Family ID: 1508061

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

City: Falkirk / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Jo

State Stirlingshire

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jun 2020 - Aug 2020

Time of stay: 10-12 months

Last action: 28 Days Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
0
Profile added to the favorite list of 0 candidates in the last 3 weeks
7
Profile Visited by 7 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
95%
Answer Rate - Very active in replying

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello! We are the family, our children are 7 and 5. We live about 4 miles south of Falkirk in Scotland, in the middle of the countryside, so we are looking for an au pair who likes the outdoors and is happy living in a rural area, and is quite independent. There is one other house next to ours, but the nearest village is 2 miles away. It's very peaceful and we have lots of space, some woodland, with chickens roaming around outside and lots of opportunities for walks and bike rides nearby.

We have a busy life: our son is at school and our daughter starts school in August, we work as a university lecturer in Glasgow and for an orchestra in Edinburgh, so we both have daily commutes of 1 hour each way. Both of us travel fairly often with work too, which can make the daily logistics fairly challenging when one of us is away. We have managed to juggle the daily practicalities for a few years but now we are looking for someone to join our family and help make things a little easier! You would help with the daily school run, and look after the children after school, covering occasional evenings if we are both required to work late. During the day, while the children are at school, your time would be your own, and although we live rurally, we are well connected to lots of nearby towns: Falkirk, Linlithgow and Bathgate are all 15 minutes away, and Edinburgh and Glasgow are both only 25 minutes by train (our nearest stations are 10-15 minutes drive away). Driving is essential if you live with us — our school is 15 minutes drive away on the outskirts of Falkirk, and even the nearest shop is a 5 minute drive.
More ⇩

Job Description

We are looking for someone to help with the daily routine during the week, with occasional evening and weekend help.

Example of our daily routine:
07:30: Get kids up, dressed and breakfast
08:30: School run
09:00-14:30: Free time / light domestic tasks (e.g shopping, cleaning) as needed
14:30: School run
15:00-17:30: Look after children
17:30-19:00: Prepare dinner / get children ready for bed if we are working late

We currently have a weekly cleaner and while we are not expecting an au pair to fill that role, we would like you to take care of some light cleaning/washing tasks to help out at the house.

You would have most weekends off, with occasional exceptions when one of us is working. We usually take 4 weeks' family holidays a year, which would leave you free for your own holidays, unless we arranged for you to join us (e.g. for skiing) by mutual agreement.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality British

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Chief Executive & University Lecturer

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender Male - 7
Female - 5

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Swimming required - Yes
Riding a bike required - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes
Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jun 2020

Latest Starting Date Aug 2020

Duration of Stay 10-12 months

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old, 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Australian, Austrian, Belgian, British, Canadian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Irish, Italian, New Zealander, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Scottish, Swedish, Swiss

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level Secondary school

Working Hours (per week) 30 - 35

Pocket Money (per month) 100 GBP

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 18-28

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required Yes

Riding a bike required Yes

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We live in a large 5-bedroom former farmhouse surrounded by fields and some woodland. The family bedrooms are all upstairs, but you would have your own room downstairs, next to one of our sitting rooms (which doubles as a playroom) which would be yours to use when the children aren't around. You would also have primary use of the downstairs bathroom. Our main living area is a large open plan kitchen/living room but because we have lots of space, there are plenty of options for time to yourself.
More ⇩
Au Pair in the UK: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in the UK: requirements and the process

Read More »