Family ID: 1917404

Children: 2 Children, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

City: Port Jefferson / Village | More ⇩

Name Reed

State New York

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2021 - Oct 2021

Time of stay: >1 year

Last action: 3 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
130
Profile added to the favorite list of 130 candidates in the last 3 weeks
770
Profile Visited by 770 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
4%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We live in the village of Port Jefferson on Long Island, the easternmost part of the state of New York. Our seaside community is part of an historical district with Victorian homes on tree-lined streets. The downtown has plenty of restaurants, shops (especially for a sweet tooth!), and public parks. We have a weekend farmers market, free open-air movie nights and concerts at the local harbor front, as well as a professional theatre company. We often feel like we live in a small city in the middle of suburbia. When you need a break, the Long Island Railroad is a short walk up the street, making for effortless travel to New York City. Additionally, a village ferry connects Port Jefferson to Bridgeport, Connecticut, and New England beyond.

We expect a new baby boy to join us in mid-September. Our family is growing and so are our obligations. Fortunately, our unique, turn-of-the-century home is old but spacious, so we would like you to join us, to help us with our children as we introduce you to life in the United States. I think you will love it here, given how beautiful our town is, and how much fun we like to have as a family. You would live in a large, finished bedroom in the basement with lots of closet space and your own, brand-new bathroom. While another bedroom is available in the main house, you will likely prefer the privacy and quiet of what feels like a separate apartment. We also have heated pool and spa in our backyard, which backs up to acres of undeveloped woods full of wild deer, turkeys, and other critters. All in all, I think you will find this a peaceful living experience.

Dasha is an ER veterinarian specializing in small animal medicine at a practice in Riverhead, NY, close to the Hamptons. She currently works 2 to 3 days a week on long shifts. I am a doctoral student in archaeology at the University of Pennsylvania. Now that I am writing my dissertation, I work from home. On the days she works, Dasha leaves at 7am or 11am, depending on the shift, and returns between 10pm and midnight. We hope that the au pair will form a strong bond in particular with our soon-to-be-two-year-old, Wyatt – he is a wonderful, sweet, curious boy with lots of energy who demands attention. Either my wife or I will get him up and ready to go in the mornings and put him down in the evenings, but if you could help fill out his days with his favorite activities, such as walks to the nearby playground, beach (to search for shells!) and library, we would be delighted. You would also have access to a vehicle, making long excursions possible, such as the aquarium and petting zoos (Wyatt really, really loves animals).

We plan to enroll Wyatt in preschool as soon as possible, since he loves learning and socializing with other children. When this happens, you can help me or Dasha with simple tasks for the new baby, such as keeping an eye on him while he naps or plays in a pen. This will give us a chance to tidy the house, clean the baby bottles, and take care of household tasks. Both of our parents live within driving distance and visit frequently to spend time and help out.

We spend summer weekends traveling to Fire Island (a barrier beach off the southern coast of Long Island), visiting wineries and pumpkin picking during the fall, and hiking New York’s Hudson Valley in winter. While you would be free to spend weekends as you see fit, we of course would be happy for you to join our excursions.
The most important qualities that we seek in our relationship with you are honesty and open communication. We understand that there will be adjustments for everyone and that everyone can learn from each other. We ourselves are new parents and look forward to exposing our children to other cultures and different ways of approaching life. I think that if we discuss our mutual expectations and goals before and during our time together, this can be an unforgettable experience for all!
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Village

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Scientist / Veterinarian

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 2 male
3 months male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 40 - 45

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 3200 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay >1 year

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2021

Latest Starting Date Oct 2021

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 20-45

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The au pair or nanny will have their own room and bathroom as well as television. The home has wifi.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »