a picture of our Flat Stanley so we could have a picture in our profile. (You can find out about the Flat Stanley Project on Wikipedia.) He traveled with us one summer and had his picture taken many places. This was our hotel near the beach in San Diego.
More ⇩

Job Description

You must be eligible for a United States J1 visa. (Age 18-26). You will drive my daughter to and from school which could be up to 45 minutes driving time. Sometimes you will drive the other children to activities. Your main job will be speaking Mandarin with my daughter and helping her study Mandarin. We don't want her to forget Mandarin before we move back to Asia. This job will be more like a tutor and driver than a nanny. All the children are old enough to stay at the house alone so you won't be a babysitter. Even though the job description says 35-40 hours per week, hours may be less some weeks and there may be weeks when we are gone for part of the week.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Teacher / Librarian

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 9 Year female
8 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money of Au Pair, Live-in Tutor 800 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Oct 2022

Latest Starting Date Jan 2023

Looking for Au Pair and Live-in Tutor

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach Sport

How old are the students the Tutor should teach? Primary school (6-12)

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Singaporean, Taiwanese

Required Language Skills Poor

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? J1 au pair

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Private bedroom. Shared bathroom with only females. We can provide a cell phone line on our plan (but not a phone), but we have a basic plan so not much data. You would share my car for now, but I want to find another car too.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »