Family ID: 1996421

Children: 2 Children, 1 - 5 years old

City: Westport / Town | More ⇩

Name Emily

State Connecticut

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2022 - May 2022

Time of stay: 12-18 Months

Last action: 3 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
25
Profile added to the favorite list of 25 candidates in the last 3 weeks
277
Profile Visited by 277 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
2%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear Au Pair,
It is nice to meet you! We are the Family. Emily and David (Mom and Dad), Lauren (age 5) and Joe (age 3). We recently moved to Westport, CT from New York City. Westport is a beautiful town which is on the Saugatuck River and the Long Island Sound. The neighborhood we live in is called Compo Beach, because it is right alongside a beach. The street our house is on is down the street from the beach - you can see the ocean skyline from our driveway - and you can walk barefoot to the sand. Westport is a big town with lots of name brand stores and great restaurants. It has a lot of culture too. We also are a10 minute drive to the train which goes directly into New York City. It’s about an hour train ride.
A little bit about us! David works in real estate and will soon be starting up his own business. He travels for work a few times a month. He is passionate about art, music, design, great food, cycling, cars, and many other things too. I work in finance at a high paced office, however I am also a musician and I love to swim and be outdoors as much as possible. We have been married for 8 years and together for 9. About the kids: Lauren is a very energetic, smart, creative little girl who just started Kindergarten this year. One of her gifts is that she has an incredible imagination. She can make a game out of anything: a rock, a cup, a stick, a hat, a box…and she will! She also loves to make art of any kind. She loves books and reading, and nature in general. Joe is also a high energy little boy. You will notice right away that he is very observant and asks lots of interesting questions. Right now he is fascinated with where meat comes from and often asks for details on everything we are eating. It’s very sweet and amusing. He also loves cars and vehicles, spaceships, and is starting to like superheroes even though he is not sure if they are real or not. Both Lauren and Joe love being outdoors and love being around other people - they are extremely friendly and outgoing. We take many hikes and walks on the beach as a family. They are very appreciative of natural beauty, perhaps because David and I are, so you might hear them say how pretty the sunset is, or what a nice breeze there is today. While they do have and love toys and TV shows, we try to balance it out with non-material experiences, like enjoying a song or having a pajama dance party.
A great match for us would be someone who also enjoys nature and walks and someone who has a firm yet loving approach to children. We know that our kids respect people who don’t let them get away with everything all the time.
In terms of our schedule and our childcare needs, our daily schedule changes often and so someone who has patience for a flexible schedule would be ideal for us. In general since the kids are in school, during the school year we would like to have someone home in the afternoons to pick up the kids and be with them until dinner time. In general we will take the kids to school in the mornings but would be great to have morning help sometime too. In the summer, the hours may change but we plan to send them to some type of camps or summer programs as well. There are also lots of ½ days or holidays in the school schedule so it would be helpful for someone to be able to help out on some of those as well. On occasion we will ask if you are free for night time and then Dave and I can have a date night :) You would have use of our car and car seats.
Please know that we plan to be very respectful of your privacy and your time off. I think the key to success is just open communication and setting expectations ahead of time so there is no confusion.
In terms of being together, we will be inviting you into our life and activities. Sometimes on the weekends we will head into New York City for a day with friends and good restaurants, parks, and shopping. Other times we will go exploring in our own town. Since we are new here, we are still learning about the neighborhood. Due to COVID, we tend to try and keep the activities outdoors when possible. We try to eat together as a family, and would like to do more of that. However the kids sometimes eat earlier than me and Dave so you might find us eating at different times.
We are really looking forward to hosting. We look forward to connecting soon!
-Emily, Dave, Lauren & Joe
More ⇩

Additional pictures

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 40-55

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion No Religion

Importance of religion Not important

Employment Administration / Entrepreneur

People living in the house 4

Children's/people's age and gender Lauren, age 5 and Joe, age 3

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Driving required - Yes

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Salary / Pocket Money (per month) 800 USD

Preferred Gender Female

Duration of Stay 12-18 Months

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2022

Latest Starting Date May 2022

Looking for Au Pair

Children's/People's Age 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in

Preferred Nationalities Belgian, Canadian, Danish, Dutch, French, Irish

Required Language Skills Good

Required Education Level University

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? -

Required Age 20-26

Accepts Smokers Yes, not at home

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required Yes

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact the families! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »