Family ID: 898581

Children: 1 Children, 15+ years old

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

City: Meopham / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Fiona

State Kent

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Aug 2021 - Sep 2021

Time of stay: >1 year

Last action: 8 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
9
Profile added to the favorite list of 9 candidates in the last 3 weeks
97
Profile Visited by 97 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
66%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair
We are a professional couple who are looking for a home helper. My husband is recovering from a brain haemorrhage and is making an incredible recovery. He has learnt how to walk again, how to look after himself and no longer requires much help. However he needs a companion and is still receiving therapy for his speech and language. This is improving all the time especially when he has someone to talk to. I am starting to return to work as a filmmaker/ journalist and want to ensure that my husband is fully supported as he continues to make a good recovery. We've had an au pair from Spain for almost a year which has been huge success. He is now looking to do other things and so we would like to find someone else to continue this arrangement.

We would welcome an au pair as another member of our family to join us for meals, cook together and share daily living tasks.

This is what our previous au pair wrote
Being an au pair in Tudor Lodge was an enjoyable experience. Richard and Fiona are a lovely couple and it was a pleasure to be part of the family.
Working alongside Richard and supporting him in the day-to-day activities was not hard given that he's very independent. Although his speech has been damaged, he managed to make huge improvements in the last years and months and It's amazing how determined and strong he is in going forward. Non-verbal communication was very helpful in certain moments and he was good in letting me understand him. What I also found helpful in my task was knowing his routine and the things he enjoyed doing most. He has so many interests and hobbies such as painting, gardening and DIY.
While I was living there, I could also appreciate receiving lots of support in finding courses and other interesting opportunities for my life career. I really recommend this experience to everyone who wants to know England from a cosy and familiar perspective.
More ⇩

Job Description

The job entails the following:
- approx 30 hours a week, Monday to Friday with weekends off unless prearranged.
- driving him to physio on Tuesdays
- providing company for my husband which may include some of the following: cooking, helping with the laundry (he does all the ironing but needs some help hanging the washing out), helping in the garden, helping him with his art or hobbies (model making, wood work etc) cutting fire wood,
- helping my husband with his lunch and possibly supper
- a small amount of house work such as cleaning up after a meal/ washing up, hoovering once a week, putting clothes in washing machine
- cooking supper during the week
- walking the dog with my husband in the afternoons (short walk) , twice a week in the mornings

Due to the covid pandemic, we would need you to be fully vaccinated with proof of vaccination.
We would encourage an applicant to enrol on a language course or be involved in something else such as part time study.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 45-60

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Filmmaker

People living in the house 2

Children's/people's age and gender Me - 52
My husband - 65

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money (per month) 100 GBP

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay >1 year

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2021

Latest Starting Date Sep 2021

Looking for Au Pair and Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age 15+ years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Walks and outings, Driving, Errands/Shopping, Light domestic work, Cooking meals

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 20-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The au pair will have their own double bedroom and bathroom. Our house is a detached 3 bedroomed house with a garden, in the countryside. We live in a very quiet side road.
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »