Family ID: 2565085

Need Caregiver for elderly for:
Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals, Bathing & Dressing

City: Woodland Hills / Suburb | More ⇩

Name Carin

State California

Postal code Click here to View

Job Start: Feb 2023 - Apr 2023

Time of stay: 3-12 Months

Last action: 3 days ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on
and contact the families! If you already have an account, Log in to send messages to your favourite families.
Profile added to the favorite list of 5 candidates in the last 3 weeks
Profile Visited by 48 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello potential caregiver!

We are a small working family that has been taking care of our very independent father who is 98 years old!! We live in a mostly sunny area of Southern California! The summers get hot, but the winters are mild and springtime is wonderful. We currently hired a morning lady who makes breakfast and lunch, but we prefer to have someone who is there more to live onsite. You would have your own bedroom (I can take photos later) and your own bathroom with shower. He lives in a small house by himself nextdoor to his son and his grandkids. The property has a big pool if you like swimming in the warmer months (we dont hit it in the winter). We live in a good area in the suburbs of Los Angeles. So its the 98 year olds son and daughter in law and their 2 kids next door to check in on him, but their lifestyle is full of events, etc. I the daughter live farther away and run my own company, but sleep over in his guest room until we hire someone else. He gets up at 8 and eats breakfast shortly after that, then lunch at noon, then takes naps after lunch and you can do what you want for the afternoon if you like, but back by early dinner and evening. He eats really simple and almost the same thing every day. We bring the groceries. Since we all work its starting to get stressful making sure he gets dinner on time, takes his pills and put him to sleep, etc. He functions fairly well on his own with a wheelchair, but he is very thin and falls easily if we dont help him around, but likes to watch TV news, and game shows type of thing. He is surprisingly cheerful and still plays the harmonica. His wife passed away a few years ago and now its us trying to fill in. We prefer to keep him in his own home instead of sending him somewhere if we can. The grandkids have baseball practice several nights a week and we work full time during the day. If you were hired, we would also like you to do some general cleaning, and his laundry.

Let us know why you might make a match!!
More ⇩

Job Description

Cook simple meals, clean up after him, 1 to 2 times a week help him in the shower. Help him get dressed daily. Give him his prescriptions. Wash his clothing. Help him in and out of his wheelchair (he is light weight). Flexible on how long you work for us.
More ⇩

Family Information

Taking care of special needs children/people required - Yes

Family has pets No

Family lives in Suburb

Age group of elderly/senior 55+

Does elderly/senior live alone? Yes, single male

Nationality Swedish

Languages spoken at home English, Swedish

Religion Christian

Importance of religion Important

Employment Construction

People living in the house 1

Age and gender of elderly/senior 98 Year male

More ⇩

Job Requirements

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Salary of Caregiver for elderly 15 USD

Required Gender No Preferences

Duration of Stay 3-12 Months

Earliest Starting Date Feb 2023

Latest Starting Date Apr 2023

Looking for Caregiver for elderly

Children's/People's Age

Children/People to take care of -

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

We need a tutor who can teach

How old are the students the Tutor should teach?

We need assistance and support in Companionship and conversation, Mobility support, Cleaning & Laundry, Light domestic work, Cooking meals, Bathing & Dressing

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Canadian, Danish, German, Icelandic, Norwegian, Swedish

Language Skills
 English, Minimum Intermediate (B1)
- or -
 Swedish, Minimum Intermediate (B1)

Education Level High school

Willing to pay/share the travel costs? yes

Required Age 21-60

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required Yes

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The applicant can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required No

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

The 98 year old likes to watch tv, internet search and harmonica. If you ask him questions, he will tell you stories of the OLD DAYS. He also watches religious shows and sermons on Sundays.

When we have free time we do baseball and watch movies, go off road motorcycle riding, jet skiing, off road four wheel driving, and camping.


Private and quiet house. Wifi, and TV use. You get your own furnished bedroom and bathroom. Use of the family neighboring pool and garden. Area to grow vegetables, etc. Gated property. Possible use of a car if you are an experienced driver?
Au Pair in the USA: information about the Au Pair program

Read More »
Au Pair USA: J1 visa requirements and application process

Read More »
Au Pair USA: requirements and regulations for participants

Read More »