Family ID: 1805134

Children: 1 Children, 6 - 10 years old

City: Watford / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Catherine

State Hertfordshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2022 - Oct 2022

Time of stay: 6-12 Months

Last action: 7 hours ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
6
Profile added to the favorite list of 6 candidates in the last 3 weeks
89
Profile Visited by 89 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
90%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

You can be sure of a warm welcome in our house, which is between London and Watford, near the end of the Jubilee Line (frequent buses go to the station from near the house; you can be in central London in an hour).

We are a family of five who have just returned from three years overseas. Brian is away with the Army until January, and our two eldest boys (Cormac, 12, and Andrew, 9) are away at boarding school. Our daughter Katie (6) lives at home with Catherine, and goes to school while Catherine works as a Civil Servant in London. We need someone to help with the school run for Katie and keep an eye on her after school. We’d like you to prepare meals and help with the housework, and help entertain the kids when they are all home for the holidays.

You will have your own room, free WiFi, and use of the car during the day. You will be treated with respect and as part of the family; in return we ask for you to be enthusiastic, honest and hard-working.

We like to make sure that our au pairs get something out of their time with us: we’ve supported previous au pairs to get UK veterinary qualifications, qualify as language teachers, pass officer selection and secure jobs overseas. If you have a specific goal you’re working towards, let us know and we’ll do our best to support you.

We are lucky to be close to London, with all the sightseeing, restaurants, concerts and events it has to offer. But the house is also just a short drive from some lovely countryside and English country estates which are well worth a visit. As a family, we are from Scotland, and own a house in Inverness where we like to go in the holidays. So you can expect to visit the Scottish Highlands in the time you are with us as well, if you’d like.

We have had 5 au pairs before, and got on really well with them. We are happy to put you in touch with them if you want to find out more about us.

We expect our children to be polite and respectful, and we care about table manners and keeping things tidy. They eat whatever’s given to them (or they go hungry!) We expect you to be kind and fun, but firm with them too - they've been well brought up, so shouldn't give you any trouble.

We like to be as flexible as we can to help you. If there is a particular activity or class you want to do, we will do our best to make sure you are able to. In return, we ask that you are also willing to be flexible with us!

You need to be able to drive (Our car is an automatic). Don’t worry if you’ve never driven on the left before - Catherine can take you out in the car a few times to get used to it, and it’s really not difficult. Some of our previous au pairs were nervous about this, but got used to it very quickly and had no problems.

Get in touch if you’d like to find out more!
More ⇩

Job Description

In general, we expect you to be honest, hard-working, and to “muck in” as one of the family with whatever needs to be done. You should behave in a responsible and professional manner, and respect others.

We envisage giving you around £80 pocket money per week, and expect you to work between 25-30 hours per week, plus up to 2 nights babysitting. Weekends are free. You can borrow the car whenever Catherine doesn’t need it.

You’ll need to be around and dressed from 7am on weekdays. The routine/requirements may change slightly day-to-day, but in general we need you to help with the following tasks:

1. Getting Katie ready for school, dropping her off and picking her up. The school is a 15min drive from the house.

2. Preparing meals. You need to be able to follow a simple recipe as a minimum. We love to try different foods, so if there’s something you like cooking please make it for us! If you’re a good/experienced cook, you can plan meals for the week, do shopping lists etc. If not, Catherine can do the planning and tell you which recipes to use.

3. Looking after Katie after school. Taking her to activities or play dates, hearing her read or helping with homework, putting her to bed when required.

4. Keeping the house clean and tidy. Two hours cleaning per week (hoovering, dusting, cleaning the bathrooms, washing the kitchen floor etc); helping to clear the dishes and tidy up around the house. During the week, Katie gets up around 7.30, has breakfast, gets dressed, brushes her teeth and tidies her room. She leaves for school in the car around 8.15.

The Daily Routine:

Catherine works from home a couple of days a week. On days when she is in the office, she leaves to get the bus just after 7am.

Katie gets lunch at school, and finishes at 3pm. Some days she has after school activities or a play date with friends; otherwise she comes home to do her homework, practise her reading or relax. She eats around 5.30-6pm and goes to bed at 7pm, where she gets a story before lights out. She sometimes gets to watch TV on a Wednesday night but otherwise TV is for the weekends.

On London days, Catherine normally comes home around 7pm. When she’s working from home she will go to the gym or out for a run during the day. She quite often eats with Katie to keep things simple, but sometimes waits and has supper later. Catherine has choir one evening a week and sometimes other things in the evening.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Civil servant / Military

People living in the house 3

Children's/people's age and gender 6 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair 400 GBP

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2022

Latest Starting Date Oct 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 1

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level Secondary school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? Possibly

Required Age 21-45

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required Yes

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We have just returned from an overseas posting and will be moving into a military house in Bushey Heath. We don’t have any photos yet, but you will have your own room with a single bed, Wi-FI, storage and hanging space and a desk. You may have to share a family bathroom. Downstairs there is a kitchen, dining room, sitting room and utility room - and a garden outside.

The house is located in Bushey Heath, which is a pleasant village with a selection of shops, cafes, pubs and facilities (including an excellent Pilates studio). It is surrounded by parks and nature reserves, so plenty of green outdoor space to go walking or running.

There is a bus stop a short walk from the house which takes you into the large town of Watford. In the other direction it is about 10min to Stanmore, where you can get the Underground directly into London.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK - find Host Family today - AuPair.com

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »