Family ID: 1838125

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

Need Tutor for: Mathematics

Can engage the kids in: Homework Assistance, Book Reading, Art & Craft, Drawing & Cutting, Numbers & Counting, Mind Games & Activity

City: Santiago Atitlan / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Casey

State

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Mar 2023 - Mar 2023

Time of stay: 6-8 Months

Last action: 2 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
43
Profile Visited by 43 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
89%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hi! We are an american/german family living in a remote area of Guatemala. We would love for you to become a part of our family for a while and even stay in touch through the years. We can share our 3 cultures with you. Although we like our space as a family on occasion and our lifestyle can be simple, we also love to share new experiences with people. For example, we made an effort to be sure our last au pair was able to see the colonial town of Antigua while here, the beach, the city, and even have a small flight to view the country from above. We are always happy to help you have as many unique experiences here as possible.

We are looking for someone to teach about 6 hours a day. We would love to find someone who can be very interactive and playful with our kids and can plan activities for outdoor play, as well as plan interactive lessons that involve both children. We are not looking for someone who would just sit and watch them. We need someone who would maintain a firm adult-child relationship, not as a sibling or friend but more as their teacher. Although, we as the parents, would love to have a friendship with you!

We are seeking someone with native Spanish so our children can maintain their first language. This is not a firm requirement. Some Spanish, is essential for you as no english is spoken in our remote town. However, if English is not your first language, you are welcome to practice english with us, the parents, and you will hear it spoken a lot in our home. German is also spoken in our home but you do not need to know it. I, Casey, am a teacher and would be happy to do some English lessons with you if that is something you are interested in. I could do very beginner German lessons with you as well if you are wanting to learn.
More ⇩

Job Description

Typically, we would only need your help 6 hours a day and the rest of the time you would be free. This leaves some time to have an online job if you'd like, since being an au-pair is more about traveling, not necessarily earning a big pay check.

We would occasionally need your help outside of the working hours but we would check with you ahead and pay you for that time. You could travel on the weekends, or visit other areas around Lake Atitlan. You need to be able to entertain yourself as we would like to maintain a large amount of family time with just our children each day. In your free time you can plan lessons and then do whatever you would like, but it is important to note that our area is not a great place for meeting young people or partying. It can be too quiet for some. You need to be a very independent person to thrive here. If you are social and want to meet people you have the option to travel to areas with a shuttle on the weekends like Antigua or Guatemala City or El Paredon or a boat San Marcos, San Pedro, and Panajachel which are very popular for young travelers. Please research Santiago Atitlan before contacting us :)

We are currently looking for someone from March-early November 2023. (we will be traveling out of the country in September so you could stay with our dogs or go home to visit your family).

I have plenty of teaching resources that you can use and you can also supplement with your own activities.

Your schedule Monday- Friday would likely be:
9:00AM-1PM teaching our 2 children (sometimes together and sometimes 1-1).
1:00 lunch with us or on your own if you prefer
1:30-3 we take naps and you would have free time for whatever you would like, video chatting family, resting, hiking, going to town for groceries
3:00-5:00 PM teaching our 2 children and learning games in the yard


Weekends- free


You must be willing to learn new techniques for working with kids, even if you have a lot of experience. We are happy to share the techniques that work best for our kids. I would describe our parenting as gentle yet firm with clear boundaries- we do not use bribes, rewards, or punishments but we do use consequences.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English, German, Spanish

Religion Protestant

Importance of religion Very important

Employment Teacher / Engineer

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender 5 Year female
3 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money of Au Pair, Live-in Tutor (per month) 500 USD

Required Gender Female

Duration of Stay 6-8 Months

Earliest Starting Date Mar 2023

Latest Starting Date Mar 2023

Looking for Au Pair and Live-in Tutor

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 100-200

We need a tutor who can teach Mathematics

How old are the students the Tutor should teach? Toddlers (2-3) & Preschoolers (4-5)

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Language Skills
 Spanish, Minimum Beginner (A1)
- or -
 English, Minimum Beginner (A1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? would prefer if the au pair can pay their way, but we can discuss

Required Age 20-60

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required Yes

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

We live in a rural area where we spend most of our time outside. We walk, paddle board, jump on the trampoline, hike, look for berries, ride bikes, and spend very limited time watching tv. We are an evangelical christian family so you need to be comfortable with that, even though we don't mind if you are not a christian..our last 3 au pairs were atheists and we got along great. Both of us parents are home most of the time and if we both leave for a date or for appointments, we would check your availability and compensate you for your time.

We do have 4 big dogs who you would need to be comfortable with and if you go for walks alone it is important to take a dog with you for safety. There is not a lot of crime here but it's a wise precaution.
More ⇩

Accommodation

You would have your own small, new house. It has a full kitchen, bathroom with a warm water shower, kitchen, desk, laundry, closet, and tv with netflix for your down time. You would be required to buy your own groceries and cook your own meals, except for lunch with us each day.

For transportation- we would of course pick you up at the airport in Guatemala City (3.5 hours from our home). Once here, in your free time we have a scooter you could use if you have experience or you can pay a taxi to get to our village for about $2 each way.

Though remote, our neighborhood is beautiful and peaceful. It is about a 10 minute drive from Santiago Atitlan and 30 minute drive from San Pedro. It is a wonderful area for hiking and just enjoying nature.
More ⇩