Family ID: 1094358

Children:: 2 Children:, 6 - 10 years old

City: Winston hills / Suburb More ⇩

Name Devran

State New South Wales

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Apr 2019 - Jun 2019

Time of stay: 7-9 months

Last action: 25 Jun 2019

0 0 0%

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Dear future au pair,
We are excited and keen to be hosting you, and hope you will thoroughly enjoy your time in Sydney with us.
Our family consists of our 2 sons who are 8 years old (non-identical twins), my husband myself (Helen), and our sphinx cat, Khaleesi. The boys are in the 2nd grade. Aslan loves gardening, jumping on the trampoline, helping in the kitchen, and basically anything that involves creative handiwork such as playing with Lego and creating objects from different materials. Atilla loves to read, draw, play computer games, and socialise with friends. Both of them attend swimming and Turkish language lessons once a week. Devran is a carpet-layer, and I have a human resources role at the Department of Justice. We both work full time. We love the outdoors, and hardly stay inside in the warmer months. We enjoy picnics at parks, the beach, fishing and camping. We also like to watch movies at home and at the cinema.
• The care needs of your children, their behaviour patterns, their routines, school and social activities
Both Aslan and Atilla are quite well-behaved boys who listen to and respect their elders. They enjoy a healthy rhythm in their routine which consists of daily chores and set tasks and activities in addition to free play as outlined below.
Here is a snapshot of a weekday with the boys:
• Help the boys get ready and take them to school in the morning: this would mostly involve verbally encouraging them, as they brush their teeth, make their beds, get dressed and make and eat their own breakfasts. They are quite independent, however are easily distracted by an each other, an artwork or Lego project they were working on from the day before!
• Pick them up from school, help and monitor their afternoon activities: they have homework four days a week which usually includes writing out their spelling words, completing mathematical tasks using an online application called Mathletics, reading (everyday), and some other creative optional tasks. They currently complete their homework as soon as they get home from school (class ends at 3pm at our school), but not before they spend some time playing outdoors first before the sun goes down.
The boys’ afternoon/evening also includes an afternoon tea and dinner, playing and getting ready for bedtime. You are welcome to break-up some of the homework tasks, such as having them read to you just before bed time rather than straight after school if you wish. Atilla is advanced in reading and will read on his own at every opportunity, so it is mostly Aslan that requires one-on-one reading time. Both of the boys enjoy maths, and generally work independently on Mathletics.
‘Assisting with homework’ to us mostly means encouraging them to do it, being present with them throughout the process, and answering any questions should they get stuck. It is more with the optional, creative tasks that we’d expect you to become more involved, where it may require some Google research etc.
Their current bedtime is 7:30pm most nights, however this is not to mean that they are expected to fall asleep at this time. 7:30pm is a general indication of when they need to be in bed. They are allowed to have their lamps on and read etc. until they fall asleep. They are allowed to stay up later on weekends and any other special events.
Aslan and Atilla are in different classes at school, and as a result are invited to many birthday parties across the year! It is not unusual for them to attend their school friends’ birthday parties several times a month, and we also have extended-family get-togethers and other social meet-ups with family friends too.
I have been Aslan and Atilla’s primary carer for most of their lives, and although I have worked on-and-off, have been in a position to take them to school, pick them up and spend the afternoon with them until I started working full-time 6 months ago. Since then, I have not had the luxury of spending as much time with them. Devran’s jobs are issued daily, which means his hours can be quite unpredictable. We have had our lovely first au pair since October last year. We would also love for our family to get to know another country and culture through you.
We are hoping to host a trustworthy, positive and nurturing person who will become a part of our family during the time of their stay, rather than just a caretaker for our children. We would like her to feel happy and at home to the best of our abilities, whilst maintaining a reasonable level of discipline and having fun! This will be our second experience as hosts, and we also love having overseas guests and getting to know people.
In terms of task-related expectations, here is a basic list of your main duties:
• Playing with the children;
• Taking and picking up the kids from school and other activities;
• Cooking easy recipes for yourself and the boys;
• Encouraging and helping the boys keep their room(s) tidy and clean;
• Looking after the boys’ laundry;
• Helping the children with their homework;
• Putting the boys to bed; and
• Light chores such as cleaning up after the boys in shared living areas.
I myself participated in the WorkUSA program back when I was a university student, and spent several months living away from my family when I was 21. Between the two of us, Devran and I have travelled to the USA, Mexico, Hong Kong, and most of Europe. We were all born in Australia and have a diverse group of friends from many different cultures and backgrounds. We love cuisines from many different countries, and enjoy participating in and experiencing different cultural events.
You have your own bedroom, with internet access and storage. We live in a 4 bedroom home which is in close proximity to the boys’ school.
Just as we expect from each other in our family we would expect you to follow reasonable rules such as cleaning up after yourself, and would prefer you to be home at a reasonable time in the evenings (during the week) so as to not affect your morning responsibilities with the children. We ask that you refrain from having any romantic overnight visitors. We do have a family car and are willing to consider allowing use of it when available once we have assessed your driving skills.
As mentioned previously, we have multicultural family and friends. You will have the opportunity to taste wonderful Australian, Turkish, Greek, Lebanese and Asian foods, and attend events from different cultures. You will always be welcome to come along to these events with us whenever you wish.
We live in the leafy Hills district of Sydney, which is just a 25 minute bus ride to the main attractions of this wonderful city. There are many beautiful parks and reserves close by. Our home is located in Winston Hills, only a 10 minute drive to Castle Hill and Parramatta which are known for shopping, cafes, restaurants and entertainment. We are close to the Baulkham Hills Junction, which is the intersection of the 3 main roads in our suburb. The public transport system in our area is safe, frequent and reliable.
Being in Australia, we participate in several cultural events throughout the year and as such we respect and don’t have any restrictions on religious or cultural practices.
We are keen to have you join our family and on building a relationship that will hopefully last a lifetime.
More ⇩

Job Description

As above
More ⇩

Family Information

Family has pets - Yes

Family has pets Yes

Family lives in Suburb

Parent's Age Group 30-45

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality Australian

Languages spoken at home English, Turkish

Religion No Religion

Importance of Religion Not important

Occupation Human Resources

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender 8 year old twin boys

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Accepts Smokers - Yes
First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Apr 2019

Latest Starting Date Jun 2019

Duration of Stay 7-9 months

Looking for Au Pair

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities No Preferences

Required Language Skills Good

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Children's/People's Age 6 - 10 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Working Hours (per week) 35 - 40

Pocket Money (per month) 1000 AUD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? No

Required Age 17-29

Accepts Smokers Yes

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

Your own bedroom, bathroom shared with kids
Au Pair in Australia: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair in Australia: visa requirements for the participants

Read More »
Au Pair in Australia: requirements and the process

Read More »

AuPair.com

Tel: +49 221 310 61 840
Office hours: Mo-Fr 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM CET
USA: (800) 641-3527 - 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM EST
Fax: +49 (0) 221 921 3049
Email: info@aupair.com
Contact us