Family ID: 3154921

Children: 3 Children, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Sacramento / Suburb | More ⇩

Name George

State California

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: May 2024 - Nov 2024

Time of stay: 12-12 Months

Last action: 10 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
2
Added as favorite 2 time in the last 3 weeks
211
Profile Visited by 211 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
54%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!

We are the family and we live in sunny Sacramento, CA. Sacramento is a small city that is the capital of the state of California. It has large suburbs but we actually live in Midtown (the center of town) and less than 2 kilometers from the state Capitol building. It's a nice location because it's urban and there are lots of restaurants / coffee shops nearby, but also lots of space and parks etc.

There is a bus stop right outside our house, and a light rail stop 650 meters away from our house. For English language programs, Sacramento City College and Sacramento State are each about 5kms away from our house, though there may be other options closer.

We love to bike and there is a great flat bike trail over 100kms long less than a kilometer away from our house, and we will have a bike for you if you like to ride bikes or need a way to commute. We have extra cars and can discuss the possibility of adding you to insurance, but cannot guarantee you will have a car available.

As far as our expectations go, the main goal is to teach the kids Greek by talking to them in Greek a lot, and serving as a backup helper in the house if things go wrong (as they often do). You should expect to work less than 40 hours a week, but when we need your help you'll have to ready to jump into action and take care of simple things (pick up the kids, watch a kid, let in the workmen, sign for a package, go grocery or medicine shopping, etc) promptly and reliably.

Hope that helps and looking forward to meeting you!

- The Family
More ⇩

Job Description

Your main goal will be to spend 1 on 1 time with each of the children teaching them Greek, as well as watching the children on the weekends and as needed if their school is closed or they are out sick. All three children are in daycare or school five days a week from 8am to 5pm, so most of your work will be helping them prepare for school in the mornings, possibly taking them to school, and Greek lessons with them when they get home or on the weekends. Any learning materials you need - books, DVDs, apps, etc - we will gladly purchase.

You will also need to be ready to jump in and help out when asked, as both parents work high pressure jobs so if for example the daycare calls and says "Anna has a fever she needs to go home" you'll need to be able to go get her and watch her for the rest of the day because George might be traveling for work and Mia is in federal court (this exact scenario has happened).
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Greek

Languages spoken at home English, Greek

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Important

Employment Entrepreneur / Lawyer

People living in the house 6

Children's/people's age and gender 6 Year male
3 Year female
1 Year female

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money of Au Pair (per month) 1500 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date May 2024

Latest Starting Date Nov 2024

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 3

Minimum Childcare Experience 200+

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Cypriots, Greek

Language Skills
 Greek, Minimum Native Language

Education Level No preferences

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We live in a triplex (large house converted into three apartments) in midtown Sacramento, California. You'll have your own bedroom, bathroom and kitchen with sink, refrigerator, microwave and stove. In that same apartment, separated by a door there is washer/dryer as well as my work from home office. Because of the office, you'll need to wait until evenings to do laundry.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »