Family ID: 1650888

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals, Washing & Dressing

City: Ryde, Isle of Wight / Village | More ⇩

Name Edward

State Hampshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Nov 2020 - Dec 2020

Time of stay: >1 year

Last action: 7 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
7
Profile added to the favorite list of 7 candidates in the last 3 weeks
107
Profile Visited by 107 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
69%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hi there,

We're looking for a caregiver / companion for the elderly to live with my mum. She has a big, beautiful Victorian house right on the beach and with lovely views of the sea in Ryde on the Isle of Wight.

Three other people live in apartments in the building, Ray (handyman, long term tenant and my mum's "best friend"), and Gordon (long term tenant and accountant) both on the bottom floor and Eric (the gardener) on the top floor of the four floor building.
More ⇩

Job Description

We're looking for a kind female to live in and help take care of my mum (77) and be a companion to her.

She is in the early stages of dementia and often has trouble remembering, so someone organised and structured who can help remind her of dates and important things would be hugely helpful to her. She's generally ok looking after herself, though has become a little scared to cook and do other things for herself (mainly as she's afraid she'll mess something up / get stuck in the bath etc).

She's extremely keen to remain as independent as ever and would be able to do much more for herself if she knew she had the backup of someone there in an emergency.

She speaks excellent English and would love the opportunity to help someone improve their language skills, giving her some purpose in her life. The caregiver would have to have a basic grasp of English from the outset, however, as my mum does struggle sometimes with her hearing and understanding.

My sister has two children (Eddie 8 and Indie 5) who my mum used to look after often but, sadly, now is not able to. It would be great if whoever comes to look after her is able to help her have the kids again - they're extremely well behaved and would not be any trouble.

Mum is a kind woman who has lived independently and on her own since my parents divorced nearly 20 years ago. She's a strong character who has so far resisted help, but is now seeing that the need for it is inevitable and will allow her to do more of the things in life she enjoys.

She loves to do puzzles and play board games and enjoys short walks along the seafront (though her legs aren't as strong as they used to be).

She would love to have someone who she could go to a coffee shop with for a nice cup of tea and who could take her out to explore the island from time to time.

She used to love knitting, but has lost her enthusiasm for it in recent years. She always used to love to teach people how to knit.....so free lessons will always be available!!!
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Business owner / Business owner

People living in the house 1

Children's/people's age and gender 77

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Nov 2020

Latest Starting Date Dec 2020

Duration of Stay >1 year

Looking for Caregiver for elderly and Live in Help

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals, Washing & Dressing

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities Australian, Austrian, Belgian, British, Canadian, Danish, Dutch, English, Filipino, Finnish, Flemish, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Maltese, Portuguese, Spanish, Swiss, Welsh

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level High school

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money (per month) 900 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 18-65

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The caregiver would have their own independent studio flat to live in with private bathroom and kitchen and beautiful views over the sea. Though in the same building, the flat is on the second floor, separate from my mum's accommodation on the first floor, and so able to have more freedom than living directly in with her.

Though in a quiet area, the house is only a 5 minute walk from Ryde town centre where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants. It's also only a short walk to the hovercraft and catamaran to Portsmouth and the famous Gunwharf Quays shopping outlet for a day off the island.

The caregiver would have use of my mum's car (she can no longer drive) for both taking her to the shops etc and for personal use if needed.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »