Family ID: 2514916

Need Tutor for: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian

Can engage the kids in: Homework Assistance

City: Rio de Janeiro / Town | More ⇩

Name Alastair

State Rio de Janeiro

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Aug 2023 - Dec 2023

Time of stay: 10-12 Months

Last action: 22 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
12
Profile Visited by 12 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
0%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello,

We have a bit of a unusual request. My wife & I both work full time, which doesn't leave us much time or energy for taking care of things around the house. We know this platform is typically dedicated to childcare, but hey, we are a couple of overworked millenials and we need help with being adults. We are moving to a small city in the US soon for work and an extra hand will certainly help us get settled (don't worry, it is a short train ride away from Philadelphia where there is plenty to do).

We are looking for someone who can help cook, clean, and run basic errands. Fluency in Portuguese & English is strongly preferred as my wife is Brazilian and needs help with her English and I with my Portuguese. Fluency in Spanish is also a plus (I can't seem to turn it on ever since learning Portuguese). We are not too uptight, just need help around the house. If you are young, active, and gregarious, there is a good chance we may even become friends.

We are open to applicants from all nationalities (especially those who hail from India or Thailand and can cook food from their country :D), but speaking either fluent English or Portuguese is a must in any case.

Applicant must love dogs, especially smalls dogs (don't worry he is quiet and the sweetest, cutest boy in the world) & cats more than they love humans and be willing to take our four-legged family members for walks. If you have never had dog that you were responsible for, then please do not apply. We want someone who knows how to take care of animals and will treat them with the same level of care they would a human child (yes, this is the one thing I am crazy about, I love my dog more than anything. If my office allows it, then he will be coming to work with me, if not it then you must guard & pamper the prince while we are away).

Lastly, we are renting a two bedroom apartment. One bedroom will be your own private space, but we are working hybrid positions and we will be working from home often. Applicant should be comfortable living in close quarters. We will still need your help with cooking on those days or keeping our dog preoccupied while we are in meetings (he always wants to play and it splits my heart in two when we can't). But when things are slow and we don't need a lot of help, you'll be free to go about your day and do as you please.
More ⇩

Job Description

Please refer to the letter. You'll be taking care of 2 working adults in their 30's & 2 small dogs. Basically, we need a full time homemaker. Level of compensation is negotiable.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, Portuguese

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Software developer / Software developer

People living in the house 2

Children's/people's age and gender 24 Year female
24 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money of Live-in Tutor (per month) 500 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 10-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Aug 2023

Latest Starting Date Dec 2023

Looking for Live-in Tutor

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach English, German, French, Spanish, Italian

How old are the students the Tutor should teach? Adults (31-60)

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Argentinean, Brazilian, Thai

Language Skills
 Portuguese, Minimum Beginner (A1)
- or -
 English, Minimum Beginner (A1)

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Yes

Required Age 18-75

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Everything was pretty much covered in the letter. We are looking for someone who is young, active, good with animals, and who can help us in our daily routine. Strong English language or Portuguese skills are a must. Also, you must be able to drive.

Accommodation

Tutor will have her own bedroom & bathroom. Yes, we have wifi. Amenities of the apartment building include a fitness center, bike storage, rooftop deck, and courtyard which are at your disposal. Residents also receive some discounts at local shops for when you want to splurge.