Family ID: 3123662

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Cooking meals, Bathing & Dressing

City: Madison / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Royce

State Alabama

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Apr 2024 - Jun 2024

Time of stay: 12-12 Months

Last action: 4 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Added as favorite 2 time in the last 3 weeks
42
Profile Visited by 42 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Greetings potential Au Pair or Caregiver,

We are a married couple of 40 years. My name is Royce (male) and I am writing this greeting instead of my wife Huguette, because she has aphasia and does not speak. It is one of the symptoms of Alzheimer’s.

I am 80, in good health, a retired business owner, tech entrepreneur, and sales specialist. My wife, Huguette is 74 in June, and she is a retired BSN RN (Nurse with degree).

Huguette is a sweet lady who needs companionship, and help with dressing, undressing, showering, toileting, and eating.

I am her primary caregiver and we have a sitter who comes once a week for 4 hours to give me respite and allow me to do errands. But I need more help than that. I am not sure how to work out the hours, but we can experiment. I am a practical, savvy guy and I know that it is always best to design something then try it out, then tweek it until all parties are happy.

University of Alabama campus is within 3 miles of our home. There are two other schools also within 3 miles of our home. Calhoun Community College, and Drake State Community and Technical College. We live in a suburban environment near churches, government offices, and medical facilities, and shopping. There is a full service hospital 1.5 miles from our home. As to transportation, after we are sure it is a good fit, I would provide a car to you, which I would consider part of your compensation.

I don’t have time for hobbies because Huguette requires attention. If she is awake, she is usually talking to me and asking me questions (although I have to guess at what she wants).

Before Alzheimer’s (4 years ago), I spent my time cooking unique dishes, bike riding, and collecting movies. I read on average 2 books a month (heavy reading, not novels). But sadly, I don’t have time of my own to read anymore.
More ⇩

Job Description

The job of caregiver to a woman with Alzheimer's in mid-late stage requires a lot of patience and attention to her body language and tone, as she cannot make coherent verbal requests. The parts of her brain affected by Alzheimer's have to do with counting, sequencing, speech, and motor control. So you have to be the kind of person who is warn and sensitive, yet smart and able to think on your feet to read the situation quickly and sense what is needed, then do whatever is necessary. Creativity, sensitivity, and caring are a must.

Meal preparation would be shared. You would cook a couple of times a week, and I would cook. Sometimes we would get take-out.

Occasional shopping for groceries may in order.
More ⇩

Family Information

Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Age group of elderly/senior 55+

Does elderly/senior live alone? No, it's a couple or more people in the household

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Retired / Retired

People living in the house 2

Age and gender of elderly/senior 74 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Salary of Caregiver for elderly (per month) - USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Apr 2024

Latest Starting Date Jun 2024

Looking for Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Cooking meals, Bathing & Dressing

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Swedish, Swiss, Welsh

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Beginner (A1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? -

Required Age 18-32

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our home is a three bedroom 2 full bath home with a large back yard. You would have your own bedroom, and bathroom.
After a brief period, a car would be provided.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »