Family ID: 3192421

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Ottawa / Big City | More ⇩

Name Emma

State Ontario

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jun 2024 - Sep 2024

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 10 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
19
Added as favorite 19 time in the last 3 weeks
330
Profile Visited by 330 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
75%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are an Australian solo parent family - myself and my 4 year old son, George - who live in Ottawa, Canada. We will return to Australia in December 2025 hence keen to explore the country as much as we can.

We live in the suburb of Old Ottawa South in Ottawa and are located right on the Rideau Canal, in what I think is the best street in Ottawa! We are less than 3 kilometres from downtown. There are loads of things to do in and around Ottawa, including in winter - all manner of cultural, social and sporting activities are available like any capital city. We will be discovering and exploring Ottawa together
More ⇩

Job Description

I am seeking an au pair who enjoys spending time with George (and I) and ideally, have some experience with caring for active, energetic boys, and who is a fluent French speaker.

I need someone who:

- Shows initiative; identifying and doing what needs to be done
- Is open and honest in communicating any issues
- Can have fun with George but also be firm particularly with safety and security boundaries yet ensuring they are respectful and kind
- Has a can do attitude
- Is willing to chat with George in French or your native language (and English too!)
- Is independent

Your responsibilities:

You may be required to prepare George for preschool in the morning and at times take him to school on time. This will involve preparing his clothes, school bags and getting George to be responsible for their own things. You will take him to school via public transport, and walk in summer (approximately 2.5km each way). You will do the laundry and prepare healthy snacks for his after school snacks. You will assist in preparing evening meals. I will ask you to undertake small errands and general household chores, but largely you will have time to yourself during the day to go to the gym, shopping, explore Ottawa or catch up with friends. In the afternoon, you will collect George from school, provide him with after school snacks, and play with him, and involve him in household chores. During the school holidays, there will be 2 weeks when you will need to care for George full-time. There will be occasions where before and after hours care is required to enable me to attend work functions or events. We would love you to share your native language with the boys as much as possible, and support George learning French. 

Your weekly schedule may be different from week to week, and we will sit down once a week to discuss the next week's (fortnight and month's) schedule. I can be flexible with the daytime hours and will try to provide as many long weekends (Friday or Monday off) as possible to enable you to travel. Whilst I ask for flexibility, I am equally very flexible in return so you can also exlore! We will also try to keep any additional hours to an absolute minimum to ensure that you get a good break on the weekend.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Big City

Parent's Age Group 35-50

Are you a single parent? Yes, I am a single mother

Nationality Australian

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Government employee

People living in the house 2

Children's/people's age and gender 4 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 1200 CAD

Salary of Nanny (per month) 1200 CAD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jun 2024

Latest Starting Date Sep 2024

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience 100-200

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Belgian, French, Luxembourgian, Swiss

Language Skills
 French, Minimum Native Language
- and -
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? No

Required Age 19-32

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

You will have your own bedroom and ensuite located on a different floor to my son and I. It is bright and sunny, and in my view the best room in the house!
Become an Au Pair in Canada: program information

Read More »
Au Pair in Canada: insurance and contract

Read More »
Become an Au Pair in Canada: the requirements and process

Read More »