Family ID: 1267228

Children: 2 Children, 11 - 14 years old

City: Sevenoaks / Town | More ⇩

Name Abigail

State Kent

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Mar 2020 - May 2020

Time of stay: 4-6 months

Last action: 5 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
1
Profile added to the favorite list of 1 candidates in the last 3 weeks
85
Profile Visited by 85 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
100%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au-pair,

Here is a little bit of information about the Broom family. The parents are called Abi and Dominic and they are in their mid 40’s. The two children (girls) are called Lucinda (aged 14) and Octavia (aged 11). This letter is being written by Abi.

We live in Sevenoaks which is a pretty market town not far from London. One of the reasons that we chose to live here is that it has a very good train service to central London (journey time of 25 minutes). We are also not far from airports, particularly Gatwick and London City. Our house is 15 minutes walk from the centre of the town and 20 minutes walk from the station.

Sevenoaks has good shops, cafes and restaurants, and we go there to pick things up most weekends. On one side of town is a huge park called Knole Park which is open to the public. The girls and Dominic like cycling there and there are good walking or jogging trails. There is also a good leisure centre with a pool and a gym in the town and plenty of other activities. Many other families in Sevenoaks have au-pairs and they tend to meet in the town at weekends.

Octavia goes to a small girls’ school about 10 minutes drive away. She is very happy there and has good friends, whom she has around to play quite often. Lucinda goes to a girls’ boarding school 25 miles from home and comes back every other weekend and during holidays. She also loves her school.

We have a car for our au-pair to take her to and from school and to do shopping. Sometimes the car will be available for use at weekends, depending upon what the girls are up to!

I have always worked 4-5 days a week so we have had nannies since Lucinda was 4 months old. As the girls are a bit older we think that they need a bit more of a companion who can be fun, but who can still make sure that they keep busy and will do their homework when they need to! Lucinda likes to go into town or up to London to meet her friends.

My job is quite fun – I work for a company that makes Christmas decorations. We put them up in streets and shopping centres in November, which is when I am very busy. One of my most well known clients is Carnaby Street in London. Dominic is a banker and he travels abroad quite often. We WhatsApp him when he is away.

We hope that you will enjoy your time being part of our family and that you will find your time in England to be fun and interesting.

Best wishes, Abi Broom.
More ⇩

Job Description

Typical working hours are from 07.30 to 10.00 in the morning and 15.45 to 19.15 in the evening, Monday to Thursday.

The main jobs are:
Giving Octavia breakfast and driving her to school. (Preparing Lucinda's breakfast when she is home.)
Cleaning the girls' bedrooms, changing their bed linen and towels and washing them.
Washing and ironing the girls clothes.
Cleaning your own bedroom and bathroom and washing the linens.
Shopping for food once a week (a credit card will be provided).
Filling the au-pair's car with petrol and keeping it clean.
Cooking the girls' supper (and lunch during school holidays).
Cleaning up the kitchen after use and keeping communal areas tidy.
Collecting Octavia from school and supervising homework.
Babysitting in the evenings (no more than 2 evenings a week).
Taking the girls to appointments (such as the dentist) when required.
Being part of the family and having some fun with the girls, including days out!
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Not important

Occupation Banker & Company Director

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender Girl aged 11
Girl aged 14 (holidays only)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Mar 2020

Latest Starting Date May 2020

Duration of Stay 4-6 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 11 - 14 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience 100-200

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Andorran, Australian, Belgian, British, Croatian, Cypriots, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Lebanese, Luxembourgian, Maltese, New Zealander, Portuguese, South-African, Spanish, Swiss

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Required Education Level University

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 450 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 20-30

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Our house is about 30 years old and has a fairly large garden that the girls like to play in. It has 7 bedrooms and the au-pair's bedroom is a double room on the second floor, with a bathroom next door. The only other room up there is a spare room which we use if families come to stay, so you would have some space of your own.
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »