Family ID: 2537141

Children: 1 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Playa Venao / Countryside | More ⇩

Name John

State

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Jan 2023 - Mar 2023

Time of stay: 1-12 Months

Last action: 5 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
22
Profile added to the favorite list of 22 candidates in the last 3 weeks
128
Profile Visited by 128 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
32%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello from sunny Playa Venao, Panama!

My name is John, 38 years old from the United States living in Panama for 10 years. And my wife, Carla, 38 years old from Argentina living in Panama since 2003. We met in Panama in 2013, moved to Playa Venao in 2017, and had our first daughter, Marlee Jane, in December of 2020.

For a living we manage a local Surf Camp/ Hotel as well as own/ manage/ instruct at our Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Academy. We are passionate about the beautiful nature that surrounds us, surfing, arts, and living a healthy, active lifestyle. We love Playa Venao for the amazing small community, world class waves, and quality of living here.

Playa Venao is about a 5 hour drive from Panama City. The closest small town is Pedasi (they have a police station, urgent care, pharmacy) about 30 minutes away. Venao is a small but quickly growing beach town with a wonderful food and nightlife scene. We have a beautiful brand new supermarket, gas station with ATM, and new businesses emerging monthly.

We are mostly a tourist destination so there is a small community of expats (Belgian, Israeli, US, Canada, France, and more). Folks visit from all over the world to enjoy the waves, fishing, and everything else Venao has to offer.
More ⇩

Job Description

What is most important to us is that our Au Pair feels comfortable, happy, and free to be themselves while here. And with that, we hope to have an Au Pair that is happy and excited to engage with our daughter. Although Marlee is just turned 2 years old, she's very bright with a large bilingual vocabulary, and as we mentioned, tons of energy.

We would expect our Au Pair to have set hours:

Monday - Saturday, from 8am - 1pm

During this time both John and Carla would be working, but still close by. Time with Marlee could include: breakfast, snacks, lunch, playing on the beach, swimming in the pool, play dates with other kids. Again, what's most important to us is that we feel our daughter is being engaged and interacted with. We are not looking for someone to simply watch and follow our child around.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Spanish

Religion Other

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Business owner / Manager

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 2 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 500 USD

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 1-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2023

Latest Starting Date Mar 2023

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Australian, Austrian, Brazilian, French, German, Irish, Israeli, Italian, New Zealander, Russian, Scottish, South-African, Spanish, Ukrainian

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

John, 38, New Jersey, United States
John grew up surfing and skiing and eventually started Brazilian Jiu Jitsu in 2007. He became a Black Belt in 2016 and has always been passionate about teaching, training, and sharing the martial arts lifestyle.

Carla, 38, Cordoba, Argentina
Carla grew up in a small town in the countryside of Cordoba. After moving to Panama City with her whole family in 2003, she pursued her passions becoming a professional make up artist and freelance worker. She is also a brown belt in jiu jitsu, avid surfer, and amazing mother to Marlee.

Marlee Jane, 2, Playa Venao, Panama
Marlee I guess is what you'd call a "pandemic baby" as she was born in December of 2020. She's grown up with sand on her feet and the ocean on her skin. She's FULL of energy and all in a very good way. She loves to play, run, explore, and laugh. She is a very popular kid in the small community and can be seen on the jiu jitsu mats, in the pool, or playing in the sand.
More ⇩

Accommodation

We live in a two bedroom apartment on a property that we manage as an airbnb. The rental property has a total of 6 other bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, and a large entertainment/ kitchen area, as well as a pool. It sits on top of a hill overlooking Venao and the sunsets are stunning.

The Au Pair would live in our apartment in the guest room and shared bathroom.