Family ID: 1596461

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: London / Town | More ⇩

Name Katherine

State Greater London

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2020 - Oct 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 12 Days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
23
Profile added to the favorite list of 23 candidates in the last 3 weeks
208
Profile Visited by 208 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
48%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!

We are a family of four - Katherine from Ireland, Ricardo from Cuba, Mila our daughter, aged 7 and Lope our son, age 1. Ricardo and I are both academics working at university (a scientist and a sociologist).

We are in the process of moving house to a university town called Reading. It is on the outskirts of London - 25 minutes by train to London city centre. But Reading itself is a lovely town with all the amenities you could need. The house is overlooking the river, just five minutes walking from the main train station. Trains can also easily be caught to Oxford, Bath and Bristol - so ideal for those who would like to see more of England.

We have two children. The older (Mila) will be going to school. The younger (Lope) will be at home all day. Given the pandemic and so on, Ricardo and I will also be at home for quite some time (at least until Christmas).

We are a 'pescatarian' family, though we largely eat a vegetarian diet (the kids are largely vegan as they do not like/have mild allergies to cow's milk). We never have meat in the house.

- We are looking for someone that can take care of Lope during the day from Monday - Friday, and pick up Mila from school Monday-Frdiay at 3pm (it's within walking distance of the house). Additionally, babysitting one evening a week (though in reality probably less often). We are offering £800 a month for this, in addition to board and food. We would like the au pair to start by September, ideally.

- I am Irish, but my husband is Cuban. The children are bilingual - you will hear us speak Spanish around them, but we can speak English with you as you prefer (or Spanish if you prefer to learn a new language!). I am actually a qualified TEFL teacher, but I don't give classes anymore. There are several English language schools within walking distance of the house.

- We have hosted people before, and we are happy to provide reviews. Likewise, we would ideally like an au pair who can provide reviews.

I was an au pair myself when I was younger (though only briefly) so I am very conscious about making sure you feel welcome and have a nice time with us.

If you have further questions, please get in touch.

Best wishes,

Katherine, Ricardo, Mila and Lope!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Irish

Languages spoken at home English, Spanish

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Educator / Educator

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender Boy - 1, Girl - 7

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2020

Latest Starting Date Oct 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair and Granny Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Spanish

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Pocket Money (per month) 800 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 21-60

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have wifi in the house. You will share a bathroom with the children.
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »