Family ID: 1442445

Children:: 2 Children:, 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

City: Zhoushan / Town | More ⇩

Name Gloria

State Zhejiang

Postal code Only Premium members

Job Start: Jan 2020 - Apr 2020

Time of stay: >1 year

Last action: 4 Hours Ago

Would you like to contact this family?

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, Log In to send messages to your favourite families.
20
Profile added to the favorite list of 20 candidates in the last 3 weeks
188
Profile Visited by 188 Job Seekers in last 3 weeks
46%
Answer Rate

Welcome Letter to the Au Pair

Hello!

We can't wait to meet our future au pair! We had au pairs from Mexico and Colombia when we lived in America, and it was a wonderful experience. In fact, we still keep in touch! We hope to make you feel very welcome in our home.

We have now lived in China for over a year, so we know enough to help you navigate the new place. We love our small city, but it wouldn't be for everyone. You have to be open to really diving into Chinese culture and life, enjoying the small things, enjoying a more quiet and slow-paced time.

Our city is famous locally in China as home to one of the five Buddhist heritage sites, Mt Putuo. Some things to try: the island's famous seafood, picking fruit at local farms, walks on the beach, learning the tea ceremony at a local tea house. Our home is on the largest island in a group hundreds of small islands off the coast of China, about a 4 hour drive from Shanghai and a 3 hour drive to Hangzhou. If you enjoy local life doing simple things with the opportunity for weekend trips to larger cities then you will love it here.

We only speak a basic level of Chinese, but since the city is small it offers great opportunity to learn Chinese. We also can cover the cost of good local private teachers or classes, if you want to learn. We think we would be a good fit for someone who also wants to also practice English or who wants some familiar western culture among a foreign environment.

More about our city. It is about 1 million people, which is small for China. It has a very homey feel and friendly vibe. Everyone is very kind. There are lots of opportunities to participate in local cultural activities and local life. We have found the city is an interesting juxtaposition between old style local life and more modern living.

We would love to introduce you to our local friends and favorite local places. They will be happy to meet you!

We are excited to learn about you and what you love.
More ⇩

Job Description

Mom is home during the day and needs help with the kids in order to run errands and get things done around the house. Some help needed evenings or weekends for errands or dates. You will need to be a little flexible with your schedule. That being said, we have some flexibility as well, so week to week or as needed we can work together to make the schedule work for everyone. If we are a good fit, we can find a mutually beneficial schedule.

When you're working, you'll need to be engaged with one or both children, depending on the situation. That means no phone or tv during this time. Our children have pretty strict nap/bedtime and meal routines, but the rest of the day is fairly unstructured. We expect to engage Lucas (eventually Ethan as well) in chores that make sense. For example, if he just ate a snack he needs to clean up his plate.

When you're not working but at home we plan to treat you as family, and we hope you will do the same for us. You are always welcome to participate in family dinner or activities, but not required. You can live your own life and come and go as you please, as long as you are available for your working hours. We do expect to know generally where you are at for safety and peace of mind. For example, if you are going out for the evening or if you decide to go to Shanghai on a weekend.
More ⇩

Family Information


Family has pets No

Family lives in Town

Parent's Age Group 25-40

Are you a single parent? No, our family has two parents

Nationality American

Languages spoken at home English

Religion Christian

Importance of Religion Important

Occupation Finance

People living in the house 4

Children's/People's age and gender Both boys - currently 4 months and 3 years

More ⇩

Job Requirements

First Aid Training required - Yes

Earliest Starting Date Jan 2020

Latest Starting Date Apr 2020

Duration of Stay >1 year

Looking for Au Pair and Nanny

Preferred Gender Female

Preferred Nationalities American - USA, Argentinean, Australian, Brazilian, Canadian, Chilean, Chinese, Colombian, English, Filipino, Mexican, Peruvian, Spanish, Taiwanese, Thai, Venezuelan, Vietnamese, Costarican, Indonesian, Malaysian

Required Language Skills No preferences

Minimum Childcare Experience No preferences

Required Education Level No preferences

Children's/People's Age 0 - 1 year old, 1 - 5 years old

Children/People to take care of 2

Working Hours (per week) 25 - 30

Pocket Money (per month) 300 USD

Willing to pay/share travel expenses? Possibly

Required Age 20-29

Accepts Smokers No

Taking care of special needs children/people required No

Taking care of pets required No

Swimming required No

Riding a bike required No

The Au Pair can attend language courses Yes

First Aid Training required Yes

Driving required No

More ⇩

Family Description

Join us if you don't have an account on AuPair.com
and contact all the families at no cost! If you already have an account, log in to send messages to your favourite families.

Accommodation

We are on the 5th floor of a small expat building near the sea. The au pair has her own room tucked in the back of our apartment. We have two bathrooms - one is a master bath and the other bathroom is shared with the family and guests. The au pair would use the shared bathroom. We have wifi and vpn available. Each room has its own temperature adjustment and operable windows with view of outside. We live close to basic needs like groceries, markets, shopping. To get really familiar foreign items or more clothing options, you need to go farther - for some things a 40 minute drive to a larger part of the city, and for other things to Shanghai. Or search online with taobao :)

We also have a driver available to you. Of course anywhere you go with the family, all driver cost is covered. If you want to use the car for your personal use you can arrange with us and pay for the travel expenses. Typically it’s a better option than taxi.

We are centrally located within our town. You can also easily walk to most places, and the atmosphere is pleasant.
More ⇩
Au Pair in China: details about the program

Read More »
Visa: regulations for an Au Pair in China

Read More »
Information about the requirements for an Au Pair in China

Read More »