Family ID: 1192121

Children: 2 Children, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

City: Tann / Countryside | More ⇩

Name Derek

State Bavaria

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Apr 2021 - Dec 2022

Time of stay: 1-3 months

Last action: 8 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
30
Profile added to the favorite list of 30 candidates in the last 3 weeks
264
Profile Visited by 264 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
61%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello, we are looking for a female au pair who is interested in living on a small farm in the countryside in Bavaria near the Austrian and Czech borders. We have a relatively large house of about 400 m2 or 4300 ft2 and two boys (one born June 2018 and another June 2020), with several horses, occasional cows from our neighbor, and 4 outdoor (mainly) cats. We are a German wife and American husband, so the language transition may not be too difficult for a person interested and/or willing to learn German/Bavarian and potentially practice English. We speak German at home. We will support a person with German language courses, which may need to be online at present, and potentially driving lessons. We would like for the au pair to speak with our child in the au pair's native language or English (unless you speak a regional German/Austrian dialect). We live on about 7 hectares (20 acres) of fenced grass areas and an open planting field (typically not traversed by foot). We live about 1.33h min from Salzburg, 1.5h from Munich, 0.75h from Passau, and 0.5h from the Austrian border. The wife's family lives close-by and we visit them often and have meals and events together. While we are not particularly religious, if the au pair is interested in regular visits to the church, the wife's aunt and cousins are involved in the church and regularly attend Mass and events. The au pair will normally have the weekends (or two or more other days per week) free and probably also 1 day during the week, though she would be welcome to be involved in whatever we do. We eat dinner together every day, though we have different schedules for mornings. The duration of your stay is not critical, though we prefer someone interested in staying for at least 6 months and potentially more than a year, to minimize confusion for our kids. Under normal circumstances (i.e., not covid lockdowns), there are Volksfeste -- like Oktoberfest -- in nearby towns and villages, as well as events we visit in Vienna and Munich.

Note that because the husband is American, we cannot host an American under the au pair visa, which means that it would have to be visa-free (for 3 months, or for 3 month segments), or via an academic visa. German law appears not to allow us to host non-EU persons 27 years of age or older, so the visa-free or academic visa route appear to be the only options for those who are 27 upon entry into the program. We are open to these options.
More ⇩

Job Description

The wife will begin working (part time) again in June 2021, but we are looking for a person who can help prior to and during that period looking after our boys for about 3 hours per weekday and with possible light cooking and indoor cleaning. Our boys go to the aunt and uncle when the wife works. The husband works from home. We speak English and German/Bavarian. For those learning German, the wife and her relatives primarily speak German so there will be ample conversational practice -- although some of it will be in the local dialect. It would be ideal if the au pair has an interest in horses, though it will not be necessary to interact with the animals if undesired. The wife is very fond of cooking and baking, and would welcome company and/or assistance if interested. The husband has many language books for learning German and experience in studying in Germany/Austria as a non-EU foreigner, and may be able to help / advise those ultimately interested in studying in the region. The husband and brothers(-in-law) work most weekends outside building and repairing structures and landscaping. We have relatives in the area in their early 20s who are familiar with social events for younger people and the au pair could likely accompany them on weekends if desired. Our neighbor does a lot of trail riding and training, which could present an opportunity for leisure activities. Many events in the region are oriented around Catholic holidays, often involving beer or wine drinking and/or pork eating, so the au pair should be prepared for that. While we do not require the au pair to eat meat, we do not want to prepare separate meals for the au pair, so it may be difficult for vegetarians or those with special diets. Unless otherwise desired, the work would be relatively limited during the week and only exceptionally on the weekend (or whichever days off are preferred). Most stores are closed on Sunday in Germany, so it may be preferable to have an alternate day off. The au pair would be expected to keep her room and bathroom tidy. We have some basic knowledge of Spanish, Italian, and Russian, which could ease transition of German/English learners.
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Countryside

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality German

Languages spoken at home English, German

Religion Catholic

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Attorney / food scientist

People living in the house 5

Children's/people's age and gender 2, male (8 mo & 2 y 8 mo)

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 15 - 20

Pocket Money (per month) 350 EUR

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 1-3 months

Earliest Starting Date Apr 2021

Latest Starting Date Dec 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Andorran, Argentinean, Armenian, Australian, Belgian, Belizean, Brazilian, British, Bulgarian, Chilean, Chinese, Costarican, German, Danish, Ecuadorian, English, Estonian, Finnish, Flemish, French, Georgian, Greek, Guatemalan, Hondurans, Iranian, Irish, Icelandic, Italian, Japanese, Canadian, Colombian, Korean, Croatian, Cuban, Latvian, Liechtensteinian, Lithuanian, Luxembourgian, Maltese, Macedonian, Mexican, Moldovan, New Zealander, Nicaraguan, Dutch, Norwegian, Panamanian, Paraguayan, Persian, Peruvian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Salvadoran, Scottish, Swedish, Swiss, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, South-African, Taiwanese, Czech, Ukrainian, Hungarian, Uruguayan, Venezuelan, Vietnamese, Welsh, Belarusian, Cypriots, Austrian

Required Language Skills No preferences

Required Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? yes

Required Age 18-26

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Roughly 80 sq. m. apartment on top floor with its own bedroom, guest room (commonly used), bathroom, balcony, washing machine, and eventually a small kitchen (the kitchen has not yet been built).
Au Pair in Germany - program information

Read More »
Visa regulations for the Au Pair program in Germany

Read More »
Au Pair in Germany: requirements for EU and Non-EU citizens

Read More »