Family ID: 2594816

Children: 3 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Ottawa / Big City | More ⇩

Name Amy

State Ontario

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Apr 2023 - Jul 2023

Time of stay: 6-12 Months

Last action: 1 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 4 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 174 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hi there,

We are an Irish-Canadian family living in Ottawa, Ontario with our three young boys (ages soon to be 7, 5 and 1.5 years old).

We are hoping to connect with a caring individual looking for an opportunity to support our young family as an Au Pair during the coming months.

Thank you for your consideration, we hope to introduce you to Canadian life while hosting you in a safe and well connected area, with easy access to Toronto, Montreal and trips to the US!

Take care,
Amy and Chris
More ⇩

Job Description

We're seeking an Au Pair to care for our youngest child and his older brothers during the coming months – flexible with the weekdays required as Mom works from home and business spaces in the city, Dad commutes to an office with some options for hybrid work M-F. Our local school is a 10 minute walk from our home, we have a fenced in yard and are walking distance to many local playgrounds and splash pads.

You would work between 25-35 hours per week, which may include an occasional weekend or evening babysitting shift of 3-4 hours upon discussion with you. Summer break is from late June to early September, these work days would include looking after all 3 boys at our home at least four days per week between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

During school term your days would look like:
• Help with caring for kids during morning routine (8/8:30 a.m. onward)
• School drop off for older kids or home with toddler, while Mom/Dad does the drop off for 9:15 a.m.
• Daytime with toddler, lunch and snack prep, light housekeeping
• Walk to school pick up for older kids at 3:30 p.m.
• Playtime and prepare for dinner/bedtime routine (until 4:30/5:30 p.m.)

The position will also include lunch preparation and snacks, as well as light housekeeping (dishwasher load/unload, bottle washing, light laundry and family meal chop/prep for dinner as needed).

You will have your license, First Aid and Vulnerable Sector Check to work with children, as well as two related childcare work references.

Requirements would be:
• Experience working with children
• A police / vulnerable sector check
• First Aid training
• Experience swimming
• Ability to drive an automatic vehicle
• English language (advanced, fluent speaking, reading, writing)
• Experience supervising, feeding and caring for young children

Desired characteristics:
• Kind, empathetic, patient, energetic, compassionate
• Creative, organized, good work ethic
• Clear and open communication
• Proactive, responsible and reliable
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information

Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Canadian

Languages spoken at home English, Irish


Importance of religion

Employment Finance / Entrepreneur

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 6 Year male
4 Year male
1 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 800 CAD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Apr 2023

Latest Starting Date Jul 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 50-100

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Australian, Danish, English, Irish, New Zealander, Norwegian, Scottish, Swedish, Swiss

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Advanced (C1)

Education Level Vocational school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? -

Required Age 19-29

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Our kids go to our local school, a 10 minute walk from our house and in late June-early September, they will be on summer holidays. Our youngest is currently 14 months old and at home full-time.

The boys are involved in recreational and seasonal sports (hockey, baseball, soccer, Gaelic football, swimming) and we love to visit the local playgrounds, explore Ottawa and surrounds and occasionally visit the Grandparents' farm with them.

They love Irish music and culture, dancing, playing outdoors, building with LEGO, crafts and reading.

We are well travelled and have lived in Australia, Ireland and England before relocating to Canada after having our first son. The boys have had the chance to visit family in Galway many times and we are keen to teach them about their heritage as they grow up.
More ⇩


We have a separate bedroom for you, a shared bathroom with the kids which includes a shower/bath, toilet and sink. The house has air conditioning in summer and natural gas heating in winter months. We have WiFi at home, access to Netflix and Disney+, with a fenced in backyard, walking distance to public transit, many parks, a tennis court and natural conservation area.

We live in a central suburb of the Nation's Capital of Canada, full of museums, galleries, sports stadiums, outdoor sports amenities, parks, pools, near campgrounds, Gatineau Park in Quebec, rural farming communities outside of the city, with great air, train and bus connections for travel. Driving distance is 4 hours to Toronto, 2 hours to Montreal, 12 hours to New York City.
More ⇩
Become an Au Pair in Canada: program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Canada: insurance and contract

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Canada: the requirements and process

Read More »