Hire Au Pair / Nanny or senior caregiver
Forgot?
Register
French Nationality
Host Family in France

Work abroad as an Au Pair in Paris, Ile de France France for 10-12 months in Claire's family

Family ID: 1053273

Children:: 4 Children:, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

City: Paris / Suburb

State Ile de France

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2018 - Oct 2018

Time of stay: 10-12 months


Last action: 18 Hours Ago

18 133 89%

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us! If you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!
We are an international family of six: Irish dad Alan, 43, who is an architect, French mum Claire, 40, who is an English teacher, and three girls and one boy: Lucile, 12, Toby, 10, Antonia, 7, and Colombe, 2 ½.
We're looking for an an EMT aupair from the EU for the next school year to help us with the children and to offer you the possibility to discover Paris and French culture.
Claire lived abroad as a student (in the US, in Ireland and in Italy) in her early twenties, so she knows what it's like to go on your own to a foreign country, and she'll make sure you feel at home and learn to find your way around.
We hope this will be an enriching experience both for you and for our family!
More ⇩

Job Description

We’re looking for an English-speaking au-pair who will speak English to the children (their English is already very good as their Irish dad always speaks English to them, and we go to Ireland at least twice a year to visit our Irish family). However, you'll also hear plenty of French as Claire speaks French to the children, the children speak French among themselves, and most of our activities and social life are in French.
We will need you to stay with us from the beginning of September 2018 to the end of May or June 2019.
You will be working for us between 25 or 30 hours a week (never more), but you will rarely be looking after the four children at the same time and on your own. All the children will be going to school on week days: Lucile and Toby all day from 8.30 to 4.30, Antonia in the morning and in the afternoon (you will be picking her up and taking her home for lunch a few times in the week) and Colombe just in the morning (you’ll be minding her two afternoons a week while she’s having her nap). Lucile and Toby are quite independent and do most things (like going to school) on their own. You’ll also take the children to some of their after-school activities, look after their laundry (wash, fold and sort their clothes), participate in the daily run of family life, and maybe cook a few meals. We have a cleaner coming in every week, so we won’t ask you to do heavy housework (just light chores, such as make sure the children keep their bedrooms and bathroom reasonably tidy, help clean up the kitchen after meals, fill up and empty the dishwasher). We might also ask you to baby-sit for us in the evening occasionally, but only if it suits you. Overall, we will be quite flexible and make sure that your working hours suit you.
You will have all your Sundays and most of your Saturdays off, as well as two weeks at Christmas and another two weeks during the children’s winter break and/or spring break (during which you'll still be paid), so you'll have time to travel around France if you wish to. You’ll also have time for yourself during the day and once the children are in bed.
On top of accommodation and meals, we will give you 300 euros a month of pocket money, we will pay for your health insurance and social security costs (you will be covered by the French health system), and will also buy your travel card (Pass Navigo, which gives you unlimited travel in Paris and the Paris area) for you. And of course, if we go on family outings or trips with you, we'll also cover your expenses.
You will have to pay for your language classes (count between 120 and 200 euros a month for 6 to 10 hours of weekly classes) and your flights.
Our children are quite autonomous and responsible and they are used to looking after themselves, minding their younger siblings, and helping around the house, so we won’t expect you to do everything for them. Rather than tidy their bedrooms for them, prepare their schoolbags, and put their clothes in the linen basket, we expect you to make sure they do it themselves! However we do expect you to enjoy being with children, be patient, be ready to play games with them, do arts and crafts, listen and talk, give them a cuddle or a big hug when they’re asking for one, and keep everyone including yourself happy!
The children are very excited about welcoming you into our home. We’ll treat you as a member of the family, you’ll share all our meals (we usually eat all together), and we’ll be happy for you to join us on our outings, activities or visits to friends if you wish to. You’ll also have plenty of freedom: we’ll make sure that you can attend French classes, and you’ll have a lot of free time to explore Paris or do what you like. We’ll also make sure that everybody in the family respects your privacy.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information


Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Nationality French

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion Catholic

Importance of Religion Important

Occupation architecte et enseignante

People living in the house 6

Children's/People's age and gender Lucile (girl) 12, Toby (boy) 10, Antonia (girl) 7, Colombe (girl) 3

Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

More ⇩

Job Requirements


Looking for Au Pair

Earliest Starting Date 2018-09-01

Latest Starting Date 2018-10-28

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities English, Danish, Finnish, Irish, Maltese, Dutch, Scottish, Swedish, Welsh

Required Language Skills No preferences

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

Required Education Level Secondary school

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old, 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 4

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 300 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Pass Navigo

Required Age 20-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us! If you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We are currently living in Paris but we’ll be moving in July to a beautiful big old house with loads of space and a garden in Eaubonne, a town on the outskirts of Paris but with all the facilities you might need, and very well connected to the city (our house is a 3 minutes walk from the station, and 20 minutes from central Paris on the train). The train service is excellent, with three lines going into Paris (RER C that has 14 stops in central Paris, line H that will take you to Gare du Nord in the 10th district of Paris in 18 minutes, and line J that will take you to Gare St-Lazare in the 8th district in 22 minutes). Each of these trains runs every 5 to 10 minutes at peak-times, and every 15 minutes at off-peak times. It will therefore be very easy for you to go to Paris for language classes or just to explore the city (we'll provide you with a travel card). Alan and Claire work in Paris, and Lucile attends school there (Toby will attend school in a nearby town, and Antonia and Colombe will go to local schools). We don’t have a car, so we take public transport, walk or cycle all the time.
You’ll be staying in our house, in a large south-facing bedroom, with big windows opening onto a small balcony overlooking the garden, and you will have your own en-suite bathroom. You'll have access to the family Wi-Fi and you can of course use our washing machine and drier for your laundry.
More ⇩

France

Become an Au Pair in France and experience French lifestyle while living with a Host Family. Learn more about the requirements of the Au Pair program in France.

More about France

Visa application and residence permit

How can an Au Pair get a visa to France? What documents are needed from the Host Family? Find out the visa requirements and a step by step application process.

More about Visa application and residence permit

Contract and insurance

What insurance does an Au Pair need? Find out about the official Au Pair agreement and insurance system in France to make the Au Pair stay abroad safe.

More about Contract and insurance