Family ID: 1557888

Children: 2 Children, 6 - 10 years old

City: Geneva / Big City | More ⇩

Name Lies

State Genève

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2021 - Sep 2021

Time of stay: >1 year

Last action: 9 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Profile added to the favorite list of 2 candidates in the last 3 weeks
139
Profile Visited by 139 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Please do not reply if you do not have Dutch or Belgian nationality and speak Dutch as your native language. Slight preference for Belgian au pair as they also master French usually :-)

My name is Liesbeth and I am a mother of two boys and I work as a diplomat. Hence me and the kids get to travel the globe and live in different places. We have lived in Tel Aviv, Havana, New York and Amsterdam (=home). As of August we will move from Amsterdam to Geneva, Switzerland for the next 3 years.

We are looking for an au pair to help out with the kids and be a part of our small family. My oldest son is 10 years old and my youngest is 6 years old. They will both go to an international school (Geneva English School) in the day time, but will need someone to take care of them after school and after extra curricular activities (at school) and when I am working.

Tasks will include helping them get ready for school in the morning, picking them up from school in the afternoon, play with them, organize play dates, help with home work, bath them and do some light household chores. We are especially looking for a Dutch speaking nanny to keep up the level of Dutch for the kids via conversations, read books with and to them and preferably instill a love for reading (and not have them watch screens to often :-). The kids will go to Dutch school once a week on Monday afternoon after school as well and for that reason (and other practical reasons) our nanny will need to have a driving license. We do not have a pets but love going to the zoo :-) and do stuff outdoors.

We love doing things out doors like walking, hiking, swimming, cycling, going to parks, exploring cities and the region and other neighboring countries. We will also occasionally drive back to NL during the year to see family (grand parents) for a week or long weekend and would love you to come with us when you can to help out with the driving and so you can visit your own family and friends as well.

If this profile suits you, please contact me and we can take it from there!
More ⇩

Job Description

Please do not reply if you do not have Dutch or Belgian nationality and speak Dutch as your native language.

The kids will go to school with the school bus in the mornings Monday to Friday until +/- 3pm and have after school activities at school until 5/5:30 pm. The youngest son is free on Wednesday's afternoon. Depending how things go he might stay over at school until end of day or might rather engage in a hobby or sport outside of school or have play dates or stay at home. We will have to figure that out still.

On Monday afternoons from 4-6 pm the boys will have Dutch language classes at another international school in Founex close to where we will be living and you as the au pair will be bringing the boys there and back (max 10 min drive). I usually get home around 6-7 and will eat with the family as much as I can except when there is work obligations in the evenings. For the evening meals we usually rely on HelloFresh recipes for a couple of times a week, so that will be easy. The recipe are in German however in Switzerland (!).

On Saturday mornings the boys will engage in field hockey at a club in Geneva as this is something they have enjoyed a lot lately. We would ask you as the au pair to help out with the commute (driving) to sports clubs and activities in the weekends when needed. In the weekends we will also engage in grocery shopping most probably with your help as well.

The au pair will be responsible for taking the kids to school and back, helping with homework and play, arranging play dates and after school activities, occasional grocery shopping and helping in the household but there will be enough time to attend language classes, have spare time with friends and or going to church. We will try and make this a great experience for both sides :-)

My oldest son has got a nut allergy but knows very well how to deal with it and we will explain all you need to know about it. The rest of the family still eats peanut butter :-) and other nut products and we are quite relaxed about his allergy but always cautious of course. The two boys also have a dust allergy so we have a clean household where we vacuum quite a bit. We are generally a very neat family and I like to kids to clean up (toys) behind them and help out in household chores (unpacking dishwasher, unpacking school bags, vacuum cleaning etc.). We all had COVID already last January - all well recuperated - and I have been vaccinated.

The au pair will engage in the tasks as described above. As said there will be some tasks during the day, but you will have a lot of time for yourself when the kids are at school to engage in making friends, explore Geneva or learn French or another language. There will be the occasional babysitting in the evenings and weekends, but all in consultation. Working hours, insurance and pocket money will be according to the rules that apply to nannies/au pairs in Vaud, Switzerland. The au pair will be off at least one full day per week and have 4 weeks of paid holidays.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality Dutch

Languages spoken at home Dutch, English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment diplomat / Government employee

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender Boys 5 and 9

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money (per month) 700 CHF

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay >1 year

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2021

Latest Starting Date Sep 2021

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 10-50

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Belgian, Dutch

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 22-45

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Please do not reply if you do not have Dutch or Belgian nationality and speak Dutch as your native language.

We will be living in Geneva, Switzerland. Geneva is a very international city with beautiful surroundings. The language spoken in that part of Switzerland is French, but you can get around with English (and also German sometimes) as well quite easily. There is a lot of other au pairs in Geneva and even a Facebook group for au pairs in Geneva in case you would like to reach out to others...

We will be looking for a house as soon as we arrive in Geneva. My work will arrange temporary housing first after which we will move into permanent house in the region north of Geneva (canton Vaud) in one of the villages in the countryside, 20 min drive from Geneva. This is also the region where the kids will be going to school. You will have your own room furnished and well where you can live comfortably.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Switzerland: Au Pair program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Switzerland: Visa requirements

Read More »
The process and requirements for an Au Pair in Switzerland

Read More »