Family ID: 2660450

Children: 2 Children, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

City: Otorohanga / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Peter

State Waikato

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Feb 2025 - Dec 2025

Time of stay: 3-24 Months

Last action: 14 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
4
Added as favorite 4 time in the last 3 weeks
80
Profile Visited by 80 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
62%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

I have quite a unique Au Pair position available.
I have a shared care arrangement for my boys where I have them from Friday to Friday every second week. So unlike many Au Pair positions which are full-time, I only require help for half the time. I need someone to help get them up in the mornings driving to and from school and after school care.

This position could suit someone who wants to travel for one week at a time or someone who wants to relax and enjoy a rural, country lifestyle.
The boys are aged 11 and 9, we live and work on a dairy farm in the Waikato, near Te Awamutu.
At this stage, we are looking for someone to start early 2025, and onwards, with July until December being our busiest time of year where we need an au pair to help.

Due to the nature of the position, there is a lot of time available for looking for alternative work during the "off week" and even part- time work during school hours. This is primarily farming work due to the rural area where we live, which I would be happy to teach if you are comfortable to learn how to milk cows and get your hands dirty.
Otherwise, we are in a good central location for an intrepid traveller who wants a home base to return to each week.

I am looking for the right fit. Not necessarily the fastest or earliest start. If I have to get two or more au pairs over the course of a year to fill in the time then that's fine! Let's see if our needs align and we can go from there.
I am looking for someone who enjoys being independent, who is comfortable with their own company, who is comfortable being around a people in their early 40s as well as older teenagers, who is playful, and adventurous, and enjoys experiencing as much as possible.
More ⇩

Job Description

Our expectations for an au pair is to help with my boys, getting up in the morning, to and from school, homework and jobs after school and entertainment or activities such as going to a playground, swimming pool, riding bikes etc. Light laundry concerning the boys clothes and linens and light general household assistance such as occasional meal preparation, perhaps vacuuming once a fortnight and keeping the kitchen clean like everyone else does. Basically fitting in as a family member.

The boys have a "job chart" which they need to check off before and after school which the au pair oversees and helps them to achieve. Simple, routine tasks such as making their bed, cleaning up after breakfast, laundry, emptying their schoolbag after school, preparing lunch for school, and doing their homework.

The job is usually 30 hours in one week, followed by a week off.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality New Zealander

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Farmer / Consultant

People living in the house 6

Children's/people's age and gender 11 Year male
8 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 300 USD

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 3-24 Months

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2025

Latest Starting Date Dec 2025

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? I haven\'t before, but discuss a small return travel bonus for long term stays

Required Age 18-45

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses No

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Accommodation is a semi self-contained single room unit with own toilet and shower, fridge, light cooking/reheating equipment, TV, internet, double bed etc. This unit is located on the edge of my employee's yard which is a short walk down the drive from the main house. It provides personal space and comfort but the main family home is fully available also for laundry, main meal preparation, food, entertainment etc.

The vehicle provided for transporting the children is available for the au pair to use during their free time with the expectation that they pay their own personal travel fuel cost.
We cover the cost for work time.
More ⇩
Au Pair in New Zealand: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in New Zealand: salary, holidays and more

Read More »
Au Pair contract and insurance in New Zealand

Read More »