Family ID: 1373847

Children:: 2 Children:, 1 - 5 years old

City: Steinsel / Suburb More ⇩

Name Leonie

State Steinsel

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Sep 2019 - Oct 2019

Time of stay: 7-9 months

Last action: 5 Days Ago

9 150 95%

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

We are a French-Irish couple looking for an EU-based au pair to help look after our two adorable bilingual young children, Eléonore (Eleanor) 4 years and Henri (Henry) 2 years old, mostly in the late-afternoon/early evening after creche/school.

Our third child, Sibylle, was born on the 15th of July but Leonie is taking 10 months off work to stay home with the little one. She will start at the same creche as Henri from 10 months on, so the au pair will have very limited responsibility for the baby from then on.

Hence this could be a good opportunity for someone who would like to get some experience with a newborn without being responsible for her.

Luxembourg is a small green country in the heart of Europe with a beautiful medieval capital city, countless imposing castles, kilometres of walking and biking trails and a high percentage of expats.
We live in a house on a park at the edge of a picturesque village, Steinsel, a 15 minute drive from the capital, Luxembourg city. The village is small but it has a store, pharmacy, hairdresser, a couple of cafes/restaurants, a gym/sauna complex and swimming pool.
There are several good bus routes heading into the capital which stop just in front of the house and takes about 20 minutes to get to the city centre.

Generally, we are delighted to have someone join us as part of the family and have a lovely relationship with the kids, we are also looking for someone who is independent and ready to make the best of life here in Luxembourg. Thus far we have had great experiences with au pairs and would happily put you in touch with them.
More ⇩

Job Description

Au pair tasks

You would help get the children up in the morning, give them breakfast and clean up afterwards, then bring Henri to creche.
You would collect them from school/creche.
On Tuesdays and Thursdays, you would give Eléonore lunch and put her in quiet time.
Otherwise, you would prepare the kids dinner (we can provide menus if necessary) and clean up afterwards (i.e. the pots, pans, dishes, table and perhaps floor if necessary).
You would help bathe the kids, help them brush their teeth and hair and put them in their pyjamas.

The children's toys should be put away most evenings and the toddler should also be involved in this. You would wash the children's clothes in the washing machine and hang them out to dry afterwards.

You would be responsible for cleaning your own bedrooms, bed sheets, towels, clothes etc. (clearly we'd give you the cleaning products to do this),

Advantages
Hours
The work week is 25 hours or 5 hours a day, leaving you lots of time to devote to the language courses, immersing in Luxembourg life etc. If we needed you to work longer from time to time, we'd agree this in advance and pay you accordingly.

You'll attend language lessons or a cultural course on weekdays (which we would register you in and pay for).

You would usually have the use of the car for the journeys to and from school and creche and we would pay for a bus pass so you can always move around freely.

We would also pay for a return ticket to your country of origin which you can choose when to use during your stay.
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Irish

Languages spoken at home English, French

Religion Catholic

Importance of Religion Important

Occupation Lawyer

People living in the house 5

Children's/People's age and gender Boy 2 year old
Girl 4 year old

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Sep 2019

Latest Starting Date Oct 2019

Duration of Stay 7-9 months

Looking for Au Pair

Preferred Gender No Preferences

Preferred Nationalities Austrian, Belgian, British, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Lithuanian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Scottish, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Cypriots, Flemish, Maltese, Slovak, Welsh

Required Language Skills Sufficient

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 550 EUR

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Yes

Required Age 18-29

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

The house

You would live in a big old house full of history, surrounded by trees and overlooking a lovely park.
You would have your own bedroom (double bed) with a wardrobe, desk, chest of drawers, bedding, towels etc. You would share a large bathroom with the children.

We have a well-stocked kitchen, wifi throughout the house, a piano, lots and lots of English and French books. There are two living rooms, a large kitchen (all overlooking the park) and a large play room (which is all yours during the day and after 8pm when the kids are in bed). There is also a terrace facing the park, with a table, chairs and, when the weather permits, deck chairs so you can take breakfast or lunch outside or even just an afternoon coffee.
We have a little strawberry and vegetable plot and some fruit trees.
So there really is a lot of space for you to relax at home when you are off.
Finally, we have a French cleaner who comes twice a week to clean the house.

Nearby
You can borrow a bike and explore the cycling trails or take a walk in the forest on the top of the hill. There's a pool and fitness centre nearby (10 minutes by foot, 4 walking), it also has a lovely sauna area.

Otherwise Luxembourg city centre is only 20 minutes away by bus and is a perfect size to explore on foot or catch a bus or train further afield. There's a network of au pairs here in Luxembourg (on facebook and whats app) and they typically catch up over the weekend.
More ⇩
Au Pair in Luxembourg: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair contract and insurance in Luxembourg

Read More »
Au Pair in Luxembourg: requirements and the process

Read More »

AuPair.com

Tel: +49 221 310 61 840
Office hours: Mo-Fr 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM CET
USA: (800) 641-3527 - 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST
Fax: +49 (0) 221 921 3049
Email: info@aupair.com
Contact us